This is the "Home" page of the "Database List" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database List  

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.d.umn.edu/databaselist Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How To Reuse Existing Link

  1. Create a box for your databases. Use the Links and Lists box type.
  2. Click on Add a New Link.
  3. You will get a pop-up box. Select the tab called Reuse Existing Link.
  4. Start typing the link title, i.e., the database title. You will not have to type the entire thing. For example, just type the first few letters in Academic Search Premier and you'll be provided with a menu.
  5. IMPORTANT: Each link name will have a LibGuide name next to it. That tells you where the particular link is living. It is critical that you select the one that appears in Database List.
  6. When you select the appropriate link, a new box will appear (see image below).
  7. DO NOT check the box that says "Make a copy of this resource...."
  8. Click Reuse Link.
  9. You're finished. Now, because you have linked to the database which is hosted in our Database List guide, any changes relating to name, URL, cancellation and description will automatically be updated on your guide.

 

Reuse existing link

Databases A-Z

  • Academic OneFile (Gale)
    Interdisciplinary index of major academic periodicals. Partially paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Interdisciplinary index to academic journals; provides full-content for over 3400 titles. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Access UN
    Indexes documents produced by the United Nations
  • Accounting Literature (LexisNexis)
    Accounting Literature
  • ACM (Association of Computing Machinery Journals)
    Full text and citations from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
  • ACS (American Chemical Society Journals)
    Index and text of ACS journals - Chemistry
  • African American Periodicals 1825-1995
    African American Periodicals allows users to search more than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995.
  • Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922
    Created from the Library Company of Philadelphia's Afro-Americana Collection this online resource provides researchers with 12,000+ printed books, pamphlets and broadsides concerning African American history, literature and culture. From early 16th to early 20th century.
  • AGRICOLA
    Index to the agriculture literature
  • AIP & APS (American Institute of Physics Journals & American Physical Society Journals) (Scitation)
    Index and text of some of the AIP & APS journals in physics
  • Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals
    A subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously.
  • Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO)
    Focuses on complementary, holistic, and integrative approaches to health care. Full text for more than 180 international, often peer-reviewed journals and reports. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Alt-PressWatch (ProQuest)
    Full text from alternative and independent publications.
  • Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)
    Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Covering theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians. Coverage begins in 1991. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
    Index to articles on United States and Canadian history. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • American Factfinder
    Data from 1990 and 2000 censuses, American Community Surveys, and Economic Census 1997
  • American Institute of Physics (AIP) Journals
    Full text. Selected journals of the American Institute of Physics and of the American Physical Society. Also includes online archive to Physical Review (PROLA).
  • American Journal of Science
  • American Memory Project
    Library of Congress visual archive
  • American Periodicals Series (APS)
    Full-image text and images from selected periodicals printed between 1741 - 1900. Over 1100 American magazines and journals (89 of these published between 1741 and 1800).
  • American Periodicals Series (APS)
    Full-text articles from selected American periodicals printed between 1741 - 1900.
  • American Physical Society (APS) Journals
    Index and text of some of the APS journals in physics.
  • American Poetry Database
    Colonial period to early 20th century
  • Annual Reviews
    Full-text access to selected Annual Review titles
  • Anthropology Plus
    Indexes articles in anthropology, archaeology and related disciplines. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • AnthroSource
    Online fulltext journals and other serial publications of the American Anthropology Association
  • Art Full Text (EBSCO)
    Indexes/abstracts journal articles in fine arts, art history, architecture, graphic design, photography, and other art-related fields. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index
    Index to articles in arts and humanities fields. Find It full text retrieval enabled **Please use the Arts and Humanities Citation Index located in Web of Science.**
  • ASM (American Society for Microbiology Journals)
    Full-text access to journals in microbiology from 1992 to last year. Only citations and abstracts are available for the current year.
  • ASME Digital Collection (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)
    Full-text access to 18 ASME titles from 2000 - present.
  • ASTM Standards
    Standards, specification documents, test methods, classifications, practices, and guides describing the characteristics of materials, systems, products and services.
  • BHA - Bibliography of History of Art (Paper Index)
    Paper index covering the current literature on European art from late Antiquity to the present, and American art from the European discoveries to the present.
  • BHA - Bibliography of the History of Art (online)  Icon
    An art bibliography covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art
    An art bibliography covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present.
  • Bio-Medical Library (UM Twin Cities)
    Gateway to UM-Twin Cities biomedical e-journals and indexes
  • Biological Abstracts
    Covers the life sciences journal literature. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • BioOne
    Online access to approximately 72 bioscience research journals
  • BIOSIS Previews
    Index to journal articles in the life sciences including agriculture, biochemistry, biology, ecology, environmental science and medicine. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • BizMiner
    Industry statistical reports available from the national to local (zip code) level.
  • Books in Print
    List of books currently available from American publishers.
  • Books24X7 (ITPro)
    Full text and index of thousands of books focused on computing.
  • Britannica Online Academic Edition
    Full-text of the Encyclopedia Britannica, a general information source for all age groups. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
  • British Newspapers, 1600-1900
    A digital collection of British historic newspapers. Also, contains specially commissioned essays and contextual materials written by expert scholars intended to help non-specialist users with perspective and analysis.
  • BSP Company Profiles
    Company profiles from Busines Source Premier
  • Business Analyst Online
    Utilize GIS technology to analyze demographic, consumer spending, and business data. Analyze current-year estimates and five-year projections of demographic data and extensive consumer spending and business data for the entire United States. BAO may be used for teaching and student learning purposes only. No research or administrative users are permitted.
  • Business Insights: Essentials
    Provides business and industry information via articles, investment reports, chronologies and company histories, brand and product information, rankings and more.
  • Business News
    Current articles on business and industry
  • Business Source Premier (BSI Interface)
    NEW Interface Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
    Provides full text for scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting and international business. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Cabell's Directories: Business  
      
    Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities contains information designed to help researchers and academics match their manuscripts with the scholarly journals which are most likely to publish those manuscripts. Paid for by Labovitz School of Business & Economics.
  • CAMIO
    OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of 24 prominent museums including The Minneapolis Institute of Arts and Walker Art Center. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
  • Canadian Music Periodical Index
    Index of over 30,000 articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day from Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines.
  • Canadian Periodical Index
    Paper Index AI 3 .C243x
  • CCH Health and Human Resources Network
    Access to CCH information products covering health law, regulations, food & drug law, etc.
  • Census
    Information on how to find data from Census 2000 and earlier censuses
  • Chaucer: Life and Times
    Accessible from the EDD CD-ROM terminals on the 2nd floor of the library.The complete works of Chaucer with modern translations and a glossary, critical commentary, historical information, graphics and audio clips in Middle English
  • Chemical Abstracts (See SciFinder Scholar) (Index QD 1 .A51)
    Provides comprehensive coverage of the chemical literature: international in scope: includes books, journals, patents, and dissertations
  • CHEMLIBnetBASE
    Full text and index of over 800 chemistry and chemical engineering books.
  • Choice Reviews Online
    Concise, full-text reviews of academic books, media, databases, software, and websites, covering September 1988-present.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education
    Newspaper (Per1439.000 NWS) & Microform (Per1439.000MFL) area; covers all aspects of higher education, as well as a source for job postings for colleges and universities
  • Chronicle of Higher Education (Online)
    The most-read source of news, information, and job listings for college and university faculty members and administrators.
  • CIOS (Communication Institute for Online Scholarship)
    Index to citations (no abstracts) to 30 titles. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Cochrane Library
    Widely respected source of reliable evidence about the effects of health care. Includes abstracts to hundreds of systematic reviews. TC access required
  • Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
    Codified version of United States regulatory laws, executive orders and proclamations, and selected presidential documents
  • ComAbstracts
    ComAbstracts contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Community Analyst Online
    View and analyze demographic, public, and third-party sources of data to better understand the overall community in question and make better policy decisions. Analyze specific locations, geographic areas, or custom regions. CAO may be used for teaching and student learning purposes only. No research or administrative users are permitted.
  • Company Profiles (BSI via EBSCO)
  • Compendex (Engineering Village)
    Index to engineering and technical literature. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Congress.Gov
    Access to Congressional publication including bills, laws, and committee reports
  • Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO)
    Contains consumer-oriented health content. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • COS Pivot
    Discover new avenues for funding and collaboration for faculty, staff researchers, and graduate students using COS Pivot.
  • Country Reports (BSI via EBSCO)
  • CQ Researcher
    CQ Research report offers in-depth non-biased coverage of political and social issues.
  • CQ Weekly Archive (1983-2009)
    CQ weekly reports nonpartisan news and analysis from Congress for the years 1983-2009.
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO)
    Indexes and abstracts articles on criminal justice topics.Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • CRSP
    Provides historical stock market data.
  • Curriculum Resource Center
    Provides printable teacher-handout material for middle, high school, and junior college curriculum.
  • d-Commons
    UMD d-Commons is the institutional repository of the University of Minnesota Duluth.
  • DART-Europe
    A single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs).
  • Database of African-American Poetry
    Works of 54 poets from 1760-1900
  • DATANET (Minnesota)
    Statistical data on Minnesota, population, land use, crime, education, health, substance abuse, and retail sales
  • Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
    Abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete (Gale)
    Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
  • Digital Commons Network (bepress)
    The Digital Commons Network aggregates full-text open access peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
  • Digital Content Library
    A database of images, sound, and video files based at the Twin Cities campus, with content added by academic departments in the College of Liberal Arts and the College of Design at the Twin Cities, and the School of Fine Arts at UMD.
  • Digital Corporate Manuals (see Mergent/Moody's® Manual Collection)
    Corporate Manuals, ranging back to the early 1900s, possess a richness of corporate history and business descriptions and in-depth financial statements. The collection is all searchable by company name, year or manual type.
  • Digital National Security Archives
    Created in collaboration with the National Security Archive, this database is the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
  • DIPPR
    Physical and thermodynamic properties of pure chemicals - searchable by chemical name, formula or property.
  • Discovering Collection (Gale)
    Offers easy access to content based on national curriculum standards. Covers the core curriculum areas and provides a selection of reference, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Dissertations & Theses (CIC only)
    Full text master and doctoral dissertations of any CIC university from 1997 to present. Click here for a list of CIC schools.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
    Master and doctoral dissertations, including full-text of any CIC university from 1997 to present. Click here for a list of CIC schools.
  • DOAJ
    Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals of all subjects and languages.
  • DSH Abstracts
    Index (paper) to communication disorders; 1960-1985
  • Duke University Press Journals Online
    The e-Duke Scholarly Collection includes online access to twenty-nine Duke humanities and social science journals.
  • Duluth News Tribune
    Text of the Duluth newspaper, indexed
  • E-Journal Locator
    Use this database to search for periodicals that UMD students, staff, and faculty can access online.
  • Early American Imprints
    Full text collection of books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in the British American Colonies/United States from 1639 through 1800; based on Charles Evans American Bibliography
  • Early English Books Online (EEBO)
    Provides digital access to more than one hundred thousand literary and historical classics.
  • eBooks on EBSCO (formerly NetLibrary)
    Full text and index of over 12,000 electronic books covering a wide range of topics and intellectual levels. Partially paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
  • Economic Report of the President
    Economic report of the President
  • Economist Historical Archive
    Historical archives of the Economicst, from 1843-2003.
  • Education Research Complete (EBSCO)
    Education Research Complete covers topics that include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
  • Educator's Reference Complete (Gale)
    Focuses on educational principles, child development, psychology, and best practices in education. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • eHRAF Archaeology (New interface)
    Cross-cultural database focusing on the world's prehistory
  • eHRAF World Cultures (Formerly eHRAF Ethnography)
    Cross-cultural database with full text of books, articles, and dissertations
  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)
    Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. The product allows access to information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
  • Elsevier Science Direct
    Full text of selected journals and selected reference books published by Elsevier. Full text indexing available for all Elsevier journals from v. 1, issue 1.
  • Emerald Online
    Full-text access to 130 management, applied science, and library and information science titles.
  • Encyclopaedia of Islam
    Scholarly encyclopedia covering all aspects of Islam. Information about Fonts for Encyclopedia of Islam
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online
    Full-text of the Encyclopedia Britannica, a general information source for all age groups. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
  • Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
    Addresses the fundamental discipline of biological chemistry. It contains more than 500 different entries encompassing all aspects of biochemistry, as well as molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics.
  • Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Gale)
    This is the electronic version of Gale-Macmillan's 10-volume Encyclopedia of Philosophy, a standard work.
  • EngineeringPro (Books 24X7)
    Full contents of engineering books in a fully searchable, web-based environment.
  • English Poetry Database
    Works of 1,350 poets from 600-1900
  • English Verse Drama
    2,000 works by 650 authors, 13th-19th centuries
  • ENGnetBASE
    Full text and index of over 800 chemistry and chemical engineering books.
  • Entrez
    The ENTREZ Cross-Database Search allows you to search simultaneously across multiple biomedical/life science databases.
