This is the "Home" page of the "MKTG 4795, Special Topics: Hospitality and Tourism Marketing, Spring 2014, Linda Rochford" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MKTG 4795, Special Topics: Hospitality and Tourism Marketing, Spring 2014, Linda Rochford  

Last Updated: Apr 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.d.umn.edu/content.php?pid=359881 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Course Guide

MKTG 4795, Special Topics: Hospitality and Tourism Marketing --  Spring 2014

 

For Linda Rochford
Special Topics: Hospitality and Tourism Marketing, MKTG 4795.
Spring 2014

 

Selected Sources for Hospitality and Tourism Marketing


Business Periodical Databases
Other Periodical Databases
Marketing Databases
Search Engines
Hospitality Web Sources
Tourism Web Sources
Specific Web Sites

 topBusiness Periodical Databases

Business Insights:  Essentials

Business Insights: Essentials
Company & industry news linked to electronic reference books. Contains histories, market shares, rankings, industry surveys, and investment reports.  Note, use company, industry overviews and article search options. Search for articles and reports with terms like Hospitality, Tourism, Restaurants, Travel, Hotels, Dining, and etc.

 

 

 

Business Source Premier
Full text of over 3,400 business periodicals. This is our largest business database. It provides our best access to scholarly journals. It also has special reports, including "SWOT" analysis. Note the "company profiles" tab, which will allow you to access over 5,000 Datamonitor Company Profiles.  Do keyword searches for articles. Also contains thousands of industry overview reports from Datamonitor. Reports are both country specific and global.  Search for articles and reports with terms like Hospitality, Tourism, Restaurants, Travel, Hotels, Dining, and etc.

 

Lexis Nexis

A massive database of full text articles. Strong in the areas of news, law, and business. Also contains many trade publications.Search the Business tab to find Hoover In-Dept Reports on a company.

Use the 'Power Search" mode and search for keywords.

 

NewsStand
Contains the full text of newspaper articles from over 350 titles. Provides our only source of electronic access to the Wall Street Journal.  Search for keywords.

top Other Periodical Databases

google scholar

Google Scholar
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles. Sources are linked to UMD Library electronic holdings via "Find It."   Search for keywords.

 

MasterFile Premier

MasterFile Premier
Contains popular and general interest magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Many business topics can be researched here as well. Over 2600 titles are indexed, with over 1950 titles available in full text.

Duluth News Tribune

Duluth News Tribune
A searchable archive of the Duluth News-Tribune, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local business.  This database at
branches of the Duluth Public Library.  You can search, for example, at the Mt Royal Branch for free with out a library card.  If you have a DPL card you can search online from any computer.

Duluth News Tribune

Free version of The Duluth News Tribune        This versionallows access for only recent stories.  Clearing privacy settings will allow additional access.

Archives & Special Collections

Our Martin Library Archvies and Special Collections may have files on your tourist site that may provide some historical insight.  For the most part, current data would not be available here.


top Marketing Databases

Business Analyst Online 

 

Business Analyst Online (BAO) is a Web-based solution that makes custom site evaluation and market analysis fast and easy. Utilizing extensive demographic, consumer spending, and business data, BAO provides detailed information and insights about consumers, their lifestyles and buying behavior, and businesses in your market area. With BAO, you can:

  • Analyze trade areas, competition, supply and demand
  • Evaluate sites
  • Determine population within a specific drive-time or distance
  • Identify and segment customers
  • Reach your customers more effectively
  • Explore markets in the US
  • Click here to create an account and start using.http://www.d.umn.edu/~jvileta/FAQs/businessanalystonline.html
To start using this database, I recommend viewing this  short video:
FAQ's are here:
More videos on how to use:
If you create an account properly, reports are generated at no charge...if you see a request for payment, you did not created your account properly

Global Marketing Information Database (GMID)
An integrated on-line information system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets, and consumers. The GMID contains over a million demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. To access thousands of international company profiles in the GMID, click on "Browse Reports," and then click on "Company Profiles."

