This guide provides resources for students in Lisa Horton's WRIT 3140 Advanced College Writing : Human Services.
Last Updated: Mar 12, 2015
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale)
Focuses on educational principles, child development, psychology, and best practices in education. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
- Education Research Complete (EBSCO)
Education Research Complete covers topics that include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Professional Collection (Gale)
Includes more than 300 full text journals for educators.
- Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)
Designed for professional educators. Access to nearly 520 high quality education journals. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
- ERIC (ProQuest)
Index to educational materials.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC contains more than 1,282,000 records and links to more than 314,000 full-text documents. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Full-text for many ERIC (ED) documents, 1996 - present
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
- LLBA (Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts)
Index to citations and abstracts about the nature and use of language.
- MegaFILE (EBSCO)
EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
- PsycINFO (ProQuest)
Indexes more than 1,400 journals on psychology, psychiatry, sociology, education, linguistics and physiology.
- PubMed -- UMD Students, Staff & Faculty
Indexes articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care. Full text access to articles subscribed to by UMD Library.
- Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Indexes current research articles focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexes articles in the social work profession and areas of service.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, disabled persons, physical fitness, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport and exercise psychology, recreation, allied health, occupational health and therapy, public health and more. References from journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference proceedings.
- Women's Studies International (EBSCO)
Provides access to Women's Studies core disciplines and to the latest studies in feminist research.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Provides full text for scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting and international business. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts articles on criminal justice topics.
- PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)
Full-text database covering general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
- Psychology Journals (ProQuest)
- Databases by Subject
Search by the databases recommended by the subject librarian in the their field.
- Databases by Title
List of UMD databases by title.
- Web of Science
Online versions of ISI's citation indexes--Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
An abstract and citation database with a single search platform searching content from ScienceDirect, Scopus, SciTopics, and relevant Web content.
- Google Scholar -- UMD Students, Faculty & Staff
Locate and access peer-reviewed journal articles and other scholarly sources. For access to FindIt off campus or on wireless change Google Scholar preferences
on your computer. More detailed instructions can be found here
- Academic OneFile (Gale)
Interdisciplinary index of major academic periodicals. Partially paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Interdisciplinary index to academic journals; provides full-content for over 3400 titles. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
- CQ Researcher
CQ Research report offers in-depth non-biased coverage of political and social issues.
- Points of View Reference Center
Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
- Duluth News Tribune
Text of the Duluth newspaper, indexed
- Star Tribune (recent: Minneapolis)
Index and text of last 3-4 days
- Star Tribune (NewsStand)
Access Star Tribune articles from 1986 - present. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
- NewsStand (ProQuest)
Online access to over 250 national and international newspapers. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
- SAGE Premier
Provides access to 485+ SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfile to 1999.
- Science Direct (Elsevier)
Full text of selected journals and selected reference books published by Elsevier. Full text indexing available for all Elsevier journals from v. 1, issue 1.
Allows you to locate the full text of an article, search the UMD Library catalog, and provides an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form for items the library does not own.
Frequently Asked Questions about Find It.