  • ENVIROnetBASE
    Full text and index of over 700 books that deal with various aspects of the environment.
  • Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ProQuest)
    Articles and reports in all areas of terrestrial study, including pollution and ecosystems, industrial hygiene and safety science. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • ERIC (EBSCO)
    ERIC contains more than 1,282,000 records and links to more than 314,000 full-text documents. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
    Full-text for many ERIC (ED) documents, 1996 - present
  • ERIC (ProQuest)
    Index to educational materials. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • eStatement Studies
    Provides comparison of financial data.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
    Full-text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native presses.
  • Euromonitor GMID (see GMID (Euromonitor))
    Euromonitor GMID (Global Market Information Database) featuring business intelligence, company profiles, and strategic and statistical market analysis
  • Expanded Academic Index (see Academic OneFile)
    Interdisciplinary index of major academic periodicals. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Federal Register
    Daily official publication of Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and of Executive Orders and other presidential documents
  • FEDSTATS
    Statistics from over 70 federal agencies on demographics, business, taxation, environment, politics, crime, employment, military, climate, health, and education
  • FindLaw
    Federal and state legal resources including court decisions and codes
  • First Nations Periodical Index
    The First Nations Periodical Index contains journals of mainly Canadian Native content. This Index is a tool providing access to information about First Nations for students (high school or university), educators, instructors and researchers.
  • FIS Online (Mergent Online)
    Current corporate and financial reports on 11,000 U.S. public companies and 17,000 non-U.S. public companies
  • Foundation Directory Online  
      
    The Foundation Directory Online offers full-text search capability across a comprehensive array of documents and data concerning U.S. grantmaking. Over 80,000 unique funder profiles organize the latest foundation news, RFPs, job openings, publications and key staff affiliations. Program details and guidelines for funding applications are provided, as well as links to foundation websites.
  • Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
    Online database of foundations that provide a wide range of funding support for individual grantseekers.
  • GEOREF
    Comprehensive index to articles, reports, and maps in geology. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Global Plants (formerly JSTOR Plant Science)
    A community-contributed database containing 2 million+ high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world.
  • GMID (Euromonitor)
    Euromonitor GMID (Global Market Information Database) featuring business intelligence, company profiles, and strategic and statistical market analysis
  • Google Scholar -- Public Version
    Locate and access peer-reviewed journal articles and other scholarly sources. This version ONLY provides full text access to e-journals subscribed to by UMD Library WHEN ON CAMPUS.
  • Google Scholar -- UMD Students, Faculty & Staff
    Locate and access peer-reviewed journal articles and other scholarly sources. For access to FindIt off campus or on wireless change Google Scholar preferences on your computer. More detailed instructions can be found here.
  • Government Information Resources
    Links to federal, state and local government web sites and databases
  • Government Publications Catalog
    Catalog of federal government publications
  • GPO Access
    Several databases providing access to major publications of the U.S. government
  • GPO Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
    Catalog of United States federal government publications since 1994. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
  • GreenFILE (EBSCO)
    Covers aspects of human impact to the environment, including environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Grolier Online
    Online encyclopedias for K-12 students.
  • Grove Art Online
    Encyclopedia of visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present. Now known as Oxford Art Online.
  • Grove Music Online
    Full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. A paper copy of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is available in Reference. The call number is REF ML 100 .N48 2001. Now known as Oxford Music Online.
  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (Gale)
    Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia is the searchable, online version of the seventeen-volume encyclopedia (2nd ed.) covering information about animals everywhere in the world.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
    Provides information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
    Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Higher Education Abstracts
    Paper Index LB 2343 .C64x; covers all aspects of higher education
  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
    Index to articles on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada). Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Historical Census Data Browser
    Demographic, economic, and social data from the U.S. Census, 1790-1960
  • Historical New York Times Digital Archive (ProQuest)
    Full page images of the New York Times, from its first issue in 1851 to 2000. Includes digital images of every page from every issue, cover to cover, including the New York Times Book Review.
  • History Cooperative
    Full-text of the American Historical Review and Journal of American History
  • Hoover's Online
    News and financials from U.S. public corporations with some industry analysis. Good for finding major competitors.
  • Human Resources Abstracts
    Paper Index HD 4904.7 .H78x; covers education, training, and career development, health and medical services, counseling and therapy, human services and more
  • IBIDS - International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements
    Indexes/abstracts for international scientific journals on the topic of dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, herbal and botanical supplements from the Office of Dietary Supplements at the NIH.
  • ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
    Data sets for social sciences.
  • IEEE Xplore
    Full text and index of IEEE and IEE periodicals, conference proceedings and standards from 1998 to present. IEE journals and conference proceedings available from 1988.
  • Index to Chiropractic Literature
    Index to Chiropractic Literature is created by a group of health science librarians working in chiropractic colleges throughout the world. It includes citations to articles in 40 journals, and is searchable by keyword, subject, or author.
  • Industry and Market News
    Business news focused on specific industries and markets
  • Industry Profiles (BSI via EBSCO)
  • Informe (Gale)
    A collection of Spanish-language magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • InfoTrac Junior Edition (Gale)
    Designed for junior high and middle school students to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, etc. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • InfoTrac Kids Editions (Gale)
    Designed for K-6 aged students to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, etc. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • InfoTrac Student Edition (Gale)
    Designed for secondary school students to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, etc. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Ingenta Connect
    Full text articles for some UMD journal subscriptions.
  • INIS (International Nuclear Information System)
    INIS is a database that covers information about atomic energy in all its peaceful aspects. There are over 3 million citations in it and almost 200,000 full text nonconventional documents.
  • International Index to Music Periodicals (ProQuest)
    A music journal index with detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to the present, covering the scholarly to the popular. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • International Index to the Performing Arts (ProQuest)
    Index to articles covering dance, film, television, drama, theatre, stagecraft, musical theatre, broadcast arts, and more. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
    Provides information on all phases of the development and use of drugs and on professional pharmaceutical practice.
  • iPOLL
    iPOLL, from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, is a full text database of 600,000 questions from national public opinion surveys since 1935.
  • ITER Bibliography
    Index to secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
  • ITER Italicum
    Finding list of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.
  • ITPro (Books24x7)
    Full text books about computers and computer related topics: hardware, databases, software engineering, networks & protocols, certification & compliance, desktop and office applications, graphic design & multimedia, business and far more.
  • Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticsm (PAPER)
    Provides more than 240 essay-length overviews of critics, schools, movements, and national and ethnic groups important to the study of literary theory and criticism.
  • Journal Citation Reports
    This resource covers science and social sciences disciplines. It provides statistical data on journals and indicates the most frequently cited journals in a field, the highest impact journals in a field, and immediacy of citations.
  • JSTOR
    Full text and index of over 1200 scholarly journals from various disciplines.
  • Junior Reference Collection (Gale)
    Biographies, literature, science, the arts, culture and general reference for a middle school audience. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Kid's Infobits (Gale)
    Indexes magazines for kids. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
    Full text and index of the encyclopedia. This is THE basic reference for chemical engineering and related fields.
  • Knovel Interactive Library
    Full text and index of over 2,600 engineering and science titles. Some databases are included as well as interactive tables and graphs.
  • Law Reviews
    Law reviews
  • Legal Information Institute
    Federal and legal resources including court opinions and the U.S. Code
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Business, law, medical, news
  • LexisNexis Academic -- Legal Research
    The complete combination of Federal and State caselaw provides all available caselaw in one stop, with the ability to search other legal source.
  • LexisNexis Company Dossier
  • LexisNexis Company Profiles
    Includes profiles of companies and company executives, annual reports and other SEC filings, bankruptcy reports, merger and acquisition transactions, earnings reports. The file covers all US public companies, more than 200,000 private US companies, and many thousands of other companies around the world.
  • LexisNexis Health & Medical Care
  • LexisNexis Legal News
    Legal news
  • LexisNexis TV & Radio News Transcripts
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA)
    Index covers librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Literature Criticism Online  
      
    An extensive compilation of literary commentary.
  • Literature Resource Center (Gale)
    Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
  • LLBA (Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts)
    Index to citations and abstracts about the nature and use of language. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Local Market Audience Analyst (SRDS)
    A consumer market research tool that delivers demographic, segmentation, and targeting data for media planners and consumer marketers. Learn about new markets, understand target audiences, their behaviors, and lifestyles and access detailed reports and maps.
  • lynda.com Online Training
    An online library of educational how-to and training videos that cover a variety of software, creative, and business applications.
