This is the "Home" page of the "Science & Engineering Resources for General Librarians" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science & Engineering Resources for General Librarians  

Last Updated: May 31, 2012 URL: http://libguides.d.umn.edu/seresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Information

Borrowing Privleges

Each library has different rules - check the library's homepage about who can borrow what

Electronic Access

Most libraries will allow you to come in and use their public computers to access their databases - whether or not you "belong" to that library. 

Exceptions:

Superior Public Library - Wisconsin residents get free access - out of state residents may get a day pass for $1.00 per day 

BadgerLink - must be (a few exceptions) a Wisconsin resident as long as you have a current Wisconsin library card

ELM - must be (a few exceptions) a Minnesota Resident

 

There are a number of general indexes that various libraries have access to.  Below is a list of those that work well with science and engineering and which libraries have access to them.

 

  CSS DPL LSC SPL UMD UWS WITC ELM BADGERLINK
ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER X X X   X X   X  
APPLIED SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY FULL TEXT           X      
GENERAL SCIENCE COLLECTION X X X   X     X  
GENERAL SCIENCE FULL TEXT           X      
JSTOR X       X X      
SCIENCE CITATION INDEX         X X      
SCIENCE DIRECT* X       X        
SCIENCE REFERENCE CENTER X X X X X X X X X
SCOPUS*       X        
SPRINGERLINK*         X        
WEB OF SCIENCE         X X      
WILEY ONLINE LIBRARY*         X        

 *Includes both books and journal articles - can search full text.

Books

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Encyclopedias are can give you a good, general overview.  Very often, you'll need a subject dictionary or subject encyclopedia to help you with your questions.  There are a wide variety of these available in both electronic & paper form.

General Books

One very good series of books about various science and engineering fields is Schaum's Outline ... Each book covers a specific topic with worked examples.  These can really help beef up your collection.  Many are available electronically.

Electronic Books

More and more libraries are purchasing electronic books.  As a rule, the college/university libraries don't have electronic books to loan like the public libraries.  Don't forget Google Scholar as a resource, although full-text isn't available for most of the recent books. 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Pam Enrici
Contact Info
L278
Kathryn A. Martin Library
416 Library Dr.
Duluth, MN 55812
218-726-8586
Send Email
 






Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip