These resources have information on marriages and families for most of the countries. Information varies from country to country.
- American immigrant cultures: builders of a nation
Levinson, David. (1997). American immigrant cultures: builders of a nation. New York: Simon & Schuster Macmillan.
REF E184 .A1 A63448 1997 Vols. 1-2
Discusses the ethnic groups in America, some of the cultures discuss family life.
- Countries and their cultures
Ember, Melvin. (2001). Countries and their cultures. New York: Macmillan Reference. REF GN307 .C68 2001
Discusses all aspects of a culture including history and ethnic relations; food and economy; social; political; gender roles; socialization; religion, death; medicine, etc. with a bibliography at the end. (NOTE: You can use Search box within this publication or click on eTable of Contents, choose a volume and click on + sign in list to choose your country).
- Craighead’s international business, travel, and relocation guide to ... countries
Craighead’s international business, travel, and relocation guide to ... countries. (2004/05). 12th ed. Detroit: Gale Research Inc.
REF HF 5549.5 .E45 D56 2004/2005 Vols. 1-2
Orientation to a country for people doing business or traveling in a country.
CultureGrams. (2007). Provo, UT: CultureGrams. REF GT150 .C85 2007 Vols. 1-4
Provides information about country; people; customs, lifestyle; and society.
- Encyclopedia of holidays and celebrations
Dennis, M. (2006). Encyclopedia of holidays and celebrations : a country-by-country guide. New York : Facts on File. REF GT3930 .E53 2006 Vols. 1-3
Provides basic information about the country, covers public/legal holidays as well as religious holidays. It also may include information on birth, coming of age, marriage, and death.
- Encyclopedia of medical anthroplogy : health and illness in the world's cultures.
Ember, Carol R, & Ember, Melvin. (2004). Encyclopedia of medical anthropology : health and ilnnes in the world's cultures. New York : Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers. REF Gn307 .E23 2004 Vols. 1-2
In particular Vol. 2 provides country and/or ethnic group information on medical practitioners, classificaiton and treatment of diseases, sexuality and reproduction, and health through the life cyce.
- Encyclopedia of sex and gender : men and women in the world’s cultures
Ember, Carol R. & Ember, Melvin. (2003). Encyclopedia of sex and gender : men and women in the world’s cultures. New York : Springer. REF HQ16 .E539 2003 Vols. 1-2.
Covers conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between genders, and sexuality.
- Encyclopedia of world cultures
Levinson, David. (1991-1994). Encyclopedia of world cultures. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall. REF GN307 .E53 1991 V. 1-10
Focus on ethnic cultures providing information on history; economy; kinship; marriage and family; sociopolitical organization; and religion and expressive culture.
- Food cultures of the world encyclopedia
Albala, Ken. (2011). Food cultures of the world encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood. Online
- Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America
Dassanowsy, Robert von. (2000). Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America. 2nd ed. Detroit : Gale Group. The UMD library has the first edition in paper. The call number is: REF E184.A1 G14 1995 Vols. 1-2
Provides information on child-care provisions.
- The global manager's guide to living and working abroad
Mercer. (2009). The global manager's guide to living and working abroad : Eastern Europe and Asia. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Praeger/ABC-CLIO. REF HF5362.55 .G559 2009
Mercer. (2009). The gloabal manager's guide to living and working abroad : Western Eurorpe and the Americas. Westport, Conn. : Praeger Publishers. REF HF5382.55 .G56 2009
Guide to prepare you for moving to another country. Covers personal safety and security issues;medical issues; environment issues; economic overview; sociocultural environment; demographic/workforce overview; workplace culture; financial issues; recreation and entertainment; housing, etc.
- The Greenwood encyclopedia of children’s issues worldwide
Epstein, Irving. (2008). The Greenwood encyclopedia of children’s issues worldwide. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press. REF HQ767.84 .G74 2008 Vols. 1-6.
Cover an overview of issues that affect children as well as education; play and recreation; child labor; family; health; laws and legal status; religious life; child abuse and neglect; growing up in the 21st century as well a a rsource guide.
- The Greenwood encyclopedia of women’s issues worldwide
Walter, Lynn. (2003). The Greenwood encyclopedia of women’s issues worldwide. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood. REF HQ1154 .G74 2003 Vols. 1-6.
Covers education; employment; family and sexuality; health; politics and law; religon and spirituality; and violence as it affects women.
- International Encyclopedia of Adolescence
Arnett, Jeffrey Jensen. (2007). International encyclopedia of adolescence. New York : Routledge/Taylor & Francis, 2007. REF HQ796 .I58 2007 Vols. 1-2
Discusses beliefs; gender issues, family relationships; friends; love; education; work; and other aspects dealing with adolescence.
- International handbook on gender roles
Adler, Leonore Loeb. (1993). International handbook on gender roles. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press. REF HQ1075 .I58 1993
Overview of gender roles in infancy and early childhood; school years; young adulthood; adulthood; and old age for some countries.
- Key indicators of the labour market
Key indicators of the labour market. (2011). 7th ed. Geneva : International Labour Organization. The UMD owns 6th ed., 2009 online and the 3rd ed, 2003 in Ref HD5701 .K49 and 2nd ed, 2001/02 in regular collection (HD5701 .K49).
Covers employment and unemployment statistics; educational attainment; wages; and poverty and income indicators.
- Routledge international encyclopedia of women : global women’s issues and knowledge
Kramarae, Cheris and Spender, Dale. (2000). Routledge international encyclopedia of women : global women’s issues and knowledge. New York : Routledge. REF HQ1115 .R69 2000 vols. 1-4
Covers the llifestyle of over 500 culture groups including rites of passage, interpersonal relations, living conditions, and family life.
- Street food about the world : An ecyclopedia of food and culture
Kraig, Bruce. (2013). Street food around the world : an encyclopedia of food and culture. Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO. REF TX370 .S77 2013
List of countries with reciepe(s) of street food including recipes.
- Unique games and sports around the world : a reference guide.
Corbett, Doris. (2001). Unique games and sports around the world: a reference guide. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press. REF GV1201.38 .U55 2001
This book describes and provides the rules for over 300 diverse games and sports from many countries worldwide.
- World Factbook (CIA)
National Foreign Assessment Center (U.S.), & United States. Central Intelligence Agency. (2009). The World Factbook. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency. Online from 1989-2009 and REF G122 .U56A 2008 & G122 .U56A (1989-2006) in regular collection.
Provides facts on population, age, ethnic groups and health.
- Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life
Gall, Timothy L. (1998). Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life. (2nd ed). Detroit: Gale. REF GN333 .W67 2009 Vols. 1-5
These four volumes cover Africa; Americas; Asia and Oceania; and Europe. Provides information on folklore; religions; holidays; rites of passage; interpersonal relations; living conditions; family life, clothing; food; education; work; entertainment; social problems, etc.
- Worldmark encyclopedia of national economies
Pendergast, Sara. (2002). Worldmark encyclopedia of national economies. Detroit : Gale Group/Thomson Learning. REF HC15 .W675 2002 Vols. 1-4
Provides an overview of the country's economy; types of businesses; and working conditions.
- Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations
Gall, Timothy L. and Hobby, Jeneen M. (2007). Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations. (12th ed.). Detroit, Mich. : Thomson Gale. UMD owns the 10th ed, 2001 in REF G63 .W67 2001x and the 8th ed, 1995 and 6th ed,1984 in the regular collection G63 .W67.
The volumes cover Africa; Americas; Asia and Oceania; and Europe.
- You are cordially invited to weddings : dating & love customs of cultures worldwide, including royalty
Mordecai, Carolyn. (1999). You are cordially invited to weddings : dating & love customs of cultures worldwide, including royalty. Phoenix, Ariz. : Nittany Pub. REF GT2690 .M67 1999
- You eat what you are : people, culture and food traditions
Barer-Stein, Thelma. (1999). You eat what you are : people, culture and food traditions. Willowdale, Ont. : Firefly. REF GT2860 .B374 1999X
Discusses foods, meals, and special customs.
Kathryn A. Martin Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001