  • MAS Ultra School Edition (EBSCO)
    Contains full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)
    Contains full text for 2,053 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and more. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • MathSciNet
    Comprehensive index to articles in mathematics and statistics. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • MD Consult - MED SCHOOL ONLY
    Clinical resource providing complete access to 38 medical reference books, 48 medical journals, and many clinical practice guidelines
  • Medical & Pharmacy Students only
    The Biomedical Library should be your first stop for your research.
  • MEDLINE (OVID)
    Index to articles in the medical literature. The FindIt button in this database is keyed to the Twin Cities Campus. Use the UMD Library E-Journal Locator to find out if you have access to the article.
  • MEDLINE (see PubMed)
    Index to articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care
  • MegaFILE (EBSCO)
    EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Mergent Online
    Current corporate and financial reports on 11,000 U.S. public companies and 17,000 non-U.S. public companies.
  • Mergent/Moody's® Manual Collection
    Corporate Manuals, ranging back to the early 1900s, possess a richness of corporate history and business descriptions and in-depth financial statements. The collection is all searchable by company name, year or manual type.
  • Micromedex - MED SCHOOL ONLY
    A premier drug information source providing complete access to Martindale, the Extra Pharmacopoeia, The Physician's Desk Reference, and more
  • Microsoft Academic Search
    Microsoft Academic Search is an experimental research service that indexes millions of academic publications. It also displays the key relationships between and among subjects, content, and authors.
  • Middle Search Plus (EBSCO)
    Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. Articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Minneapolis Tribune (Historical Online Archive)
    The Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
  • Minnesota Magazine Index
    Index to articles about Minnesota - mainly the Twin Cities metro area
  • Minnesota.gov
    Official web site for the state of Minnesota
  • Mintel Reports
    Full Text Marketing Reports
  • MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
    Index to articles on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • MNCAT -- All Campus Catalog
    Searches all University of Minnesota campus catalogs.
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center
    Comprehensive Morningstar Reports on more than 8,000 stocks and 12,000 mutual funds.
  • Music Article Guide (paper index)
    Covers all areas of music, with a special emphasis on the needs of school and college music educators. Also includes practical how-to articles for orechestra, choral, and band directors not indexed elsewhere. Excludes book, concert and record reviews
  • National Academy of Sciences Proceedings
    Full-text of this journal
  • National Guideline Clearinghouse
    Comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related docments
  • Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
    Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database is a bibliographic and partial full text database that provides clinical data on natural medicines, herbal medicines and dietary supplements.
  • Nature Online
    Complete article coverage from the journal Nature and 60 research and review titles
  • Naxos Music Library
    Streaming audio of primarily classical music, but some world music, folk music, and jazz are also included.
  • Naxos Music Library Jazz
    New database Naxos Music Library Jazz offers over 125,000 tracks of jazz from more than 75,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises the catalogues of Blue Notes Records, 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz and over 200 other labels. Access to this resource will expire on September 30, 2014.
  • Naxos Video Library
    A streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand.
  • NCJRS Abstracts (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)
    Indexes articles and book chapters on criminal justice
  • NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)
    Comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor's independent research, data and commentary on stocks, and industries
  • New York Times (Historical Online Archive)
    Full page images of the New York Times, from its first issue in 1851 to 2000. Includes digital images of every page from every issue, cover to cover, including the New York Times Book Review.
  • New York Times (NewsStand)
    Access articles from the New York Times, 1999 - present. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
  • NewsStand (ProQuest)
    Online access to over 250 national and international newspapers. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
  • Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers (Gale)
    Consists of two major collections from the British Library: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers. For a list of titles, please click here.
  • Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
    Full text articles from 19th century United States newspapers. For a full list of newspapers included, please click here .
  • O*Net Online (Occupational Information Network)
    Access occupational information from the Department of Labor
  • OECD iLibrary (formerly SourceOECD)
    Online full-text of all publications and serials from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) from 1998 to present; also includes a large collection of data sets
  • OECD Index
    Index to citations and abstracts of OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publications
  • Ojibwe People's Dictionary  Icon
    The Ojibwe People's Dictionary is a searchable, talking Ojibwe-English dictionary that features the voices of Ojibwe speakers.
  • Open Access Theses and Dissertations
    Open access graduate theses and dissertations from around the world. OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations.
  • Opening Night!: Opera & Oratorio Premieres
    A cross-index of data for over 38,000 opera and oratorio premieres. Entries include works that received a public performance between the years 1589-1995.
  • Oxford Art Online
    Encyclopedia of visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present.
