.
Business Insights: Essentials
This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews. Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews. Be sure to search by company name in the main search box.
Business Source Premier
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
Search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other words related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful MarketLine reports by company name.
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles. Sources are linked to Library electronic holdings via "Find It." This is your first best place to search for scholarly journal articles. Look up industries, and related sub-topics, products, or company names.
IBIS provides Industry market research reports on over 1,300 U.S. industries, plus Canada Industries, China Industries, and Global Industries, Each IBISWorld report includes:
You can find reports easily by browsing by industry sector, by SIC or NAICS codes, or or simply searching by keyword. This will be your main source for industry overviews.
Mergent Online
Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data. Be sure to locate company annual reports and download the "Mergent Report" for your company. See the Compare Companies Video.
MorningStar
More excellent financial data, and make sure to look at current and archived Analyst Research in "Stock Analysis".
ProQuest News
ProQuest News is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 30 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times. Use Proquest News to update the information you will find in your industry overviews.
Economist
New York Times
Wall Street Journal
Passport from Euromonitor
This is our best source for international marketing information. Here are narrative reports and statistics on consumer products, consumer lifestyles, and retailing structures of 50-60 major nations, including the United States. 4,000 international company reports can be found here too. Use the keyword “Text” search option located at the top of the screen. Search for companies, products, and industries.
Other Suggested Websites
Management Innovation eXchange -- discover top practices in the organizational management field.
Innovation Management Resources
Innovation Management -- the Wikipedia
Understanding Organizational Structures
How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another:
SWOT Analysis
Comparing Companies -- Financial Ratios
If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:
AND
Citing Your Sources:
If you are writing a Report, you will need to cite your sources. This webpage provides examples in APA Style.
If you have questions or are encountering problems, please contact me.
