Skip to main content
University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark
KATHRYN A. MARTIN LIBRARY

WRIT 3121: Advanced Writing for Business for Brenda Palokangas

Fall 2017, for Brenda Palokangas

Research Guide

Suggested Sources for Research

Business Periodical Databases
 

Writing in a notebook with laptop nearbyGoogle Scholar
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to Library electronic holdings via "Find It."  Access millions of articles with this database. Google Scholar provides citation information for each article. This is your first best place to search for scholarly journal articles.  Search this database with carefully selected key words related to your topic.

 

ProQuest News

Contains the full text of newspaper articles from over 350 titles, many titles going back thirty years.  NewsStand provides our only source of electronic access to the Wall Street Journal. This is an excellent database for general, non-scholarly information.  Search this database with carefully selected keywords on the topic of your choice.

 

WestLaw News

Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications. This is a key source for news and trade publications.   These are very useful sources of information, but they are not scholarly sources. Search this database and find information on the topic of your choice.

 

Other Periodical Databases

 

MasterFile Premier
Contains popular and general interest magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Many business topics can be researched here as well. Over 2600 titles are indexed, with over 1950 titles available in full text.  Search this database for the topic of your choice.

Search Engines

 

Google

Last, but not least, lots of good information can be found on the free Internet.  You may find  websites, news sites and blogs with useful information that may help you in searching our proprietary databases. Google is the first place to go to search the web.

 
Bing
Another fine search engine with its own database of the web.
   
 

Wikipedia
The Wikipedia includes information more often associated with almanacs, gazetteers, and specialist magazines, as well as coverage of current events. It has over 5.5 million entries, and is constantly growing. Many articles are long, detailed, with sources and related links. Wikipedia has been controversial because of its open collaborative nature, however it has received good marks in recent scholarly journals. This may be a good place to get an overview of business related definitions, topics or issues.
This is a good place to get an overview of business related definitions, topics or issues. The Wikipedia can help you to find and understand the “keywords” you will need to search our library’s many databases . You may not want to cite the Wikipedia as a source, but it may lead you to sources you can cite. Learn how to make the best use of this wonderful resource.

 

Citing Your Sources

You will need to cite your sources.  This web page provides examples in APA StyleThis is a Key Source. It is vital to list and document your research.

See also:
Citation Styles: APA

For a more complete listing of Business Resources see
LSBE Essentials  and the   
Business Research Launch Pad