Research Guides: Finance: Home

Databases

BizMiner This link opens in a new window
Industry statistical reports available from the national to local (zip code) level.
Video Tutorials
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, indexing and abstracts for top journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting and international business. In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
FactSet This link opens in a new window
Platform used to analyze financial data from global equity and fixed income markets. Coverage includes data on ownership and private equity and venture capital investments.

Access Note: To obtain access, register for a personal account using your @d.umn.edu email address. If you have transferred to Duluth from another UMN campus, you may need to update your email domain.
Registration Instructions
- Request an account using your UMD email address.
- Within 48 hours, you should expect to receive an assigned factset.net ID delivered to your UMD email address.
- Go to https://my.factset.com, enter the factset.net ID provided below and then click on the Register button. FactSet will then email a one-time passcode to your UMD email address which will be needed to set your permanent password.
- Once logged in, you will be walked through the account customization and setup process.
Install Workstation (optional)
- If you wish to use the FactSet Workstation for the first time on your machine, please download from: https://support.factset.com/workstation/.
- Once the MSI has downloaded, double-click the file and click through the Next, Install and Finish buttons.
- After the installation is complete, a FactSet Authentication box will pop up for you to type in your factset.net ID and click Continue.
- A one-time passcode will be emailed to your university email address.
Google Scholar -- UMD Students, Faculty & Staff This link opens in a new window
Locate and access peer-reviewed journal articles and other scholarly sources. For access to FindIt off campus or on wireless devices add the University of Minnesota Duluth to your Library Links in the Google Scholar settings.
Google Scholar is accessible by the public.
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
Search industry reports for the United States, Canada, China, and global topics. Each report provides an overall current picture of an industry, including overviews, leading companies, sales information, and authoritative sources for researching hundreds of industries. Includes Business Environmental Profiles that summarize key drivers for industries in the U.S.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Current corporate and financial reports on 11,000 U.S. public companies and 17,000 non-U.S. public companies.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive Morningstar Reports on more than 8,000 stocks and 12,000 mutual funds.

Access Note: Access is limited to four (4) simultaneous users. If you are unable to access, try again later. Please log out when you have finished.
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Capital IQ is a resource for financial data, analytics, and research. The web-based platform combines deep information on public and private companies, markets, and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation, and workflow management.
Access Note: To obtain access, you will need to be registered for a personal account with Capital IQ. Need an account? Please contact our Business Librarian, Ian Moore, at imoore@d.umn.edu to request a Capital IQ account.
For similar content, try:
Westlaw | News This link opens in a new window
Read newspapers, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and wires from the United States or around the world. Select the area in the world you want to focus on or browse by topic.

Economic Data

DataBank (The World Bank) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of economic and social indicators, with 40 years of data for some series, for every country in the world.
EDGAR Search and Access This link opens in a new window
Find file registration statements, periodic reports, and other required forms submitted by all companies, foreign and domestic.
FDIC Bank Data & Statistics This link opens in a new window
Find information on specific banks, their branches, and the industry.
Federal Reserve Data Download Program This link opens in a new window
Download detailed data on topics including consumer credit, industrial production, and interest rates.
FRASER (Federal Reserve Data Archives) This link opens in a new window
Digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources.
IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new window
Portals and dynamic visualization showcasing the following datasets: International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payment Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and Direction of Trade Statistics.
International Data Base This link opens in a new window
Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, the International Data Base is a series of estimates and projections that provide a consistent set of demographic indicators, including population size and growth and components of change for more than 200 countries and areas.

The International Data Base can also be viewed as a map.
International Financial Statistics (IFS) This link opens in a new window
One of the International Monetary Fund's principal statistical datasets, containing country data for most Fund members. Available indicators normally include a country's exchange rates, international liquidity, monetary statistics, interest rates, prices, production, and more.
MetaLib (U.S. Government Publishing Office) This link opens in a new window
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online. View complete list of available government databases.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Online full-text of all publications and serials from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) from 1998 to present; also includes a large collection of data sets
Passport This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive market research database incorporating research analysis and detailed statistics of global markets and consumers. Its emphasis is on consumer-related industries across more than 200 countries and regions.
Penn World Table This link opens in a new window
Database with information on relative levels of income, output, input and productivity, covering 183 countries between 1950 and 2019.
Statistical Abstract of the United States, 2013-Current This link opens in a new window
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1878-2012 This link opens in a new window
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) This link opens in a new window
Provides data on national accounts, international accounts, regional accounts, and industry accounts. Excellent source for local (state, county, MSA) economic data.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) This link opens in a new window
Statistics and aggregate data on inflation, employment, unemployment, pay and benefits, consumer spending, time use, productivity, and workplace injuries.
U.S. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Tax Statistics Search This link opens in a new window
Tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.
U.S. International Trade Administration (ITA) Research Center This link opens in a new window
Trade data and analysis from ITA's trade specialists and partners from around the world.
US Census Bureau | Census of Population and Housing This link opens in a new window
The census tells us who we are and where we are going as a nation. The census helps our communities determine where to build everything from schools to supermarkets, and from homes to hospitals. It helps the government decide how to distribute funds and assistance to states and localities. It is also used to draw the lines of legislative districts and reapportion the seats each State holds in Congress..
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
World Factbook This link opens in a new window
The World Factbook, produced for US policymakers and coordinated throughout the US Intelligence Community, marshals facts on every country, dependency, and geographic entity in the world. It provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 250+ world entities.

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Finance

Business & Economics Librarian

Databases

Registration Instructions

Install Workstation (optional)

Economic Data