Skip to main content
University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark
KATHRYN A. MARTIN LIBRARY

MGTS 4481: Strategic Management for Jim Goodman

Spring 2020

My Remote Contact Information

  • Phone: 218-726-6157 (is forwarded)
  • Email: jvileta@d.umn.edu
  • Virtual meetings via Zoom or Google Hangouts for one on one, screen sharing, and group meetings. Please contact me for coordination.

Research Guide

​Suggested Sources for Company and Industrial Analysis 

Business Insights: Essentials
This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews.  Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews. Be sure to search by company name in the main search box.


Business Source Premier
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
Search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other words related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful MarketLine reports by company name. 

 

Google Scholar

Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to Library electronic holdings via "Find It."   This is your first best place to search for scholarly journal articles.  Look up industries, and related sub-topics,  products, or company names.

 

Hoover's Company Profiles
Hoover's delivers concise and current information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, strategy, and more. This database covers more than 40,000 public and non-public companies, as well as 225,000 key executives.

 

IBIS World Industry Reports

IBIS provides Industry market research reports on over 1,300 U.S. industries, plus Canada Industries, China Industries, and Global Industries, Each IBISWorld report includes:

  • An overview of the industry structure
  • The current industry performance and key external drivers
  • The industry outlook and lifecycle
  • Products and markets, including the supply chain, major markets and international trade
  • Competitive landscape and market share
  • Major companies
  • Key statistics and data.
  • Contains information to derive Porter's Forces and PESTEL type analysis

You can find reports easily by browsing by industry sector, by SIC or NAICS codes, or or simply searching by keyword. This will be your main source for industry overviews.   Look for the many components of renewable energy, here are some examples:
Hydroelectric Power in the US
Wind Power in the US
Solar Power in the US
Electric Power Transmission in the US
Battery Manufacturing in the US
OD4499 - Lithium Battery Manufacturing in the US
Power Conversion Equipment Manufacturing in the US
OD4497 - Biomass Power in the US
OD4507 - Geothermal Electricity Plant Operation in the US
22111b - Nuclear Power in the US
33441c - Solar Panel Manufacturing in the US
33361b - Wind Turbine Manufacturing in the US
There may be other related industries you can search for in the IBIS World Reports database.
(See also the "I-Expert" reports for each of these, and similar reports from Canada, China, and global reports.)


Mergent Online
Excellent source for 15 years of financials for public corporations, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data.  Be sure to locate company annual reports and download the "Mergent Report" for your company.  See the Compare Companies Video.

 

MorningStar
More excellent financial data on public companies, and make sure to look at current and archived Analyst Research in "Stock Analysis". 

 

NetAdvantage
Important information on public corporations, look up company by name.

 

Passport
This is our best source for international marketing information. Here are narrative reports and statistics on consumer products, consumer lifestyles, and retailing structures of 50-60 major nations, including the United States. 4,000 international company reports can be found here too. Use the keyword “Text” search option located at the top of the screen.   Look up the "Renewable Energy Expansion Opportunities for B2B Sectors" report.

 

 

Plunkett's Solar Power, Wind Power & Renewable Energy Industry Almanac 2020 

Plunkett Research analyzes the top trends changing the industry, and provides in-depth industry statistics. In addition, this publication profiles the top 250 companies in the Solar Power, Wind Power & Renewable industry. Note the essay on trends at the beginning of this electronic book, in chapter one.

 

ProQuest News
ProQuest News is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 30 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.  Use ProQuest News to update the information you will find in your industry overviews.

Or, search directly, these three titles:
Economist

New York Times

Wall Street Journal

 

During the month of February, we have a trial of the Statista database!!

Search Statista for industry statistics. (wind power, wind energy etc..) Ends March 3rd.

for example... here is  Statista -- Charging Stations  or  Statista -- Electric Vehicles  or   Statista -- Storage Batteries

Our Statista Trial Ends March 3rd!

 

WestLaw News
Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications.  This is a key source for news and trade publications.


Other Suggested Websites

The Wikipedia offers quick access to concepts and terminology while providing overviews that may be very
useful to a researcher working on a new topic.  Keywords and interconnected relationships are easily discovered
here that are vital for working with our proprietary databases.  Reading relevant Wikipedia articles can help you to do better research.
 

Sustainable Energy --  Wikipedia

Renewable Energy Industry --  Wikipedia

Renewable Energy in the United States -- Wikipedia

Wind Power Industry -- Wikipedia

Solar Power in the United States -- Wikipedia

Wind Power in the United States -- Wikipedia

List of Renewable Energy Companies by Stock Exchange -- Wikipedia

List of Wind Turbine Manufacturers -- Wikipedia

List of Renewable Energy Organizations -- Wikipedia

List of Photovoltaic Companies -- Wikipedia

Clean Energy Trends -- Wikipedia

Charging Station -- Wikipedia

Charge Point -- Wikipedia

Electric Vehicle -- Wikipedia

 

Examples from Google Searches

Use Google to find valuable information on Web sites.

Energy Facts Explained -- US-EIA
Renewable Forecast -- US-EIA
S&P Outlook 2020
Guardian Article
EIA Outlook 2019

 

Organizations

American Nuclear Society

American Solar Energy Society

American Wind Energy Association

Geo-Energy Org

National Hydropower Association

Nuclear Energy Institute

Solar Energy Industries Association

 

Company Information

Company Annual Reports

Company Histories

Company Overview Reports

 

How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another:

 Comparing Companies

 

NAICS Classification and NAICS Search

What is NAICS?

How to search for NAICS Numbers?

 

SWOT Analysis

How to find SWOT Analysis

 

Comparing Companies -- Financial Ratios

Sources of Ratios


If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:

Presentation Skills

AND

Citing Your Sources:
If you are writing a Report, you will need to cite your sources.  This webpage provides examples in APA Style.