This is the "Home" page of the "HCM 4570: Quality and Patient Safety in Healthcare, Jill Klingner, Spring 2010" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HCM 4570: Quality and Patient Safety in Healthcare, Jill Klingner, Spring 2010  

Last Updated: Mar 23, 2010 URL: http://libguides.d.umn.edu/content.php?pid=98812 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Course Guide

HCM 4570 Quality & Patient Safety in Healthcare

For Jill M. Klingner
 HCM 4570 

Spring 2010

 

Selected Sources for Research


Business Periodical Databases
Other Periodical Databases
Search Engines

LSBE indoors









topBusiness Periodical Databases



Business and Company Resource Center
Company & industry news linked to electronic reference books. Contains histories, market shares, rankings, industry surveys, and investment reports.  For this assignment, search for articles by keywords.

 

For this database, and the databases below,
 begin your search using either
"Massachusetts Caritas Christi"
or just "Caritas Christi"and other topics of your choice. Because they area associated with a number of hospitals, you may want to search   caritas and hospital  
or  caritas and [other keyword]



Business Source Premier
Full text of over 3,400 business periodicals. This is our largest business database. It provides our best access to scholarly journals. It also has special reports, including "SWOT" analysis. Note the "company profiles" tab, which will allow you to access over 5,000 Datamonitor Company Profiles. For this assignment search for articles by keywords.






Lexis Nexis
A massive database of full text articles. Strong in the areas of news, law, and business. Also contains many trade publications.Search the Business tab to find Hoover In-Dept Reports on a company. For this assignment use the "Power Search" option and search for keywords.  Limit by years, and select "Major World Publications."

NewsStand
Contains the full text of newspaper articles from over 350 titles. Provides our only source of electronic access to the Wall Street Journal. Use the advanced search with keywords of your choice.


top Other Periodical Databases

google scholar

Google Scholar
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles. Sources are linked to UMD Library electronic holdings via "Find It."  Results can be limited by date range.

This is a Key Source, and first best place to search.

 



MasterFile Premier

EBSCO MegaFile
EBSCO MegaFILE's subject strength is its wide coverage, providing indexing and fulltext for scholarly journal articles on every topic, in addition to general and popular magazines and business-related periodicals. 







top Search Engines


 FEDSTATS -- official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government. Use it to track economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more. Access official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies without having to know in advance which agency produces them.
google
Google
The first place to go to search the web.
Google Government
Google Government  This is subset of Google that searches Federal and State Web Sites.
Bing

Bing Search
MicroSoft's much improved Search Engine

Health Data Tools and Statistics

Health Data Tools and Statistics  Links to health statistics and data sets as well as resources to support data collection.



Business Librarian

Profile Image
Jim Vileta
Jim's Office Location
 






Site Coordinator: UMD Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip