This is the "Home" page of the "MKTG 4741: Developing & Marketing New Products, Fall 2013, Linda Rochford," guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MKTG 4741: Developing & Marketing New Products, Fall 2013, Linda Rochford,  

Last Updated: Apr 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.d.umn.edu/content.php?pid=106786 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Course Guide

MKTG 4741 Developing & Marketing New Products

For Linda Rochford
Developing & Marketing New Products - MKTG 4741 

Fall 2013

 

Selected Sources for New Products


Business Periodical Databases
Other Periodical Databases
Marketing Databases
Search Engines
Need More Help?

How to Use these Databases

Your New Products assignment has three different research elements requiring you to search for different sorts of information.

Your first step is to locate a recently launched new product.  You may have one in mind from your previous experience.  If not, you will need to find one via our databases.

For this purpose, a regular Google or Bing search could be your first option, followed by searching the Business Periodical Databases listed below, plus NewsStand.  Search phrases like "new product" or "launch" or related terms should be used.

Once you have identified new products of interest, the second step is to gather data on how these particular products have performed since their launch.  Again, search the Business Periodical Databases listed below, but this time search under  the brand name of product.  If you get too many hits, limit your search with key words like "sales" or "market share." Be aware that many products are "below the RADAR" of the business literature. Information on certain products, and products produced by private companies can be impossible to find.

In addition, you should search our "Global Marketing Information Database (GMID)" also listed below. In this database, do a keyword text search for the brand name, category of product, or company that makes the product.  If you want data from the US, be sure to limit your results to the United States.

Next, if your assignment requires gathering data on a possible foreign launch of this new product, again work with the Business Databases and search for brand name, product category, or company name in a particular country.  Searching the GMID will be very important in this step.  The GMID has marketing information on over 50 major countries.  This includes country specific category reports like "bottled water" , "beer" or "consumer electronics." Companies making these products are also profiled.  Be sure to note other important reports including the "Consumer Lifestyle" reports, the "Retailing" reports, and even "Internet Retailing" reports for each country."

Depending on the requirements of your assignment, you may need to more more information beyond the GMID Consumer Lifestyle reports.  If so, these sources, many located in our UMD Library Reference Collection may also be helpful:

Key International Reference Books

topBusiness Periodical Databases

Business Insights:  Essentials

Business Insights: Essentials
Company & industry news linked to electronic reference books. Contains histories, market shares, rankings, industry surveys, and investment reports.  Note, use company, industry overviews and article search options.

 

 

Business Source Premier
Full text of over 3,400 business periodicals. This is our largest business database. It provides our best access to scholarly journals. It also has special reports, including "SWOT" analysis. Note the "company profiles" tab, which will allow you to access over 5,000 Datamonitor Company Profiles.  Do keyword searches for articles. Also contains thousands of industry overview reports from Datamonitor. Reports are both country specific and global

 

Lexis Nexis

A massive database of full text articles. Strong in the areas of news, law, and business. Also contains many trade publications.Search the Business tab to find Hoover In-Dept Reports on a company.

Use the 'Power Search" mode and search for keywords.

 

NewsStand
Contains the full text of newspaper articles from over 350 titles. Provides our only source of electronic access to the Wall Street Journal.  Search for keywords.

top Other Periodical Databases

google scholar

Google Scholar
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles. Sources are linked to UMD Library electronic holdings via "Find It."   Search for keywords.

 

MasterFile Premier

MasterFile Premier
Contains popular and general interest magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Many business topics can be researched here as well. Over 2600 titles are indexed, with over 1950 titles available in full text.


top Marketing Databases

Global Marketing Information Database (GMID)
An integrated on-line information system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets, and consumers. The GMID contains over a million demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. To access thousands of international company profiles in the GMID, click on "Browse Reports," and then click on "Company Profiles."

Use Text Search mode.  Note that you can filter results by country, category, etc.

This is a VERY Key Source

 

Mintel Reports
Database containing over 600 consumer product and service marketing reports. Most are US and UK based. They are full of amazing detail and analysis.
Use keyword searches. You may find some particular products mentioned along with consumer demographics and psychographics.

 

top

Search Engines

 

google

 

 

The Google is the first place to go to search the web.

 

"Bing" is MicroSoft's much improved Search Engine

 

Citation Information

How to Cite your Sources

 

top


Need more help?

Read your UMD Business Research FAQ's

Contact Jim Vileta, UMD Business Librarian

 

 

Business Librarian

Profile Image
Jim Vileta
Jim is offline.
Jim's Office Location Request items for purchase
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSN
Contact Info
e-mail jvileta@d.umn.edu
phone 218.726.6157
fax 218.726.7481

L272 Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
Send Email
 






Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip