This is the "Home" page of the "MGTS 4481: Strategic Management, Fall 2014, Allen Harmon" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MGTS 4481: Strategic Management, Fall 2014, Allen Harmon  

Last Updated: Sep 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.d.umn.edu/content.php?pid=93831 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Course Guide

MGTS 4481: Strategic Management

 

For Allen Harmon
Strategic Management -- MGTS 4481
Fall 2014

 

Suggested Sources for Company and Industrial Analysis 


Business Insights: Essentials
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=12
This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews.  Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews.


Business Source Premier
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=260
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
In our various business periodical indexes, search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful DataMonitor reports by company name.

PassPort (GMID) from Euromonitor
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=659
This is our best source for international marketing information. Here are narrative reports and statistics on consumer products, consumer lifestyles, and retailing structures of 50-60 major nations, including the United States. 4,000 international company reports can be found here too. Use the keyword “Text” search option located on the upper left corner of the screen.


Lexis Nexis Academic

http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=14
Search for periodicals on topics, and make sure to find a Hoovers In-Depth Company Reports in the “Business” section of the database.

Mergent Online
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=261
Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data. 

Mintel Reports

http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=795  Database containing over 600 consumer product and service marketing reports. Most are US and UK based. They are full of amazing detail and analysis. 


MorningStar
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=668
More excellent financial data, and make sure to look at current and archived Analyst Research. 


NetAdvantage

http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=656
Good company information, and make sure to look at the broad industry overviews. These are excellent. 


NewsStand

Browse:
http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=317&SQ=*&vDBID=1906

Search:
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=558

Our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 20 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.


Economist
https://login.libpdb.d.umn.edu:2443/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7C3210&v=2.1&u=mnauduluth&it=aboutJournal&p=AONE&sw=w

New York Times
http://proquest.umi.com/pqdlink?RQT=318&TS=1234574698&clientId=3285&VType=PQD&VName=PQD&VInst=PROD&pmid=7818&PageNum=1

Wall Street Journal

http://proquest.umi.com/pqdlink?RQT=318&TS=1234574761&clientId=3285&VType=PQD&VName=PQD&VInst=PROD&pmid=7510&PageNum=1

Reference USA
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=158
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination.


Other Suggested Websites

Companies and Financials
http://www.d.umn.edu/~jvileta/companies.html
This is an annotated list of major sources that can provide information on companies in periodicals, books, special databases, or on the internet, by using search engines like Google. Company websites can be an excellent source of information.

Industry Links
http://www.d.umn.edu/~jvileta/industry.html
Hundreds of useful free websites categorized by industry.

 

Company Information

Company Annual Reports

Company Histories

Company Information

Company Overview Reports

How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another:

 Comparing Companies

And, note these Business Reference FAQ's:

Industry Information

Industry Overviews (Reports)

NAICS Classification and NAICS Search

What is NAICS?

How to search for NAICS Numbers?

SWOT Analysis

How to find SWOT Analysis

Comparing Companies -- Financial Ratios

Sources of Ratios


Our featured Financial Ratio Databases

eStatement Studies

eStatement Studies is the online version of the RMA Annual Statement Studies. The Annual Statement Studies are a source of composite performance metrics derived directly from the financial statements of financial institutions’ borrowers and prospects. These financial statements come directly to RMA from its member institutions, which get their data straight from their customers. Includes Financial Ratio Benchmarks, Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures, and individual NAICS downloads to Excel®.

BizMinerBizMiner

BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Bizminer is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry. Types of reports:

  • Industry Financial Profiles
  • U.S.  & Local Market Research Reports (includes business failure rates)
  • Area Demographic Profiles
  • Sole Proprietor/Startup Profit & Loss
  • Local Market Vitality Profile

BizMiner Video Tutorials

 

And, consult books in our Reference Collection like these:

 

Manufacturing and Distribution USA Manufacturing and Distribution USA: REF HD 9721 .M364 2006 (3 vols.)
[Electronic Version  (2009(2011) (2013)




If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:

Presentation Skills

 

Business Librarian

Profile Image
Jim Vileta
Jim is offline.
Jim's Office Location Request items for purchase
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSN
Contact Info
e-mail jvileta@d.umn.edu
phone 218.726.6157
fax 218.726.7481

L272 Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
Send Email
 






Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip