Skip to main content

WRIT 3141 Business Communications: Home

For Kendra Carlson -- Fall 2016

Other Useful Websites

Course Guide

 

WRIT 3141:  Business Communications

 

For Kendra Carlson
Business Communications -- WRIT 3141
Fall 2016

 

Suggested Sources for Literature Reviews

 

 

Finding Books
Business Periodical Databases
Other Periodical Databases
Search Engines
Other Suggested Websites
 

LSBE indoors

topFinding Books

umd catelog

 

Library Catalog


Search for books, government documents, reference books, videos and periodicals available in our Duluth campus library using MNCAT Discovery Duluth.

 

umd catalog

 

All-University Catalog Book Search


Search all U of MN campuses just as you would our campus. You can mark "Get-It" for any circulating book held at any campus, including UMD, and it will be pulled and held for you at our Circulation desk. You will be notified by e-mail. UMD requests are usually filled within one day and requests from other campuses can take 2 to 4 working days. This is faster than Inter Library Loan as there is no intermediary processing your request. This is available for faculty, staff and students. FREE! All University of Minnesota book resources (millions of books) are now at your finger tips!!

 

   
worldcat

WorldCat
Find over 330 MILLION books, government documents, videos found in thousands of libraries. THIS IS OUR BEST SOURCE FOR FINDING AND ORDERING MATERIALS THROUGH OUR FREE INTERLIBRARY LOAN SERVICE. Interlibrary Loans often require 1-3 weeks or more to fulfill.

   
   
   
   

topBusiness Periodical Databases

google scholar

 

Google Scholar


Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to Library electronic holdings via "Find It."  Access millions of articles with this database. This is your first best place to search for scholarly journal articles.  Search this database with carefully selected key words related to your topic.

 

NewsStand

NewsStand


Contains the full text of newspaper articles from over 350 titles, many titles going back thirty years.  NewsStand provides our only source of electronic access to the Wall Street Journal. This is an excellent database for general, non-scholarly information.  Search this database with carefully selected keywords on the topic of your choice.

 

Lexis Nexis  

WestLaw News

Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications. This is a key source for news and trade publications.   These are very useful sources of information, but they are not scholarly sources. Search this database and find information on the topic of your choice

 

 

top Other Periodical Databases

MasterFile Premier

MasterFile Premier
Contains popular and general interest magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Many business topics can be researched here as well. Over 2600 titles are indexed, with over 1950 titles available in full text.  Search this database for the topic of your choice.

 

top Search Engines

google
Google
Last, but not least, lots of good information can be found on the free Internet.  You may find  websites, news sites and blogs with useful information that may help you in searching our proprietary databases. Google is the first place to go to search the web.
msn
Bing
Another fine search engine with its own database of the web.
   
Wikipedia  

Wikipedia
A multilingual encyclopedia that is collaboratively edited and maintained by thousands of users via wiki software, and is hosted and supported by the non-profit Wikimedia Foundation. In addition to typical encyclopedia entries, Wikipedia includes information more often associated with almanacs, gazetteers, and specialist magazines, as well as coverage of current events. It has over 5 million entries, and is constantly growing. Many articles are long, detailed, with sources and related links. Wikipedia has been controversial because of its open collaborative nature, however it has received good marks in recent scholarly journals. This may be a good place to get an overview of business related definitions, topics or issues.
This is a good place to get an overview of business related definitions, topics or issues. The Wikipedia can help you to find and understand the “keywords” you will need to search our library’s many databases . You may not want to cite the Wikipedia as a source, but it may lead you to sources you can cite. Learn how to make the best use of this wonderful resource.

 

Citing Your Sources:
If you are writing a Literature Review, you will need to cite your sources.  This webpage provides examples in APA StyleThis is a Key Source. It is vital to list and document your research.

See also:

Citation Styles: APA

For a more complete listing of Business Resources see

LSBE Essentials

and the

Business Research Launch Pad

 

 

Business Librarian

Jim Vileta
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
e-mail jvileta@d.umn.edu
phone 218.726.6157
fax 218.726.7481

L272 Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
218.726.6157
Website / Blog Page






Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library