Other Useful Websites
Course Guide
MGTS 4474: International Management
For Sanjay Goel
International Management -- MGTS 4474
Fall 2012
Suggested Sources for Company and Industrial Analysis
Business Insights: Essentials
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=12 This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews. Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews.
Business Source Premier
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=260
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
In our various business periodical indexes, search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful DataMonitor reports by company name.
Freedonia Focus Market Reports
The Freedonia database is no longer available.
Global Edge
http://globaledge.msu.edu/Reference-Desk/
Your source for statistical data for 201 countries around the world. Find out more about their history, economy and political conditions.
Global Marketing Information Database (GMID)
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=659 This is our best source for international marketing information. Here are narrative reports and statistics on consumer products, consumer lifestyles, and retailing structures of 50-60 major nations, including the United States. 4,000 international company reports can be found here too. Use the keyword “Text” search option located on the upper left corner of the screen.
Lexis Nexis Academic
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=14 Search for periodicals on topics, and make sure to find a Hoovers In-Depth Company Reports in the “Business” section of the database.
Mergent Online
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=261 Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data.
MorningStar
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=668 More excellent financial data, and make sure to look at current and archived Analyst Research.
NetAdvantage
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=656 Good company information, and make sure to look at the broad industry overviews. These are excellent.
NewsStand
Browse:
http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=317&SQ=*&vDBID=1906
Search:
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=558
Our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 20 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.
Barron’s
http://proquest.umi.com/pqdlink?Ver=1&Exp=02-12-2014&RQT=318&PMID=7539&clientId=3285
New York Times
http://proquest.umi.com/pqdlink?RQT=318&TS=1234574698&clientId=3285&VType=PQD&VName=PQD&VInst=PROD&pmid=7818&PageNum=1
Wall Street Journal
http://proquest.umi.com/pqdlink?RQT=318&TS=1234574761&clientId=3285&VType=PQD&VName=PQD&VInst=PROD&pmid=7510&PageNum=1
Reference USA
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=158
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination.
StatUSA
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=179
Contains State of the Nation - financial and economic data about the United States domestic economy, including general economic indicators, monetary statistics, and employment, housing, and industrial statistics, and NTDB, which provides United States import and export statistics, market reports, and the famous Country Commercial Guides for other countries, and a large collection of articles and documents on international trade. This is an important source for International Business and Marketing. Varies by file - federal government statistics since 1974; some files updated hourly.
Other Suggested Websites
Companies and Financials
http://www.d.umn.edu/~jvileta/companies.html
This is an annotated list of major sources that can provide information on companies in periodicals, books, special databases, or on the internet, by using search engines like Google. Company websites can be an excellent source of information.
Industry Links
http://www.d.umn.edu/~jvileta/industry.html
Hundreds of useful free websites categorized by industry.
Country Links A-Z
http://www.d.umn.edu/~jvileta/ibr/ibr_a.html
Over 10,000 country specific links.
How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another
Comparing Companies
http://www.d.umn.edu/~jvileta/FAQs/comparing-companies.html
Key Reference Books
Countries and Their Cultures: REF GN 307 .C68 2001 (4 vols.)
(see also electronic)
Craighead's International Business, Travel, and Relocation Guide to 90 Countries: REF HF 5549.5 .E45 D56 2004/2005 (2 vols.)
Cross Cultural Issues: Various Call Numbers
OECD Factbook: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics: REF HC 10 .O34 2008
Political Handbook of the World: REF JF 37 .P61X 2009
Political Risk Yearbook: REF HG4538 .P65 2009 (8 vols.)
World Development Indicators: REF HC 59.69 .W656X 2008
Available also on on EDD Machines Near the Reference Desk
The World Factbook 2006: REF G 122 .U56A 2006
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies: REF HC 15 .W675 2002 (4 vols.)
Business Librarian |
Contact Info e-mail jvileta@d.umn.edu phone 218.726.6157 fax 218.726.7481 L272 Library 416 Library Drive Duluth, MN 55812-3001 Send Email |







Loading...
