Skip to main content
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

LSBE 2000: Interpersonal and Teamwork Skills

Fall 2020 for Anna Greshowak

My Remote Contact Information

  • Phone: 218-726-6157 (is forwarded)
  • Email: jvileta@d.umn.edu
  • Virtual meetings via Zoom or Google Hangouts for one on one, screen sharing, and group meetings. Please contact me for coordination.

Research Guide

Finding Books 
Business Periodical Databases
Other Databases
Search Engines
Citing Your Sources
 

LSBE indoors

topFinding Books

umd catalog

UMD Catalog (Advanced) 
Search for books, government documents, reference books, videos located at UMD by title using the Advanced Search of the UMD Online Catalog.

 

worldcat

WorldCat
Find over 450 MILLION books, government documents, videos found in thousands of libraries. THIS IS OUR BEST SOURCE FOR FINDING AND ORDERING MATERIALS THROUGH OUR FREE INTERLIBRARY LOAN SERVICE. Interlibrary Loans often require 1-3 weeks or more to fulfill.

 

google book search

Google Book Search
Search for any keywords and discover which books are highly ranked for them. You may be able to find and read a few pages of the the scanned book in context. Search for these book in our Library or request them via our Inter Library Loan service.

   
All Campuses Catalog

All-University Catalog Book Search
and search all U of MN campuses just as you would our campus. You can mark "Get-It" for any circulating book held at any campus, including UMD, and it will be pulled and held for you at our Circulation desk. You will be notified by e-mail. UMD requests are usually filled within one day and requests from other campuses can take 2 to 4 working days. This is faster than Inter Library Loan as there is no intermediary processing your request. This is available for faculty, staff and students. FREE! All University of Minnesota book resources are now at your finger tips!!

topBusiness Periodical Databases

   
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier
Full text of over 3,400 business periodicals. This is our largest business database. It provides our best access to scholarly journals.
   
   
google scholar

Google Scholar
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to UMD Library electronic holdings via "Find It."  Note the video tutorial below.

 Use it to find scholarly articles, case studies, in Business, Psychology, Sociology, Anthropology, medicine and related disciplines.  This is your best first place to search.

Sample searches:

Team Effectiveness

Team Cohesion

Team Dynamics

Team Workplace

 

   
NewsStand

ProQuest News
Contains the full text of newspaper articles from over 350 titles going back over 30 years.  ProQuest News provides our only source of electronic access to the Wall Street Journal.  This is a Key Source of newspaper information.   Use it to find industry information, trends, case studies, and examples of problems and solutions.

 

Wall Street Journal

Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)
Contains the full-text Wall Street Journal which has extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments and business-oriented news. This database version from Proquest News includes business news and analysis, company news, regular columns, special reports, articles on the national and world economy, editorials and opinion, interviews, and Reuters news stories. Excludes charts and free standing tabular data, such as stock tables and other exchange listings.  
Full text coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - current

Lexis Nexis  

WestLaw News

Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 news and business information publications. This is Key Source of news and trade publication information.

Use it to find industry information, products, trends, case studies, and examples of problems and solutions.

top Other Databases

   
   
   
Oxford English Dictionary Oxford English Dictionary Online 
Considered to be the authority on the evolution of the English language. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over 500,000 words, both present and past.
   
Statista
 

Statista
features 1.5 million statistics on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors, on over 600 industries. This data is pulled from market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Note that search results can be individual statistics or larger "dossier" reports. For each statistic, Statista provides available meta data including source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details. Content is geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, with a focus on current (not historical) statistics. Ready made tables are available for download as images to insert into presentations. Data is downloadable in PPT, XLS, and PNG.

Statista Tutorial -- Searching the database

Statista in the Wikipedia

   

top Search Engines

google
Google
The first place to go to search the web.
msn
Bing
Another unique search engine

 



 

topCiting Your Sources:

If you are writing an LSBE paper or report, you will need to cite your sources.  This webpage provides examples in APA Style. 

Purdue OWL APA Citation Guide:
Use OWL to learn how to cite books, articles, reports, and databases with APA style.
This is a Key Source.  It is vital to document and list your research efforts.

Citing Online Business Resources using APA Style
Another useful APA guide.

OWL Full Sentence Outline 1
Example.

Full Sentence Outline 2
Example.

Tutorial: How to do Business Research in Periodicals