Skip to main content

CUE 3001 : Foundations of Cultural Entrepreneurship and Culture Management 1: Home

Fall 2016 - Aparna Katre

Other Useful Websites

Course Guide

 

CUE 3001 :  Foundation of Cultural Entrepreneurship 1 

For Aparna Katre,

Fall 2016     

Finding Books
Business Periodical Databases
Other Periodical Databases
Marketing Databases
Statistical Databases
Other Databases
Search Engines
Other Suggested Websites
 

 

 

topFinding Books

umd catalog
UMD Catalog (Advanced)
Search for books, government documents, reference books, videos and periodicals by title using the Advanced Search of the UMD Online Catalog. We have over 380,000 books in our Library.
worldcat

WorldCat
Find over 330 MILLION books, government documents, videos found in thousands of libraries. THIS IS OUR BEST SOURCE FOR FINDING AND ORDERING MATERIALS THROUGH OUR FREE INTERLIBRARY LOAN SERVICE. Interlibrary Loans often require 1-3 weeks or more to fulfill.

 

 
 
google book search

Google Book Search
With this exciting and very new service, search for any keywords and discover which books are highly ranked for them. You may be able to find and read a few pages of the the scanned book in context.

A Very good Source -- search full text of over ten million books. When you find a good book here, check our catalog to see if we have it, or access it via our Inter Library Loan System.

 
 

 

amazon.com
 

Amazon Books
Find new and used books available for sale, often with brief reviews and ratings.This is an easy to use database where you can find useful books. Look up the titles you find in our online catalogs or request them via our Inter Library Loan Service.

 

 

All-University Catalog Book Search
and search all U of MN campuses just as you would our campus. You can mark "Get-It" for any circulating book held at any campus, including UMD, and it will be pulled and held for you at our Circulation desk. You will be notified by e-mail. UMD requests are usually filled within one day and requests from other campuses can take 2 to 4 working days. This is faster than Inter Library Loan as there is no intermediary processing your request. This is available for faculty, staff and students. FREE! All University of Minnesota book resources are now at your finger tips!!
   
   

topBusiness Periodical Databases

   
 
 

Business Source Premier
Full text of over 3,400 business periodicals. This is our largest business database. It provides our best access to scholarly journals. It also has special reports, including "SWOT" analysis. Note the "company profiles" tab, which will allow you to access over 5,000 MarketLine Company Profiles.

 

   

NewsStand
Contains the full text of newspaper articles from over 350 titles going back over 30 years. NewsStand provides our only source of electronic access to the Wall Street Journal.

 

Lexis Nexis

WestLaw News

Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications.  This is a key source of news and trade publication information.
   

top Other Periodical Databases

   
Duluth News Tribune

Duluth News Tribune
A searchable archive of the Duluth News-Tribune, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local businesses, business people, state industries, and economic issues.  You must have a Duluth Public Library user card to access. Or, consult your Business Librarian.

Covers 11/1995 - present.

   
google scholar

Google Scholar
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles. Sources are linked to UMD Library electronic holdings via "Find It." This is a Key Source for general information in articles.

 

   
MasterFile Premier

MasterFile Premier
Contains popular and general interest magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Many business topics can be researched here as well. Over 2600 titles are indexed, with over 1950 titles available in full text.

   


top Marketing Databases

   
BAO

Business Analyst Online (BAO) is a Web-based solution that makes custom site evaluation and market analysis fast and easy. Utilizing extensive demographic, consumer spending, and business data, BAO provides detailed information and insights about consumers, their lifestyles and buying behavior, and businesses in your market area. Use for understandingTarget Marketing in a defined area. With BAO, you can:

  • Analyze trade areas, competition, supply and demand
  • Evaluate sites
  • Determine population within a specific drive-time or distance
  • Identify and segment customers
  • Reach your customers more effectively
  • Explore markets in the US
  • Click here to create an account and start using
Global Marketing Information Database

 

 

Passport (formerly GMID)
An integrated on-line information system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets, and consumers. Passport contains over a million demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. To access thousands of international company profiles in Passport, click on "Browse Reports," and then click on "Company Profiles."

 

 

Mintel Reports
Database containing over 600 consumer product and service marketing reports. Most are US and UK based. They are full of amazing detail and analysis.

 

   


 
Reference USA
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination.  Also, locate cultural organizations, non-profits, and educational organizations.

 
   

topStatistical Databases

American FactFinder

American FactFinder
The U.S. Census Bureau's source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data drawn from the official United States Census. Great source for Demographic information.

   
   

topOther Databases

   
Wikipedia

Wikipedia
A multilingual encyclopedia that is collaboratively edited and maintained by thousands of users via wiki software, and is hosted and supported by the non-profit Wikimedia Foundation. In addition to typical encyclopedia entries, Wikipedia includes information more often associated with almanacs, gazetteers, and specialist magazines, as well as coverage of current events. It has almost 3 million entries, and is constantly growing. Many articles are long, detailed, with sources and related links. Wikipedia has been controversial because of its open collaborative nature, however it has received good marks in recent scholarly journals. This may be a good place to get an overview of business related definitions, topics or issues.  Great source for search terms, footnote sources, and links for companies and organizations.

 

BizMiner
 

BizMiner
BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Bizminer is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry. Types of reports:

  • Industry Financial Profiles
  • US & Local Market Research Reports (includes business failure rates)
  • Area Demographic Profiles
  • Sole Proprietor/Startup Profit & Loss
  • Local Market Vitality Profiles
  • Learn More here

top Search Engines

   
google
Google
The first place to go to search the web. One of four unique search engines
Bing
Bing Search
Microsoft's much improved Search Engine
   
 

Other Suggested Websites

Guerrilla Marketing:
This webpage has a comprehensive list of Guerrilla Marketing books available in our UMD Library.  They can provide you with many creative and inexpensive ideas for your marketing plans. 

 

Questionnaires, Surveys, and Focus Groups:
Students may want to consider doing primary research on a given business topic. Primary research allows you to discover and create current information on a specific or localized topic.  We have many books in our Library that can help you better understand how to do this work. 

 

New Strategist Publications:
Lists and describes our comprehensive collection of New Strategist Publications available in our UMD Library. These books provide valuable statistics and psychographics for consumers in the United States by age, sex, and ethnic group. 

 

Marketing Books:
This webpage lists hundreds of recent books available in our UMD Library on 28 marketing topics.  This is a Key Source for creative ideas.

 

Presentation Skills:
If you are giving classroom presentations, this webpage will help you find books and sources to make them the best possible. 

Citing Your Sources:
If you are writing a Business Report, you will need to cite your sources.  This webpage provides examples in APA Style.   It is vital to list and document your research.

Key Reference Books for Business Plans

Business Plans Handbook

"Contains examples of detailed plans for starting or developing various kinds of businesses. Categories within plans include statement of purpose, market description, personnel requirements, financial needs, etc."*

REF HD 62.7 .B865 (36 vols.) 2016

View inside

This is a Key Source

Your Business Librarian has an additional Business Plans database accessible in his office.

 

New Strategist Publications: Varies
Must-have sources of demographics and statistics to help discover Niche Markets.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Business Librarian

Jim Vileta
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
e-mail jvileta@d.umn.edu
phone 218.726.6157
fax 218.726.7481

L272 Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
218.726.6157
Website / Blog Page






Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library