Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

MGTS 4474: International Management for Sanjay Goel

Fall 2019, for Sanjay Goel

My Remote Contact Information

  • Phone: 218-726-6157 (is forwarded)
  • Email: jvileta@d.umn.edu
  • Virtual meetings via Zoom or Google Hangouts for one on one, screen sharing, and group meetings. Please contact me for coordination.

Research Guide

five business people holding a cardboard globe cutoutSuggested Sources for Company and Industrial Analysis 

Business Insights: Essentials
This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews.  Use the search box at the top of the page to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews.


Business Source Premier
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
In our various business periodical indexes, search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful MarketLine reports by company name.  Also, search for the industries related to your companies. Search also for industries by country.

 

Export.gov
Access the U.S. Commercial Service, Export.Gov, containing more than 100,000 industry and country-specific market reports, authored by specialists working in overseas posts.  Search by name of country.

The Web site Includes:

  • Country Commercial Guides
  • Industry Overviews
  • Market Updates
  • Multilateral Development Bank Reports
  • Best Markets
  • Industry/Regional Reports

 

IBIS World Industry Reports

IBIS provides Industry market research reports on over 1,300 U.S. industries, plus Canada Industries, China Industries, and Global Industries, Each IBISWorld report includes:

  • An overview of the industry structure
  • The current industry performance and key external drivers
  • The industry outlook and lifecycle
  • Products and markets, including the supply chain, major markets and international trade
  • Competitive landscape and market share
  • Major companies
  • Key statistics and data.

You can find reports easily by browsing by industry sector, by SIC or NAICS codes, or or simply searching by keyword. This will be your main source for industry overviews. 

Mergent Online
Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data.   A great source for large public companies, including international corporations.  NOTE REGIONAL INDUSTRY OVERVIEWS!


MorningStar
More excellent financial data, and make sure to look at current and archived Analyst Research.

 

NationMaster
Is a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Using their form, you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.


ProQuest News
Our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 20 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.

Or, search these recommended titles directly:
Economist
New York Times
Wall Street Journal

 

Passport (GMID) from Euromonitor
This is our best source for international marketing information. Here are narrative reports and statistics on consumer products, consumer lifestyles, and retailing structures of 50-60 major nations, including the United States. 4,000 international company reports can be found here too. Use the keyword “Text” search option located on the upper part of the screen.

 

 

NetAdvantage
Good company information, and make sure to look at the broad industry overviews. These are excellent.

 

WestLaw News
Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 news and business information publications.
This is a key source for news and trade publications.


Other Suggested Websites
 

Country Overview Reports in EBSCO
Find excellent country overview reports from five different analyst sources.

 

Industry Links
Hundreds of useful free websites categorized by industry.

 

Country Links A-Z
Over 10,000 country specific links arranged by country.

 

World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 250+ world entities.

 

Wikipedia

Wikipedia
 The Wikipedia has over 5.9 million entries, and is constantly growing. Many articles are long, detailed, with sources and related links. Wikipedia has been controversial because of its open collaborative nature, however it has received good marks in recent scholarly journals. This may be a good place to get an overview of business related definitions, topics or issues.

This is a good place to get an overview of business related definitions, topics or issues. The Wikipedia can help you to find and understand the “keywords” you will need to search our library’s many databases . You may not want to cite the Wikipedia as a source, but it may lead you to sources you can cite. Learn how to make the best use of this wonderful resource.

 

How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another

Comparing Companies

 

Citing Your Sources.

Be sure to provide complete citations for your sources in your bibliography.  These links and services can help:

Launch Pad's How to Cite Electronic Information (APA)

Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style Guide

UMD Writer's Workshop (provides one-on-one advice on citation.)