  • Oxford English Dictionary Online
    The Oxford English Dictionary (OED), containing more than 2.5 million quotations illustrates how words are used and their origins
  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online
    A resource on Islam and the Islamic World. Includes A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines. Areas covered include global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture.
  • Oxford Music Online
    Full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. A paper copy of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is available in Reference. The call number is REF ML 100 .N48 2001
  • PAIS International (ProQuest)
    Indexes articles on public affairs. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Patrologia Latina Online
    Texts on Medieval philosophy, theology, history, and literature
  • Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)
    Index to articles on aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and more. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Points of View Reference Center
    Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
  • Political Science Abstracts (Worldwide)
    Index to articles in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/ policy. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Popline
    Index with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.
  • Population Index on the Web
    Covers demography from 1986-2000; for 1937-1985, see Population Index available through JSTOR.
  • Primary Search (EBSCO)
    Provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Professional Collection (Gale)
    Includes more than 300 full text journals for educators.Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)
    Designed for professional educators. Access to nearly 520 high quality education journals. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Project Muse
    Arts, humanities. social sciences and mathematics
  • ProQuest Congressional
    Guide to locating congressional publications, bills, testimony, etc. from 1789 to current.
  • PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)
    Full-text database covering general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
  • Psychology Journals (ProQuest)
    Full-text of nearly 300 academic journals in psychology and related fields.
  • PsycINFO (ProQuest)
    Indexes more than 1,400 journals on psychology, psychiatry, sociology, education, linguistics and physiology. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • PubMed -- Public Version
    Index to articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.
  • PubMed -- UMD Students, Staff & Faculty
    Indexes articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care. Full text access to articles subscribed to by UMD Library. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • PubMed Bookshelf
    Access to approximately 60 biomedical texts through NCBI
  • Reference USA
    Company information, marketing. Does not work with Internet Explorer.
  • RefWorks
    An online bibliographic management tool
  • Regional Business News (EBSCO)
    A collection of full text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Research Insight
    Accesses over 20 years of financial data for U.S. companies. Available on the UMD campus network only
  • RIA Checkpoint - Tax Research
    Online version of the RIA Tax Research Service.
  • Royal Society of Chemistry Journals
    Index and text of RSC journals - Chemistry
  • Russian/NIT Publications Online
    30 Russian newspapers accessible for browsing, searching and analyzing.
  • Sage eReference
    Electronic reference books published by Sage.
  • SAGE Premier
    Provides access to 485+ SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfile to 1999.
  • Sanborn Digital Maps of Minnesota
    Digital access to large-scale maps of Minnesota towns and cities.
  • SBRnet
    Resources related to the business of sports including industry-developed market research, government statistics, facility reports and news, international market publications, customized research, and directories.
  • Science Citation Index
    Available in paper from 1966 to 1995. Call number is: Index Q1.A3 S44X. Use Web of Science, the electronic version, for the years 1993 to present.
  • Science Direct (Elsevier)
    Full text of selected journals and selected reference books published by Elsevier. Full text indexing available for all Elsevier journals from v. 1, issue 1.
  • Science Online
    Access to the world's largest multi-disciplinary scientific society journal
  • Science Reference Center (EBSCO)
    Research database provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. Full text for 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Science.gov
    Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
  • SciFinder
    Comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents. Web version available. If you are off campus or using the campus wireless network, you must use the web version. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Scitopia.org
    A gateway to the research most cited in scholarly work and patents. Scitopia.org searches the entire electronic libraries of the leading voices in major science and technology disciplines.
  • SciVal Funding
    Provides information about funding (grants & awards) opportunties in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, European Commission, Australia, Ireland, Singapore, India, South Africa, and New Zealand.
  • Scopus
    An abstract and citation database with a single search platform searching content from ScienceDirect, Scopus, SciTopics, and relevant Web content.
  • Scribner Writers Series
    Full-text essays on 510 writers
  • SEC Filings and Reports
    Reports submitted to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
  • Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection
    Full-text searchable newpaper, pamphlets and books collected by Reverend Charles Burney. Contains 1,270 titles. To see an Excel spreadsheet of the titles and dates of coverage go to http://www.gale.cengage.com/tlist/burney.xls
  • SIAM Journals
    Index and text of Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics Journals. Mathematics, computing and statistics
  • Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974
    Diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
    1970-1998 available in print in the Index area (Annex, 2nd floor; call number H1.A3 S67x). Use Web of Science, the electronic version, for 1993-present.
