Skip to main content

MGTS 4871: Strategic Human Resource Management: Home

Fall 2016, Yuanyuan Sun

Other Useful Websites

Course Guide

 

MGTS 4871: Strategic Human Resource Management

 

For Yuanyuan Sun
Strategic Human Resource Management -- MGTS 4871
Fall 2016

 

Suggested Sources for Company Analysis 

 

 

Finding Books
Business Periodical Databases
Other Periodical Databases
Financial Databases
Marketing Databases
Search Engines
Other Suggested Websites
 

LSBE indoors

topFinding Books

umd catelog

 

Library Catalog


Search for books, government documents, reference books, videos and periodicals available in our Duluth campus library using MNCAT Discovery Duluth.

 

umd catalog

 

All-University Catalog Book Search


Search all U of MN campuses just as you would our campus. You can mark "Get-It" for any circulating book held at any campus, including UMD, and it will be pulled and held for you at our Circulation desk. You will be notified by e-mail. UMD requests are usually filled within one day and requests from other campuses can take 2 to 4 working days. This is faster than Inter Library Loan as there is no intermediary processing your request. This is available for faculty, staff and students. FREE! All University of Minnesota book resources are now at your finger tips!!

 

   
worldcat

WorldCat
Find over 330 MILLION books, government documents, videos found in thousands of libraries. THIS IS OUR BEST SOURCE FOR FINDING AND ORDERING MATERIALS THROUGH OUR FREE INTERLIBRARY LOAN SERVICE. Interlibrary Loans often require 1-3 weeks or more to fulfill.

   
   
   
   

topBusiness Periodical Databases

Business and Company Resource Center

 

Business Insights: Essentials


Company & industry news linked to electronic reference books. Contains histories, market shares, rankings, industry surveys, SWOT analysis and investment reports. This is an important database for this course. Search this database by your company name and connect with an "AND" to the HR topic of your choice.  Search this database individually as it is not covered by Google Scholar.

 

Business Source Premier

 

Business Source Premier


Full text of over 3,400 business periodicals. This is our largest business database. It provides our best access to scholarly journals. It also has special reports, including "SWOT" analysis. Note the  "company profiles" tab, which will allow you to access over 5,000 MarketLine Company Profiles.  This database also contains thousands of MarketLine Industry Overviews.  These reports are insightful and often contain a "five forces" analysis. (MarketLine)   These reports should not be overlooked.  Articles are covered by Google Scholar, however, special reports are not.

 

google scholar

 

Google Scholar


Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to Library electronic holdings via "Find It."   This is your first best place to search for scholarly journal articles.  Search this database by your company name and connect with an "AND" to the HR topic of your choice.

 

NewsStand

 

NewsStand


Contains the full text of newspaper articles from over 350 titles, many titles going back thirty years.  NewsStand provides our only source of electronic access to the Wall Street Journal. This is an excellent database for company information.  Search this database by your company name and connect with an "AND" to the HR topic of your choice.

 

Regional Business News 

 

Regional Business News 
Regional Business News is a collection of full text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world. Often news about regional business events, companies, products, and services are found here.  Included in this database are A&G Information, Africa News Service, Inter Press Service, Resource News International, South American Business, M2 Communications, PR Newswire, Business Newswire, Canadian Corporate News, News Bytes News Network and Phillips Business Information Highlights. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events. In order to maintain the most current collection of news, this database contains the most recent 30 days of information from each of these wire sources. Several hundred articles are added to Business Wire News database each day. Useful for finding information on smaller regional companies.

 

Wall Street Journal

 

Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)
Contains the full-text Wall Street Journal which has extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments and business-oriented news. This database version from Proquest includes business news and analysis, company news, regular columns, special reports, articles on the national and world economy, editorials and opinion, interviews, and Reuters news stories. Excludes charts and free standing tabular data, such as stock tables and other exchange listings.  Search this database by your company name and connect with an "AND" to the HR topic of your choice.
Full text coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - current

 

Lexis Nexis  

WestLaw News

Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications. This is a key source for news and trade publications.   Search this database, in the news section, by your company name and connect with an "AND" to the HR topic of your choice.

top Other Periodical Databases

 
 
MasterFile Premier

MasterFile Premier
Contains popular and general interest magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Many business topics can be researched here as well. Over 2600 titles are indexed, with over 1950 titles available in full text.  Search this database by your company name and connect with an "AND" to the HR topic of your choice.

Duluth News Tribune
 

Duluth News Tribune
A searchable archive of the Duluth News-Tribune, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local businesses, business people, state industries, and economic issues. Must have Duluth Public Library user card to access, or contact your Business Librarian. 

Covers 11/1995 - present

top Financial Databases

Mergent Online

 

Mergent Online


Provides business and financial information for 23,000 U.S. and international companies. Financials for 15 years, balance sheets, income statements "as reported" and can be downloaded to spreadsheet. Includes company overviews, histories financial ratios, and much more. Mergent Online IS OUR BEST SOURCE FOR COMPANY ANNUAL REPORTS.  Annual reports, on occasion, can address some company organizational and HR issues.

 

MorningStar

 

MorningStar


Provides independent investment analysis of 1500 stocks and 2000 mutual funds. Includes current analyst reports for both particular companies and funds with an eye to what is happening in the industry. This is a highly regarded and unique source of financial information.
 


top Marketing Databases

Global Marketing Information Database

 

Passport GMID


An integrated on-line information system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets, and consumers. The Passport contains over a million demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. To access thousands of international company profiles in Passport, click on "Browse Reports," and then click on "Company Profiles."  Provides competitive analysis, industry size, market share, brands, lifestyles, retailing structure, for United States and International. Not much HR information here, but it will give you insight into the company, industry and its products.

Reference USA

Reference USA
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination. Over 24 million United States businesses listed and it is our best source  of information for small private companies.  This is an important database for this course.

   
   

top Search Engines

google
Google
Last, but not least, lots of good information can be found on the free Internet.  You may find company websites, news sites and blogs with useful information. Google is the first place to go to search the web.
msn
Bing
Another fine search engine with its own database.
 

Company Information

Company Annual Reports

Company Histories

Company Overview Reports

SWOT Analysis

How to find SWOT Analysis

 

If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:

Presentation Skills

 

Citing Your Sources:
If you are writing a Report, you will need to cite your sources.  This webpage provides examples in APA Style.  This is a Key Source. It is vital to list and document your research.

 

Business Librarian

Jim Vileta
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
e-mail jvileta@d.umn.edu
phone 218.726.6157
fax 218.726.7481

L272 Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
218.726.6157
Website / Blog Page






Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library