Business Insights: Essentials
This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews. Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews. Be sure to search by company name in the upper right search box.
Business Source Premier
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
In our various business periodical indexes, search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful MarketLine reports by company name. Also, look up "bicycles" as a topic.
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles. Sources are linked to Library electronic holdings via "Find It." This is your first best place to search for scholarly journal articles. Look up "bicycles", related topics, or company names.
Hoover's Company Profiles
Hoover's delivers concise and current information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, strategy, and more. This database covers more than 40,000 public and non-public companies, as well as 225,000 key executives. Search by company name. This is your best source for private companies. Public company information is also included.
Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data. Search by company name. Private companies are not listed. This has extensive information on large publicly held companies.
Good company information, with details on company structure and executive officers.
NewsStand is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 30 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times. Search for keywords related to the bicycle industry and company names.
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) provides resources related to the business of sports including industry-developed market research, government statistics, facility reports and news, international market publications, customized research, and directories. Look at data in the "Bicycling" section.
Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications. This is a Key Source of newspaper and trade publication information. In the news section, look up recent articles on trends and developments in the bicycle industry. Also, use related key words and company names.
Other Suggested Websites
BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. BizMiner is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry. Types of reports:
How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another:
Note videos on how to Compare Companies.
If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:
If you are writing a report, you will need to cite your sources. Note that you will find useful information in:
Purdue OWL APA Citation Guide: Use OWL to learn how to cite books, articles, reports, and databases with APA style.