MGTS 4481: Strategic Management
For Geoffrey Bell
Strategic Management -- MGTS 4481
Suggested Sources for Company and Industrial Analysis
Business Insights: Essentials
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=12 This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews. Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews.
Business Source Premier
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
In our various business periodical indexes, search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful DataMonitor reports by company name.
Passport (GMID) from Euromonitor
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=659 This is our best source for international marketing information. Here are narrative reports and statistics on consumer products, consumer lifestyles, and retailing structures of 50-60 major nations, including the United States. 4,000 international company reports can be found here too. Use the keyword “Text” search option located on the upper left corner of the screen.
Lexis Nexis Academic
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=14 Search for periodicals on topics, and make sure to find a Hoovers In-Depth Company Reports in the “Business” section of the database.
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=261 Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data.
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=795 Database containing over 600 consumer product and service marketing reports. Most are US and UK based. They are full of amazing detail and analysis.
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=668 More excellent financial data, and make sure to look at current and archived Analyst Research.
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=656 Good company information, and make sure to look at the broad industry overviews. These are excellent.
Our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 20 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.
New York Times
Wall Street Journal
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination.
Other Suggested Websites
Companies and Financials
This is an annotated list of major sources that can provide information on companies in periodicals, books, special databases, or on the internet, by using search engines like Google. Company websites can be an excellent source of information.
Hundreds of useful free websites categorized by industry.
How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another:
And, note these Business Reference FAQ's:
NAICS Classification and NAICS Search
Comparing Companies -- Financial Ratios
Our featured Financial Ratio Database:
BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Bizminer is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry. Types of reports:
- Industry Financial Profiles
- U.S. & Local Market Research Reports (includes business failure rates)
- Area Demographic Profiles
- Sole Proprietor/Startup Profit & Loss
- Local Market Vitality Profile
BizMiner Video Tutorials
And, consult books in our Reference Collection like this:
Plunkett's Entertainment & Media Industry Almanac 2014
If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:
If you are writing a marketing Plans Report, you will need to cite your sources. Note that you will find useful information in:
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001