Use Text Search mode.  Note that you can filter results by country, category, etc.

Search for reports with terms like Hospitality, Tourism, Restaurants, Travel, Hotels, Dining, and etc.

 

 

Local Market Audience Analyst ™

by


Local Market Audience Analyst ™

Local Market Audience Analyst is the next generation consumer market research tool that delivers sophisticated demographic, segmentation, and targeting data for media planners and consumer marketers.

  • Quickly learn about new markets
  • Better understand target audiences, their behaviors, and lifestyles
  • Access detailed reports and maps
Click a report to the left to get started, or click here to view video tutorials.

Market Profile Reports
      – explore by market, gaining insight into the demographic makeup and high-indexing behaviors of individual DMAs or counties
Lifestyle Analysis Reports
      – explore by lifestyle behavior, gaining insight into related behaviors, cross-sell/synergy opportunities, and market potential
Demographics Reports
      – explore by demographic variable, gaining market-by-market insight into where to find your key audiences.
PRIZM Reports
        – explore using industry-standard PRIZM groupings, gaining unique insight into the household makeup and lifestyle traits of your target audiences.

Watch this video to better understand this database.

NOTE: Local Market Analyst works in Internet Explorer ONLY.

SRDS Service Guides
SRDS PRIZM Groups Definitions
SRDS Claritas Prizm

DMA Profile & Maps  
Great demographic data on all the large DMA metro areas.

Mintel Reports
Database containing over 600 consumer product and service marketing reports. Most are US and UK based. They are full of amazing detail and analysis.
Use keyword searches. You may find some particular products mentioned along with consumer demographics and psychographics.

Search for reports with terms like Hospitality, Tourism, Restaurants, Travel, Hotels, Dining, and etc.

 

Reference USA
Reference USA

Reference USA
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination.

ReferenceUSA FAQ and Tutorials

How to Use ReferenceUSA

top Search Engines

 

google

 

 

The Google is the first place to go to search the web.

 

"Bing" is MicroSoft's much improved Search Engine

 

Citation Information

How to Cite your Sources

 

 

 top

Hospitality Web Sources -- a selected list

(Additional Hospitality links like these can be found on search engines like Google or Bing.)

Hospitality Industry (Wikipedia)

Hospitality Companies in the United States (Wikipedia)

Hospitality Minnesota

Hospitality Industry.com

Hospitality.Net

Hospitality Links

Hospitality Industry at a Glance

National Restaurant Association

Professional Convention Management Association

Duluth, MN Hospitality

 

 topTourism Web Sources -- a selected list

(Additional Tourism links like these can be found on search engines like Google or Bing.)

Tourism (Wikipedia)

Explore Minnesota

Minnesota's Tourism Industry

University of Minnesota Tourism Center

Visit Duluth

Tourism in the United States (Wikipedia)

United States Tourism Statistics

Office of Travel and Tourism Industries

World Tourism Links

Tourism Research Links

Tourism and Hospitality Research (journal description)

Tourism and Hospitality Research (online access)

 

 

Specific Web Sites:

 

Bearskin Lodge

Bent Paddle Brewing

Bentleyville

Betty's Pies

Black Bear Casino

Canal Park Brewing

Enger Tower

Fitgers Brewery

Giant's Ridge

Gooseberry Falls

Grandma's Marathon

Granite Peak Skie Area

Great Lakes Aquarium

The Inn on Lake Superior

Lake Superior Brewing

Loon Lake Lodge

Lutsen

Mall of America

Minneapolis Institute of Arts

Minnesota State Fair

Minnesota Zoo

Segway Magical History Tours

Spirit Mountain

Split Rock Lighthouse

US Hockey Hall of Fame

We Fest

Wilderness Hockey

 

 

 

 

 

Business Librarian

Profile Image
Jim Vileta
Jim is offline.
Jim's Office Location Request items for purchase
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSN
Contact Info
e-mail jvileta@d.umn.edu
phone 218.726.6157
fax 218.726.7481

L272 Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
Send Email
 






Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip