Skip to main content
University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark
KATHRYN A. MARTIN LIBRARY

MKTG 4774: International Marketing for Ahmed Maamoun

Spring 2020, for Ahmed Maamoun

Research Guide

​Suggested Sources for Company and Country Analysis



Business Insights: Essentials

This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews.  Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews.

Business Source Premier

Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
In our various business periodical indexes, search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful MarketLine reports by company name.

Global Edge

Your source for statistical data for 201 countries around the world. Find out more about their history, economy and political conditions.

Google

Search the Web for freely available sources... from companies, organizations and international governments.

Google Scholar

Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to Library electronic holdings via "Find It."  This is your first best place to search for scholarly journal articles.  Look up industries and related sub-topics,  products, or company names and sub-topics all with specific country. You can find useful articles here.

IBIS World Reports

Search industry reports for the United States, Canada, China, and global topics. Each report provides an overall current picture of an industry, including overviews, leading companies, sales information, and authoritative sources for researching hundreds of industries. If you can find an IBIS Global report for your particular industry, it can provide you with useful general insights.

Mergent Online

Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data.

MorningStar

More excellent financial data, and make sure to look at current and archived Analyst Research.

NationMaster

Is a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Using their form , you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.

NetAdvantage

Good company information, and make sure to look at the broad industry overviews. These are excellent.

Passport Database (This is your most important source)

This is our best source for international marketing information. Here are narrative reports and statistics on consumer products, consumer lifestyles, and retailing structures of 50-60 major nations, including the United States. 4,000 international company reports can be found here too. Use the keyword option in the search box located on upper part of the web page.  Search for country and keyword.... Like France AND consumer or Japan AND beer. Note result tabs for "Statistics" and "Analysis".

Proquest News

Proquest News is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 30 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times. You can find useful articles here.

 

Other Suggested Websites

Country Commercial Guides

"Country Commercial Guides provide market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. Embassies worldwide." Be sure to find the report on your particular country.

Country Overview Reports in EBSCO

Find excellent country overview reports from five different analyst sources.

Country Links A-Z

Over 10,000 country specific links.
 

Federation of International Trade Associations

"FITA provides resources, benefits and services to the international trade community and useful tools to help you do business globally."


World Factbook Online

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.


OECD iLibrary

Online full-text of all publications and serials from the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) from 1998 to present; also includes a large collection of data sets


World Development Indicators Online

"Provides data and information on the people, economy, environment, and markets of 152 economies including over 800 indicators. Emphasis is on statistics relating to major development issues. Data is organized into six thematic areas: World View, People, Environment, Economy, Markets, and Global Links."

How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another

Comparing Companies