Skip to main content

WRIT 3121: Advanced Writing for Business: Home

For Lindsey Jungman, Fall 2016

Other Useful Websites

Course Guide

WRIT 3121  Advanced Writing for Business

 

For Lindsey Jungman
Advanced Writing for Business -- WRIT 3121
Fall 2016

 

Suggested Sources for general business research:

All-University Catalog Book Search
Search all U of MN campuses just as you would our campus. You can mark "Get-It" for any circulating book held at any campus, including UMD, and it will be pulled and held for you at our Circulation desk. You will be notified by email. UMD requests are usually filled within one day and requests from other campuses can take 2 to 4 working days. This is faster than Inter Library Loan as there is no intermediary processing your request. This is available for faculty, staff and students. FREE! All University of Minnesota book resources are now at your finger tips!!

Amazon.com Book Search
A user friendly way to discover books on various topics.  Titles found here can be searched in the UMD and Twin Cities catalogs, or requested via our Library's Inter Library Loan Service.


Business Source Premier
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
In our various business periodical indexes, search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals.

Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a great source of news and information about the college and university scene.  It is widely read by faculty members and administrators. This single title could be a great initial source for topics situated in higher education.

Google Scholar
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to Library electronic holdings via "Find It."   This is your first best place to search for scholarly journal articles.  Look up companies, products, or any business related subject.

 

Hoover's Company Profiles
Hoover's delivers concise and current information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, strategy, and more. This database covers more than 40,000 public and non-public companies, as well as 225,000 key executives. Search by company name. This is your best source for private companies.  Public company information is also included.

 

MasterFile Premier
Contains popular and general interest magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Many business topics can be researched here as well. Over 2600 titles are indexed, with over 1950 titles available in full text.

 

Mergent Online
Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data. Search by company name.  Private companies are not listed.  This has extensive information on large publicly held companies.

 

NewsStand
NewsStand is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 30 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times and other major national and regional newspapers.  Search for keywords related to your topic or subject.

 

WestLaw News
Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications. This is a our major database for trade publication information.   Look up recent articles on trends and developments in your topic.  This is a key source of non-scholarly business information.

 

Other Suggested Websites ---  use the major Search Engines:

 
  Google
The first place to go to search the web. One of four unique search engines
 
 
Bing
One of four unique search engines
     

If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:

Presentation Skills


If you are writing a report, you will need to cite your sources.  Note that you will find useful information in:

Citing Your Sources

Business Librarian

Jim Vileta
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
e-mail jvileta@d.umn.edu
phone 218.726.6157
fax 218.726.7481

L272 Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
218.726.6157
Website / Blog Page






Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library