This is the "Home" page of the "MKTG 4751 Retailing For Ahmed F. Maamoun Spring 2013" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MKTG 4751 Retailing For Ahmed F. Maamoun Spring 2013  

Last Updated: Jan 28, 2013 URL: http://libguides.d.umn.edu/content.php?pid=74719 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Course Guide

 

MKTG 4751 Retailing  For Ahmed F. Maamoun Spring 2013      

Finding Books
Business Periodical Databases
Other Periodical Databases
Financial Databases
Marketing Databases
Statistical Databases
Other Databases
Search Engines
ref iconKey Business Reference Books

LSBE indoors

topFinding Books

umd catalog
UMD Catalog (Advanced)
Search for books, government documents, reference books, videos and periodicals by title using the Advanced Search of the UMD Online Catalog. We have over 380,000 books in our Library.
worldcat

WorldCat
Find over 200 MILLION books, government documents, videos found in
thousands of libraries. THIS IS O0UR BEST SOURCE FOR FINDING AND ORDERING MATERIALS THROUGH OUR FREE INTERLIBRARY LOAN SERVICE. Interlibrary Loans often require 1-3 weeks or more to fulfill.

This is the Best source for finding books and accessing them via Inter Library Loan.

 

google book search

Google Book Search
With this exciting and very new service, search for any keywords and discover which books are highly ranked for them. You may be able to find and read a few pages of the the scanned book in context.

A Very good Source -- search full text of over ten million books. When you find a good book here, check our catalog to see if we have it, or access it via our Inter Library Loan System.

 

topBusiness Periodical Databases

Business Insights: Essentials
Company & industry news linked to electronic reference books. Contains histories, market shares, rankings, industry surveys, and investment reports.  Note Company Histories, and rankings and industry overviews in the Advanced Search.

 

This is a Key Source

Business Source Premier
Full text of over 3,400 business periodicals. This is our largest business database. It provides our best access to scholarly journals. It also has special reports, including "SWOT" analysis. Note the "company profiles" tab, which will allow you to access over 5,000 Datamonitor Company Profiles.

This is a Key Source

Lexis Nexis
A massive database of full text articles. Strong in the areas of news, law, and business. Also contains many trade publications.Search the Business tab to find Hoover In-Dept Reports on a company.

This is a Key Source

NewsStand
Contains the full text of newspaper articles from over 350 titles. Provides our only source of electronic access to the Wall Street Journal.

This is a Key Source

Wall Street Journal

Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)
Contains the full-text Wall Street Journal which has extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments and business-oriented news. This database version from Proquest includes business news and analysis, company news, regular columns, special reports, articles on the national and world economy, editorials and opinion, interviews, and Reuters news stories. Excludes charts and free standing tabular data, such as stock tables and other exchange listings.
Full text coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - current

top Other Periodical Databases

Duluth News Tribune

Duluth News Tribune
A searchable archive of the Duluth News-Tribune, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local businesses, business people, state industries, and economic issues. Covers 11/1995 - present.

google scholar

Google Scholar
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles. Sources are linked to UMD Library electronic holdings via "Find It."

This is a Key Source

 

MasterFile Premier

MasterFile Premier
Contains popular and general interest magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Many business topics can be researched here as well. Over 2600 titles are indexed, with over 1950 titles available in full text.

top Financial Databases

google finance Google Finance
Google Finance is an early beta product that offers a broad range of information about North American stocks, mutual funds and public and private companies along with charts, news, and fundamental financial data. FAQ
Mergent Online

Mergent Online
Provides business and financial information for 23,000 U.S. and international companies. Financials for 15 years, balance sheets, income statements "as reported" and can be downloaded to spreadsheet. Includes company overviews, histories financial ratios, and much more. Mergent Online IS OUR BEST SOURCE FOR COMPANY ANNUAL REPORTS.

