Alt HealthWatch provides the latest information and materials for the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies, with in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas. Cover includes 190 international journals. Paid for by Electronic Library for Minnesota.
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Paid for by Electronic Library for Minnesota.
The Minnesota Department of Health is working to make important public health data available. Visit the Minnesota Public Health Data Access Portal for interactive charts, maps, and data specific to Minnesota that may be useful for research, grants, projects, and more.
Education Research Complete covers topics that include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
This comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects; with millions of articles in over 8,000 full-text journals available in both PDF and HTML format and simultaneous, unlimited usage. Partially paid for by Electronic Library for Minnesota.
This resource was designed for the premier researcher with the most comprehensive multidisciplinary content available. As a leading scholarly database, it provides access to nearly 5,000 full-text journals along with magazines, newspapers, and other valuable resources. Paid for by Electronic Library for Minnesota.
Sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, disabled persons, physical fitness, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport and exercise psychology, recreation, allied health, occupational health and therapy, public health and more. References from journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference proceedings.
The editorial mission of the JSCR, is to advance the knowledge about strength and conditioning through research. Since 1978 the NSCA has attempted to "bridge the gap" from the scientific laboratory to the field practitioner. A unique aspect of this journal is that it includes recommendations for the practical use of research findings. While the journal name identifies strength and conditioning as separate entities, strength is considered a part of conditioning. This journal wishes to promote the publication of peer-reviewed manuscripts that add to our understanding of conditioning and sport through applied exercise and sport science. Full text coverage begins with the January/February 2008 issue.
Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise features original investigations, clinical studies, and comprehensive reviews on current topics in sports medicine and exercise science. With this leading multidisciplinary journal, exercise physiologists, physiatrists, physical therapists, team physicians, and athletic trainers get a vital exchange of information from basic and applied science, medicine, education, and allied health fields.
Arts & Health provides a pioneering international forum for the publication of research, policy and best practice within the interdisciplinary field of arts and health. This fast-emerging field has developed in response to international interest regarding the multifarious ways in which the arts contribute to health, wellbeing, social inclusion and healthcare practice across a range of settings. The field has become an inter- and multi-disciplinary arena for those concerned with research, policy and practice initiatives, including artists, health care professionals, community workers, and researchers in the public, private and voluntary sectors. Arts & Health takes a broad-based approach in examining uses of the arts in public health, health promotion and health care.
The American Journal of Health Education (AJHE) focuses on Health Education and Health Promotion interventions designed to prevent or delay the onset of the major chronic diseases and illnesses that impact populations of interest today (CVD, cancer, diabetes, COPD, cirrhosis, Alzheimer’s/dementia, etc.). In addition, AJHE discusses the role of lifestyle behaviors (nutrition/diet, physical activity, weight management, tobacco use prevention, stress control, self-management of chronic disease, emotional and social functioning, alcohol and other drugs abuse, etc.) in chronic disease management.
The International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism (IJSNEM) publishes original scientific investigations and scholarly reviews offering new insights into sport nutrition and exercise metabolism, as well as articles focusing on the application of the principles of biochemistry, physiology, and nutrition to sport and exercise. The journal also offers editorials, digests of related articles from other fields, research notes, and reviews of books, videos, and other media releases.
The American Journal of Public Health (AJPH) is dedicated to publication of original work in research, research methods, and program evaluation in the field of public health. The Journal regularly publishes editorials and commentaries and serves as a forum for health policy analysis. The mission of the Journal is to advance public health research, policy, practice, and education. Each month, national and international public health professionals turn to AJPH for the most current, authoritative, in-depth information in the field.
The Annual Review of Public Health, in publication since 1980, covers significant developments in the field of public health, including key developments and issues in epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, social environment and behavior, health services, and public health practice and policy.