Research Guides: Criminology Research Guide: Home

Criminal Justice Statistics and Web Resources

Finding Government Information during the 2025 Administration Transition
This guide will point to resources that identify and track steps taken by the Trump administration and Congress to scale back or eliminate access to federal government information. It also provides links to groups performing data and website rescue.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Statistics on crime, courts, sentencing and other topics from publications of the Bureau of Justice Statistics.
Bureau of Justice Statistics - Criminal Victimization
Statistics on crime victims, costs of crime, nature and circumstances of crime and other factors
City-Data.com
A statistic and content aggregator of remarkable power, City-Data offers an easy way to get a snapshot of a community.
Crime in the United States (FBI)
Part of Unified Crime Reports; includes statistics for reported crimes such as murder, rape, robbery, aggravated assault, burglary, larceny, motor vehicle theft, and arson at state, county, and city levels; nation-wide arrest tables.
Criminal Justice Statistics
Data collections for Jails, Federal Correction Departments, Sexual Violence, Juvenile Placement, and other statistics related to incarceration.
Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Data Reporting
State data on reported crimes, arrests, probation, correctional populations, the triennial Minnesota crime survey, justice system expenditures, and more.
Minnesota Statistical Analysis Center
The Minnesota Statistical Analysis Center (SAC) collects, analyzes and shares criminal and juvenile justice data. The Minnesota SAC is supported by the U. S. Justice Department's Bureau of Justice Statistics. There are currently SACs in 53 states and territories. T
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
Provides datasets that can help guide the exploration and extension of research ideas for topics connecting technology and criminology.
National Institute of Justice
The National Institute of Justice is a part of the Office of Justice Programs under the U.S. Department of Justice and is responsible for research, development, and evaluation. They have statistics and information for a variety of criminal justice topics.
NCJRS Criminal Justice Statistics
links to sites with statistics on wide range of topics related to criminal justice including drug enforcement, firearm possession and on different types of crime such as computer crime, insurance crime, crimes against children, etc. .
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Briefing Book
"The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information via OJJDP's website to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system."
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Last updated in 2013. Comprehensive collection of statistical tables from various sources covering a wide range of criminal justice topics including characteristics of offenders, nature of offenses, judicial processing, and persons in correctional programs.
Southern Oregon University Research Guide for Criminal Justice
A comprehensive and useful research guide from Hannon Library at the Southern Oregon University. Please note that not all resources will be accessible UMD library users due to licensing.

Unified Crime Reports

Unified Crime Reports (UCR)

Crime in the U.S. (UCR)
Hate Crimes (UCR)
Law Enforcement Offices Killed & Assaulted (UCR)
National Incidedent Based-Reporting System (UCR)
Unified Crime Reports
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program has been the starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation.

Legal Resources & Government Information

Federal Register
Daily official publication of Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and of Executive Orders and other presidential documents

FindLaw
Use the "Learn About the Law" section.

Westlaw (Thomson Reuters)
Provides access to federal and state case law, statutes, regulations, law reviews, journals, American Law Reports, and the American Jurisprudence 2nd Edition legal encyclopedia. This resource also provides access to more than 4,900 news and business information publications, as well as the Westlaw Company Investigator.
ProQuest Congressional
Searches the full text of bills, laws, bill tracking reports, and legislative histories, and searches the abstracts, titles, indexing information, and other bibliographic data for publications produced by the United States Congress.

Finding Government Information during the 2025 Administration Transition research guide
This guide will point to resources that identify and track steps taken by the Trump administration and Congress to scale back or eliminate access to federal government information. It also provides links to groups performing data and website rescue.

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Criminology Research Guide

Social Sciences Librarian

Criminal Justice Statistics and Web Resources

Unified Crime Reports

Unified Crime Reports (UCR)

Legal Resources & Government Information