This is a Key Source

 

Mergent/Moody's Manual Collection Mergent/Moody's Manual Collection
Mergent / Moody's Online Manuals Collection provides extensive historical and current information for public companies worldwide, including history, chronology, acquisitions, mergers, spinoffs, properties, joint ventures, subsidiaries, officers and directors, consolidated income and balance sheets, long term debit, options, and other financial data. Includes the following manuals:

* Industrial Manual since 1920
* OTC Industrial Manual since 1970
* OTC Unlisted Manual since 1986
* Bank & Finance Manual since 1928
* Public Utility Manual since 1914
* Transportation Manual since 1909

MorningStar MorningStar
Provides independent investment analysis of 1500 stocks and 2000 mutual funds. Includes current analyst reports for both particular companies and funds with an eye to what is happening in the industry. This is a highly regarded and unique source of financial information.
MSN Money MSN Money
MSN Money is the comprehensive source for your money and personal finance needs. Read business news, get stock quotes, research investments, track your portfolio and manage your accounts in one place. MSN Money has personal finance planning centers for retirement, college, taxes, insurance, savings, and more.
NetAdvantage

NetAdvantage
Contains large Industry Surveys (and overviews of markets) for leading companies in 52 industries. Search by company or industry. Standard & Poor’s stock analysis is available for public companies.

This is a Key Source

 

yahoo finance Yahoo! Finance
Yahoo! Finance provides users with a broad range of comprehensive online financial services and information. It has access to up-to-date, international market data, real-time stock quotes, portfolio management resources, and community tools such as message boards. Yahoo! Finance Help


top Marketing Databases

Global Marketing Information Database (GMID)
An integrated on-line information system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets, and consumers. The GMID contains over a million demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. To access thousands of international company profiles in the GMID, click on "Browse Reports," and then click on "Company Profiles."

This is a VERY Key Source

 

Mintel Reports
Database containing over 600 consumer product and service marketing reports. Most are US and UK based. They are full of amazing detail and analysis.

This is a Key Source

Reference USA
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination.  You can determine location of stores by geography.

topStatistical Databases

American FactFinder

American FactFinder
The U.S. Census Bureau's source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data drawn from the official United States Census. Great source for Demographic information.

FedStats FEDSTATS
A window on the full range of official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government. Use it to track economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more. Access official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies without having to know in advance which agency produces them.
LexisNexis LexisNexis Statistical
A comprehensive index to statistical sources on a wide range of subjects. This index includes citations and abstracts, with approximately 25% either full-text or linked. Dates of information varies: 20-30 years of citations are available.

topOther Databases

Wikipedia Wikipedia
A multilingual encyclopedia that is collaboratively edited and maintained by thousands of users via wiki software, and is hosted and supported by the non-profit Wikimedia Foundation. In addition to typical encyclopedia entries, Wikipedia includes information more often associated with almanacs, gazetteers, and specialist magazines, as well as coverage of current events. It has almost 3 million entries, and is constantly growing. Many articles are long, detailed, with sources and related links. Wikipedia has been controversial because of its open collaborative nature, however it has received good marks in recent scholarly journals. This may be a good place to get an overview of business related definitions, topics or issues.  Great source for footnote sources and links on companies

top Search Engines

google
Google
The first place to go to search the web. One of four unique search engines
Bing
Bing Search
MicroSoft's much improved Search Engine

 

Key Reference Book for Retailing

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios: REF HF 5681 .R25 T68x 2009

 

analysis of financial statements Analysis of Financial Statements (Second Edition): REF

 

Annual Statement Studies Annual Statement Studies: REF HF 5681 .B2 R6

 

Commercial Atlas & Marketing Guide (Rand McNally): REF Folio G 1019 .R22 2009 (2 vols.)

 

Demographics USA: County Editions Demographics USA: County Editions: REF HF 5415.1 .D462 2008

 

Demographics USA : Zip Edition Pages: REF HF 5415.3 .D463 2008

 

 

Hoovers Handbook of...Various Call Numbers

 

Lifestyle Market Analyst The Lifestyle Market Analyst: REF HF 5415.33 .U6 L54 2008

This is a Key Source

 

New Strategist Publications: Varies
Must-have sources of demographics and statistics to help discover Niche Markets.

This is a Key Source

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Business Librarian

Profile Image
Jim Vileta
Jim's Office Location
 






Site Coordinator: UMD Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip