Skip to main content

MGTS 4481: Strategic Management for Antoinette Pearson: Home

MGTS 4481: Strategic Management for Antoinette Pearson Fall 2016

Other Useful Websites

Course Guide

MGTS 4481: Strategic Management

 

For Antoinette Pearson
Strategic Management -- MGTS 4481
Fall 2016

 

Suggested Sources for Company and Industrial Analysis 


Business Insights: Essentials
This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews.  Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews.  Be sure to search  by company name in the upper right  search box. 

 

Business Source Premier
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
In our various business periodical indexes, search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful MarketLine reports by company name.  Also, look up "bicycles" as a topic.

 

Google Scholar

Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to Library electronic holdings via "Find It."   This is your first best place to search for scholarly journal articles.  Look up  "bicycles", related topics, or company names.

 

Hoover's Company Profiles
Hoover's delivers concise and current information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, strategy, and more. This database covers more than 40,000 public and non-public companies, as well as 225,000 key executives. Search by company name. This is your best source for private companies.  Public company information is also included.

Mergent Online
Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data. Search by company name.  Private companies are not listed.  This has extensive information on large publicly held companies.

NetAdvantage
Good company information, with details on company structure and executive officers, and be sure to look at the broad industry overviews. These are excellent.


NewsStand
NewsStand is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 30 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York TimesSearch for keywords related to the bicycle industry and company names.


Economist

New York Times

Wall Street Journal
 

SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) provides resources related to the business of sports including industry-developed market research, government statistics, facility reports and news, international market publications, customized research, and directories.  Look at data in the "Bicycling" section.

WestLaw News
Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications. This is a Key Source of newspaper and trade publication information.  In the news section, look up recent articles on trends and developments in the bicycle industry.  Also, use related key words and company names.

 

Other Suggested Websites

Company Information

Company Annual Reports

Company Histories

Company Overview Reports

BizMinerBizMiner

BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. BizMiner is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry. Types of reports:

  • Industry Financial Profiles
  • U.S.  & Local Market Research Reports (includes business failure rates)
  • Area Demographic Profiles
  • Sole Proprietor/Startup Profit & Loss
  • Local Market Vitality Profile
BizMiner Video Tutorials

 

How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another:

 Comparing Companies
Note videos on how to compare companies.


Bicycle Industry Links:

Bicycle Industry Overview 2015

Bicycles Statistica

Trade Associations

Bicycle Retailer

Bike Brands and Manufacturers

Bike Parts Manufacturers

Research Discovered:

Giant:
 
Details could be in their corporate annual reports, but they appear to be written in Chinese.
 
this is interesting too:
 
the tabs and links here are good too:
 
 

www.cluteinstitute.com/ojs/index.php/JBCS/article/download/8711/8693

Yeti:

 
 
 
http://www.bikemag.com/industry-news/yeti-cycles-goes-all-in-on-enduro/#WOYSlIqvw25YAOOj.97
 
talk to this person:
 
three more people:
 
good:
 
you can get a free search here:
 
here is the search I used:
 

http://nbda.com/tips/bike-links-pg38.htm

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:

Presentation Skills


If you are writing a report, you will need to cite your sources.  Note that you will find useful information in:

Citing Your Sources

Value Chain Analysis 

 

business statistics

 

 

 

Doing a “Value Chain Analysis” begins with understanding the concept of the “Value Chain.”

Your textbook, or these links may give you some insight:

Strategic Management Insight
Mind Tools
Wikipedia

“A value chain is a chain of activities that a firm operating in a specific industry performs in order to deliver a valuable product or service for the market. The concept comes from business management and was first described and popularized by Michael Porter in his 1985 best-seller, Competitive Advantage: Creating and Sustaining Superior Performance.[1]

"The idea of the value chain is based on the process view of organizations, the idea of seeing a manufacturing (or service) organization as a system, made up of subsystems each with inputs, transformation processes and outputs. Inputs, transformation processes, and outputs involve the acquisition and consumption of resources - money, labor, materials, equipment, buildings, land, administration and management. How value chain activities are carried out determines costs and affects profits."

The concept of value chains as decision support tools, was added onto the competitive strategies paradigm developed by Porter as early as 1979. In Porter's value chains, Inbound Logistics, Operations, Outbound Logistics, Marketing and Sales and Service are categorized as primary activities. Secondary activities include Procurement, Human Resource management, Technological Development and Infrastructure.”  (From the Wikipedia)

As a student doing a Value Chain Analysis, you will be doing determined and extensive research in several of our key databases (listed below).  Before you do this you will want to read our company overview reports for your selected company, and our industry overview reports for your company’s industry.

In order to do this analysis well, you will need to be prepared to read many, many articles and financial reports.  Companies often treat their supply chain and value chain information as secrets.  So, you will have to work with secondary sources, reading what journalists and analysts have discovered about these companies.  Primary resources would include S.E.C. 10K Reports

When searching within these databases:

Google Scholar

WestLawNext News

NewsStand 

you can try to restrict your search results to a specific company by typing its name into the search box and then do a topic-specfic search by entering the following (sample) search terms or keywords:

 

  • "Value Chain"  AND  companyname
  • Logistics  AND  companyname
  • Operations AND  companyname
  • “Marketing and Sales” AND  companyname
  • Service AND companyname
  • "Supply Chain" AND companyname
  • Procurement  AND  companyname
  • Purchasing  AND  companyname
  • “Human Resource Management” AND companyname
  • “Technological Development” AND companyname
  • Infrastructure AND companyname

You may also want to try these keywords as well:

Cost Advantage
Differentiation Advantage
Design
Assembly
Testing
Quality Control
Sales
Marketing
Distribution
Dealer support
Customer’s value
Inbound logistics
Outbound logistics
Technology

You may want to try searching for other related words as well.

In addition, you should look up the company’s 10K reports, in this database:

Mergent Online

Go into Mergent Online, search for your company by name or ticker symbol
On the results page, click on the “Reports” tab, and then select “Annual Reports.”

Now you can view 10K and Annual reports in PDF format. Once you are in the PDF documents you can type  CTRL  F for a search box, where you can type in your keywords.

Keep in mind that you may find many articles and documents that contain your company name and keywords but they may not provide the information you seek.  In other cases, you may be able to piece together useful bits of information from several articles.

Good luck on your research !!!

 

Business Librarian

Jim Vileta
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
e-mail jvileta@d.umn.edu
phone 218.726.6157
fax 218.726.7481

L272 Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
218.726.6157
Website / Blog Page






Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library