  • Social Sciences Subject Search (ProQuest)
    Searches across the social science based databases UMD subscribes to through ProQuest.
  • Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Indexes current research articles focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO)
    Indexes articles in the social work profession and areas of service. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Indexes articles in sociology and social policy. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Something About the Author Backfile (Gale)
    Online access to SATA, examining the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults. Volumes published from Vol. 1, 1971 to Vol. 199, 2009.
  • Song Index
    This database provides access to many of the songs that the UMD Library has in various song anthologies. You will not find the music or the words here, just the call number and book title.
  • SourceOECD
    Online full-text of all publications and serials from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) from 1998 to present; also includes a large collection of data sets
  • SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Network)
    SPIN is a computer database with detailed information about thousands of federal, nonfederal, and international funding opportunities.
  • SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
    Sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, disabled persons, physical fitness, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport and exercise psychology, recreation, allied health, occupational health and therapy, public health and more. References from journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference proceedings. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • SpringerLink
    Interdisciplinary, full-text database of Springer and Kluwer journals.
  • SRDS (Standard Rate & Data Service)
    Provides media rates and data for the advertising industry, listing advertising rates, editorial or programming content, circulation and other basic information for a variety of advertising media, including radio, television, newspapers, and consumer magazines. Also includes demographic data for DMAs in its "Local Market Audience Analyst" service. SRDS only works with Internet Explorer.
  • St. Paul Pioneer Press (Newsstand)
    Articles from the St. Paul Pioneer Press. From 2010 to current.
  • Star Tribune (NewsStand)
    Access Star Tribune articles from 1986 - present. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Star Tribune (recent: Minneapolis)
    Index and text of last 3-4 days
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    Statistical tables on United States topics
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States (Online Edition)
    The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
  • StatRef
    Full-text access to selected medical and drug textbooks including current editions of Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Current Ob/Gyn Diagnosis & Treatment, Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM IV), and Schwartz's Principles of Surgery.
  • SWOT Analyses (BSI via EBSCO)
  • Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
    The Synthesis Library contains 50- to 100-page "Lectures" that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by an expert contributor. in various fields of engineering and computer sciences.
  • Tax Law Information
    Provides information on U.S. tax law.
  • Times (London) Digital Archive
    Full text of the Times of London from 1785 to 1985, including advertisements, letters to the editor, and all other content of the newspaper, with the ability to limit one's search by section of the newspaper and content type.
  • TOXLINE
    Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, TOXLINE provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology. This version of TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • TRAN
    Index on transportation and law enforcement topics.
  • TRID
    TRID combines (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
  • Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
    Reference covering the areas of applied chemistry, industrial chemistry, and chemical engineering.
  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
    Comprehensive directory information for over 186,000 magazines, newspapers, and journals, international in scope, and in all formats. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • UM Twin Cities e-Journal Search Page
    UM Twin Cities BioMed library and accessible to UMD Pharmacy and Medical personnel
  • Wall Street Journal (NewsStand)
    Access articles from the WSJ (1984 - present). Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Washington Post (NewsStand)
    Access articles from The Washington Post, 1996 - present. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Water Resources Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Index to articles and reports in the hydrological sciences Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Web of Knowledge
    You can search all three of the following databases at one time: "Web of Science", "Biological Abstracts" and "BIOSIS Previews". Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Web of Science
    Online versions of ISI's citation indexes--Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Wiley Online Library
    Index and select full-text of journals and books published by John Wiley & Sons.
  • Women's Studies International (EBSCO)
    Provides access to Women's Studies core disciplines and to the latest studies in feminist research.Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • World Book
    Provides access to the online encyclopedia as well as an atlas, dictionary and "Explore Minnesota" section. Entries can include encyclopedia articles; maps; tables; sounds; pictures; back in time; and special reports.
  • World Development Indicators
    WDI presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
  • World FactBook (CIA)
    Foreign countries - demographics, economies, climate, geography, government, military, etc.
  • WorldCat -- UMD Students, Staff & Faculty
    U.S. and International library holdings
  • WorldCat Collection Analysis
    WorldCat Collection Analysis is a Web-based service that provides analysis and comparison of library collections based on holdings information contained in the WorldCat database.
  • WorldCat.org -- Public Version
    U.S. and International library holdings
  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
    Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, 12th Edition, presents easy-to-understand information on 193 countries and dependencies from around the world in 5 volumes.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Index to articles in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/ policy Find It full text retrieval enabled






Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip