Research Guides: Communication Sciences and Disorders Research Guide: Find Articles in Journals & Databases

Language Databases

LLBA (Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
LLBA abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Citations date back to 1925.

Education Databases

Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete covers topics that include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index to educational materials.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators. Access to nearly 520 high quality education journals.

Medical Databases

PubMed -- UMD Students, Staff & Faculty This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care. Full text access to articles subscribed to by UMD Library.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing and allied health journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations, as well as providing summarized evidence-based resources such as care sheets and quick lessons.
PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 1,400 journals on psychology, psychiatry, sociology, education, linguistics and physiology from the American Psychological Association (APA).
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine. It is designed to support the information needs of patients and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of the American Psychological Association (APA) covering general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of nearly 300 academic journals in psychology and related fields.

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) Journals

Searching within a journal can be helpful if it is related to your topic. Read the descriptions of the journals below to see if they might be worth looking in for information on your topic.

American Journal of Audiology
Covers the broad field of clinical audiology, including audiologic/aural rehabilitation; balance and balance disorders; cultural and linguistic diversity; detection, diagnosis, prevention, habilitation, rehabilitation, and monitoring of hearing loss; hearing aids, cochlear implants, and hearing-assistive technology; hearing disorders; lifespan perspectives on auditory function; speech perception; and tinnitus.
American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology
Covers the broad field of speech-language pathology, including aphasia; apraxia of speech and childhood apraxia of speech; aural rehabilitation; augmentative and alternative communication; cognitive impairment; craniofacial disorders; dysarthria; fluency disorders; language disorders in children; speech sound disorders; swallowing, dysphagia, and feeding disorders; and voice disorders.
Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research
Covers the broad field of communication sciences and disorders, including speech production and perception; anatomy and physiology of speech and voice; genetics, biomechanics, and other basic sciences pertaining to human communication; mastication and swallowing; speech disorders; voice disorders; development of speech, language, or hearing in children; normal language processes; language disorders; disorders of hearing and balance; psychoacoustics; and anatomy and physiology of hearing.
Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools
Covers audiology and speech-language pathology as practiced in schools, including aural rehabilitation; augmentative and alternative communication; childhood apraxia of speech; classroom acoustics; cognitive impairment; craniofacial disorders; fluency disorders; hearing-assistive technology; language disorders; literacy disorders including reading, writing, and spelling; motor speech disorders; speech sound disorders; swallowing, dysphagia, and feeding disorders; voice disorders.
Perspectives of the ASHA Special Interest Groups
This is a scholarly review journal focused on bridging the gap from research to practice and advancing knowledge translation in the field.

More Journals

Augmentative and Alternative Communication: AAC
Reports research concerning assessment, treatment, rehabilitation, and education of people who use or have the potential to use AAC systems; or discuss theory, technology, and systems development relevant to AAC.
Dysphagia
Dysphagia is a multidisciplinary journal devoted to swallowing and its disorders. Its scope includes all aspects of normal and dysphagic ingestion involving the mouth, pharynx, and esophagus. Accordingly, the journal will draw on expertise from a variety of disciplines including gastroenterology, neurology, otolaryngology, radiology, dentistry, rehabilitation medicine, speech pathology, nursing, dietetics, medical administration, and the basic biomedical sciences.
Infants and Young Children
Infants & Young Children is an interdisciplinary journal focusing on vulnerable children from birth to five years of age and their families. Of special interest are articles involving innovative interventions, summaries of important research developments and their implications for practice, updates for high priority topic areas, balanced presentations of controversial issues, and articles that address issues involving policy, professional training, new conceptual models, and related matters. Although data are often presented primarily to illustrate points, some types of data-based articles may be appropriate.
Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation
The Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation is a leading, peer-reviewed resource that provides up-to-date information on the clinical management and rehabilitation of persons with traumatic brain injuries. The journal is comprised of feature articles, brief reports, pharmacological updates, legislative and public policy updates, columns on ethics, book reviews, abstracts of selected literature, and more. Six issues each year focus on a subject of importance to the practitioner, and the remaining two focus on a variety of clinical practice and research topics.
Journal of Voice
This peer-reviewed journal contains articles written by experts throughout the world on all topics in voice sciences, voice medicine and surgery, and speech-language pathologists' management of voice-related problems.
Seminars in Speech and Language
This journal covers the entire spectrum of speech language pathology. In each issue, a leading specialist covers diagnostic procedures, screening and assessment techniques, treatment protocols, as well as short and long-term management practices in areas such as apraxia, communication, stuttering, autism, dysphagia, attention, phonological intervention, memory as well as other disorders.
Topics in Language Disorders
Topics in Language Disorders, is a double-blind peer-reviewed journal that has as its major purposes: (1) bringing together professionals who have a clinical interest in language and its disorders, transcending disciplinary concerns; (2) clarifying the application of theory to practices in the treatment, rehabilitation, and education of individuals with language disorders; and (3) providing relevant information to practicing professionals dealing with the language disabled.

Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
Digital Commons Network (bepress) This link opens in a new window
The Digital Commons Network aggregates full-text open access peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Open access graduate theses and dissertations from around the world. OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations.
DART-Europe This link opens in a new window
A single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs).
University Digital Conservancy (UDC) This link opens in a new window
This online service and space will permit the Kathryn A. Martin Library to continue its rich legacy of collecting, preserving, and making information accessible to students, faculty, researchers, and community members.

Other useful databases for this subject area

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals covering most disciplines.
Resource Guide PDF Video Tutorials
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, popular magazines and other resources covering most disciplines. A great place to start your research on any topic.

Databases by Subject
A listing of UMD databases organized by Major/Discipline
Databases by Title
Alphabetical listing of all UMD Library databases

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full text of selected journals and selected reference books published by Elsevier. Full text indexing available for all Elsevier journals from v. 1, issue 1.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access the worlds leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

You can search all databases available on the Web of Science platform at one time. This includes, Web of Science Core Collection, Biological Abstracts, BIOSIS Previews, KCI-Korean Journal Database, Russian Science Citation Index, and SciELO Citation Index.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Our subscribed content includes the Sustainability, Life Sciences, Arts & Sciences I-VII, XII, XV, and Ireland collections and more than 70,000 DRM-free ebooks from academic publishers.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. MUSE is a trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.
Google Scholar -- UMD Students, Faculty & Staff This link opens in a new window
Locate and access peer-reviewed journal articles and other scholarly sources. For access to FindIt off campus or on wireless devices add the University of Minnesota Duluth to your Library Links in the Google Scholar settings.
Google Scholar is accessible by the public.

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Communication Sciences and Disorders Research Guide

Reference Librarian

WorldCat and ILL

Language Databases

Education Databases

Medical Databases

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) Journals

More Journals

Dissertations

Other useful databases for this subject area