This is the "Home" page of the "Northeast Minnesota Historical Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Northeast Minnesota Historical Center   Tags: collections  

The University of Minnesota Duluth Library's Northeast Minnesota Historical Center is a regional history archives for public research use.
Last Updated: May 20, 2013 URL: http://libguides.d.umn.edu/nemhc Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

HOURS

Regular Hours

Monday - Friday

8:00am - 12:00pm

1:15pm - 4:30pm

 

Saturday - Sunday

Closed

 

Exceptions

The Center will be closed for meetings on the following days:

Thursday 5/9 closed at 3:30pm

Friday 5/10 closed at 4pm

 

                           

 

 

 

 

                                              

             

  

 

Find Us

We are located in:
Annex, Room 202
UMD Library

If you would like to visit the Center, come through the library's main entrance and proceed to your right where you will see a hanging glass sculpture with stairs and elevators - again to the right. Go up one level to the second floor and look toward your left for a ceiling sign directing you to the library annex.

 

Using the Center

The University of Minnesota Duluth Library's Northeast Minnesota Historical Center is a regional history archives. The Center collects records to document St. Louis, Lake, Cook and Carlton counties. The majority of holdings date between the 1890s and 1930s. Area history is represented in categories of social history, development of Duluth, notable Duluthians, and Duluth-Superior port development. The Center is available to meet the research needs of UMD faculty and students and also the general public. Our collections are not well suited to the needs of family history research or K-12 students.

Research resources at the Center include map and photograph collections, architectural records, manuscript collections, family papers, business and organizational records, oral histories, serials, books, and pamphlets. The Center houses the paper-based archives collections of the St. Louis County Historical Society.

Collections are housed in closed stacks. Materials are not available for browsing or borrowing and must be used in the Center’s reading room. For your convenience, please contact Center staff in advance of a visit to determine if there are resources pertinent to your research. Prior contact will allow us to identify and retrieve materials for you.

Please contact us by email or telephone to begin your research; or see the Find Information tab on this page for links to a variety of information resources including online access to our photograph collections.

 

Use Fees and Permissions

Use of reproductions of materials from our collections is subject to approval by Center staff and may include payment of use fees.

 

Donating Records

We are happy to consider donations at any time. If you are interested in donating records to the Center please see our contact information at the top of this page. Staff can indicate whether this is the appropriate repository for records and the best steps for their placement. Donations become the property of the Center and copyrights are transferred to the Center through a signed donor form.

 

Contact Us

Northeast Minnesota Historical Center
University of Minnesota Duluth Library
Annex 202
416 Library Drive
Duluth, Minnesota 55812-3001

Phone: (218) 726-8526

Patricia Maus
Email: pmaus@d.umn.edu

Mags David
Email: mdavid@d.umn.edu

Take a Look

The National Store or Hunter block, 31 W. Superior St., Duluth, photograph by Hugh McKenzie, c.1915

More images from our collection are available online through the Minnesota Digital Library at







Site Coordinator: UMD Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip