This is the "Find Articles" page of the "ESAT 4700 Statistics and Research Methods in Exercise Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ESAT 4700 Statistics and Research Methods in Exercise Science  

Last Updated: May 21, 2015 URL: http://libguides.d.umn.edu/esat4700 Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Locating Journal Articles

Some of the databases have full-text and you click on a HTML or PDF link to retrieve the full text.

 If the article is not full-text within the citation, click  icon available in many of the database to help you retrieve the full-text article.

1. Click on UMD Find It icon. Anothee window will open and click on "Get full text from database name" (often more than one database).
2. Another window will open, usually directly to the aricle. You may have a choice of HTML or PDF versions.

If the full-text is not available through UMD Find It, you will see "Sorry, we don't have an online copy, but...."

Look for a print copy in the Library Catalog. Click on the link and search the library catalog for the journal title to see if the library carries the title in print or microfilm. Click on the availablilty field to see what years and volumes the library carries.

Request a copy through Interlibrary Loan. Click on the link and the ILLiad window will open. Logon using your UMD email username and password. Your citation will automatically be filled in. You can change the "Not Wanted After Date" and add any notes. Press the Submit Request. You will be notified by UMD email when your request comes in.

 If the "Find It" icon is not available in a database.

1. Go to the Libary homepage (http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/) and click on the Journals tab.
2 Type in the journal name with the E-Journal Locator radio button selected and press Search for journals.
3. In the results list, select the database which has the year you need.
4. Another window will open, click on Get full text from (database name) to get to the database.
5. Another window opens, locate the year, volume, issue of the journal you need and arrow down to your article.

If the journal is not located in a database.

1. Go to the Libary homepage (http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/) and click on the Journals tab.
2.Type in the journal name with the Journals Catalog radio button selected and press Search for journals.
3. In the results list, click on the journal title if it is found.
4. Click on the Availability field to see if the UMD library carries in the journal in print (Library Annex) or in microfilm (3rd floor).

If the journal is not located in the library, use Interlibrary Loan to get item from another library.

Databases

Link to all of UMD Databases

  • Academic OneFile (Gale)
    Interdisciplinary index of major academic periodicals. Partially paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Interdisciplinary index to academic journals; provides full-content for over 3400 titles. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
    Sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, disabled persons, physical fitness, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport and exercise psychology, recreation, allied health, occupational health and therapy, public health and more. References from journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference proceedings. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • PubMed -- UMD Students, Staff & Faculty
    Indexes articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care. Full text access to articles subscribed to by UMD Library. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Web of Science
    Online versions of ISI's citation indexes--Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Scopus
    An abstract and citation database with a single search platform searching content from ScienceDirect, Scopus, SciTopics, and relevant Web content.
  • Google Scholar -- UMD Students, Faculty & Staff
    Locate and access peer-reviewed journal articles and other scholarly sources. For access to FindIt off campus or on wireless change Google Scholar preferences on your computer. More detailed instructions can be found here.
  • Elsevier Science Direct
    Full text of selected journals and selected reference books published by Elsevier. Full text indexing available for all Elsevier journals from v. 1, issue 1.
 

How Do I Find an Article when I Know its Citation

Reference Librarian

 

Help

Connect From Off Campus

When off-campus, most online databases and reserve items are not accessible if you do not authenticate. When you click on the database name, you will be asked for your UMD Internet ID and password. As long as you are in the system and the correct Internet ID/password is entered, you will be able to search the database.

Computing Problems

Help with internet id and password, authentication, firewalls, proxies, VPN, cookies, Javascript, popup blockers, and printing.







Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip