Skip to main content
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

WRIT 3121: Advanced Writing for Business for Robin Fuller

Spring 2020

My Remote Contact Information

  • Phone: 218-726-6157 (is forwarded)
  • Email: jvileta@d.umn.edu
  • Virtual meetings via Zoom or Google Hangouts for one on one, screen sharing, and group meetings. Please contact me for coordination.

Research Guide

Suggested Sources for general business research:

Writing in a notebook with laptop nearby

All-University Catalog Book Search/UMD Library Search
Search all U of MN campuses just as you would our campus. You can mark "Get-It" for any circulating book held at any campus, including UMD, and it will be pulled and held for you at our Circulation desk. You will be notified by email. UMD requests are usually filled within one day and requests from other campuses can take 2 to 4 working days. This is faster than Inter Library Loan as there is no intermediary processing your request. This is available for faculty, staff and students. FREE! All University of Minnesota book resources are now at your finger tips!!

Amazon.com Book Search
A user friendly way to discover books on various topics.  Titles found here can be searched in the UMD and Twin Cities catalogs, or requested via our Library's Inter Library Loan Service.

WorldCat
Find over 450 MILLION books, government documents, videos found in thousands of libraries. THIS IS OUR BEST SOURCE FOR FINDING AND ORDERING MATERIALS THROUGH OUR FREE INTERLIBRARY LOAN SERVICE. Interlibrary Loans often require 1-3 weeks or more to fulfill.

Business Source Premier
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
Search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful MarketLine company overview reports by company name.  Also, be sure to find the industry overview for you topic in this database. They will include the Porter's Five Forces.


Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a great source of news and information about the college and university scene.  It is widely read by faculty members and administrators. This single title could be a great initial source for topics situated in higher education.

 

Duluth News Tribune
A searchable archive of the Duluth News-Tribune, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local businesses, business people, state industries, and economic issues. Covers 11/1995 - present.

 

Google Scholar
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to Library electronic holdings via "Find It."   This is your first best place to search for scholarly journal articles.  Look up companies, products, or any business related subject.

 

IBIS World Industry Reports provide industry market research reports on over 1,300 U.S. industries, plus Canada, China, and Global Industries. These reports are vital for many business research projects.

 

MasterFile Premier
Contains popular and general interest magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Many business topics can be researched here as well. Over 2600 titles are indexed, with over 1950 titles available in full text.

 

ProQuest News
ProQuest News is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 30 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times and other major national and regional newspapers.  Search for keywords related to your topic or subject.

 

WestLaw News
Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications. This is a our major database for trade publication information.   Look up recent articles on trends and developments in your topic.  This is a key source of non-scholarly business information.

 

Other Suggested Websites --- 

Wikipedia
Wikipedia includes information more often associated with almanacs, gazetteers, and specialist magazines, as well as coverage of current events. It has over 6 million entries, and is constantly growing. Many articles are long, detailed, with sources and related links. Wikipedia has been controversial because of its open collaborative nature, however it has received good marks in recent scholarly journals. This may be a good place to get an overview of business related definitions, topics or issues.

This is a good place to get an overview of business related definitions, topics or issues. The Wikipedia can help you to find and understand the “keywords” you will need to search our library’s many databases . You may not want to cite the Wikipedia as a source, but it may lead you to sources you can cite. Learn how to make the best use of this wonderful resource.

 

LSBE Library Essentials  all our major business research databases in one web site.... including additional marketing and financial resources.

 

To find other websites, use the major Search Engines:

 
  Google
The first place to go to search the web.
 
 
Bing
Another excellent web search engine.
     

If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:  Presentation Skills


If you are writing a report, you will need to cite your sources.  Note that you will find useful information in: Citing Your Sources

Purdue OWL APA Citation Guide:  Use OWL to learn how to cite books, articles, reports, and databases with APA style.
APA Paper Formatting    A useful how-to with video.

APA Formatting and Style Guide from Purdue University.   Detailed, authoritative information on APA.

Citing Online Business Resources using APA Style   Another useful APA guide.

If you have questions or are encountering problems, please contact me