Skip to main content

Native Americans into Medicine (NAM) : Web Resources

Symptoms

BetterMedcine from healthgrades
Allows you to search or browse by symptom as well as a list of symptoms and possible conditions.
http://www.bettermedicine.com/symptoms/?redirect=beme

Health Symptoms A to Z (Healthline)
List of common symptoms and provides possible conditions. http://www.healthline.com/directory/symptoms

The Isabel Symptom Checker
Search by age, gender, region and enter symptoms. A list of possible conditions will appear. A list of web resources will appear. http://symptomchecker.isabelhealthcare.com/

Search by Symptom (FamilyDoctor.org)
Provides a list of conditions, when you click on the symptom, it leads you through a series of questions.
http://familydoctor.org/familydoctor/en/health-tools/search-by-symptom.html

Symptom Checker (Mayo Clinic)
Choose from a list of symptoms for adult or child. http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions

WebMDsymptom Checker
Indicate who for, gender, age and click on figure for where symptoms are located and then review symptom choices and see possible conditions. You can also search by most common symptoms and signs, popular symptoms by conditions and symptoms & signs A-Z list.
http://symptoms.webmd.com/#introView

Major Health Websites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Covers "Health Topics A to Z" as well as news, traveler's health and data and statistics. http://www.cdc.gov/

Casper ML, Denny CH, Coolidge JN, Williams GI Jr, Crowell A, Galloway JM, Cobb N. Atlas of Heart Disease and Stroke Among  American Indians and Alaska Natives. Atlanta, GA: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and Indian Health Service; 2005. http://www.cdc.gov/dhdsp/atlas/aian_atlas/

FastStats A to Z (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
Provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance. Links are provided to publications that include statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages. http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/

Health Information (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health)
Search by body location/systems; conditions and diseases; as well as quick links to child & teen health; men's health; minority health; seniors' health; and women's health. http://health.nih.gov/

HealthFinder
Health information provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. http://www.healthfinder.gov/

HealthyPeople.gov
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. http://www.healthypeople.gov/2020/default.aspx

MedlinePlus
Provides information on health topics; drugs and supplements; an encyclopedia and dictionary; news and more. http://medlineplus.gov/

National Guideline Clearinghouse (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ))
Provides evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. http://guideline.gov/

National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, National Institutes of Health)
The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) provides global leadership for a research, training, and education program to promote the prevention and treatment of heart, lung, and blood diseases and enhance the health of all individuals so that they can live longer and more fulfilling lives.

Native American Web Resources

American Indian Health
An information portal to issues affecting the health and well-being of American Indians. http://americanindianhealth.nlm.nih.gov/

Native American Health: Medline Plus
Links to health issues that affect Native Americans. http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/nativeamericanhealth.html

Indian Health Service

The Office of Minority Health (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Office of Minority Health)
 The Office is dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities. http://minorityhealth.hhs.gov/

Reference Librarian

Martha Eberhart
Chat requires JavaScript.
Send an e-mail to Martha
Contact:
Kathryn A. Martin Library
416 Library Drive
264 Library
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
218-726-8733






Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library