This is the "Home" page of the "Muslim Journeys" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The UMD Library was one of 840 libraries and state humanities councils across the country selected to receive the Bridging Cultures Bookshelf collection on Muslim Journeys, sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the ALA.
Last Updated: Mar 19, 2013 URL: http://libguides.d.umn.edu/muslim_journeys Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Learn More

The Muslim Journeys project website, developed by the Ali Vural Ak Center for Global Islamic Studies at George Mason University, offers online resources that place the books and documentary films in a larger context. By visiting the website, those who seek broader paths for making their Muslim Journeys will find themed essays that draw connections among the books; video essays that illuminate the role of the arts in Muslim societies; and a rich array of primary resources and interpretive articles intended to enhance understanding of ideas and events encountered in the books.

      
     

    Muslim Journeys

    Muslim Journeys bookshelf banner
     


    Muslim Journeys - A Bridging Cultures Bookshelf Collection at UMD


    The University of Minnesota Duluth Library was one of 840 libraries and state humanities councils across the country selected to receive the Bridging Cultures Bookshelf collection on Muslim Journeys, sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the American Library Association (ALA). The program aims to familiarize public audiences in the United States with the people, places, history, faith, and cultures of Muslims in the United States and around the world.

    The collection includes 25 hardcover books, four DVDs, and a year's subscription to Oxford Islamic Studies Online.

    The materials are showcased in a display case on the library's first floor and are available for checkout.

    Two of the films included in the Muslim Journeys collection will be screened in the UMD Library fourth floor Rotunda reading room, and one will be screened in the downtown Duluth Public Library. Please see the EVENTS tab to view information regarding these films. Prior to the first showing on April 9, we will hold an opening reception to introduce library users to the collection's contents.

    Sponsors for this bookshelf collection:

    This is a project of the National Endowment for the Humanities, conducted in cooperation with the American Library Association. Support was provided by a grant from Carnegie Corporation of New York. Additional support for the arts and media components was provided by the Doris Duke Foundation for Islamic Art.







    Site Coordinator: UMD Library

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip