Skip to main content
University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark
KATHRYN A. MARTIN LIBRARY

MGTS 4861: International Human Resource Management

Summer 2018, for Jannifer David

Research Guide

Suggested Sources for Peer Reviewed Scholarly Articles

Peer Reviewed Journals

Empirical Scholarly Articles

Find Articles in Our Library

Country Overview Reports

Human Resources in Foreign Countries

Other Book Resources

Country Links A-Z

Craighead's International Business

globalEDGE by Country

NationMaster

World Factbook

Citing Your Sources

Ulrichsweb (to verify Peer Reviewed or "Refereed" Status)

 

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier
Full text of over 3,400 business periodicals. This is our largest business database. It provides our best access to scholarly journals. It also has special reports, including "SWOT" analysis. Note the green "company profiles" tab, which will allow you to access over 5,000 MarketLine Company Profiles.

 

Emerald Online



Emerald Online
A smaller business database with full text of scholarly journals in English, many of which are based in Europe.

 

 

 

google scholar

Google Scholar
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to UMD Library electronic holdings via "Find It."  THIS IS YOUR BEST FIRST SOURCE.   Use our Ulrichsweb database to verify if a journal title is peer reviewed.

 

 

 

Sample Searches

Often, you will want to begin with a broad search for your topic like Japan AND “human resources”:

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?q=Japan+AND+%22human+resources%22&btnG=&hl=en&as_sdt=0%2C24

 

Remember, in some places, the term “industrial relations” is used for “human resources”:

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?q=Japan+AND+%22industrial+relations%22&btnG=&hl=en&as_sdt=0%2C24

 

So you will want to use both “industrial relations” and “human resources” in separate searches.

Remember, putting multi-word searches in quotation marks, like "human resources" keeps the two words

together for purposes of the search, often making for searches with fewer bad "hits."

And, then you can focus to more narrow sub-topics:  Japan  AND compensation

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=en&as_sdt=0%2C24&q=japan+AND+compensation&btnG=

 

Or use other terms to focus your topics:  Japan AND "employee unions"

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=en&as_sdt=0%2C24&q=japan+AND+%22employee+unions%22&btnG=

 

In this case, remember to use similar terms: Japan  AND "collective bargaining"

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=en&as_sdt=0%2C24&q=japan+AND+%22collective+bargaining%22&btnG=

More examples:

Japan AND "performance management"

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=en&as_sdt=0%2C24&q=japan+AND+%22performance+management%22&btnG=

Japan AND "performance reviews"

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=en&as_sdt=0%2C24&q=japan+AND+%22human+resources%22+AND+%22performance+reviews%22&btnG=

Your syllabus lists these HR functional areas:  Employee Unions, Staffing, Training, Compensation, Benefits, and Performance management.  Always remember to consider related terms like collective bargaining, hiring, performance reviews, pay, salaries, and etc.

If you want to further focus on articles with an “empirical” approach, you may discover, in some instances, the article may be empirical in nature, but might not contain the word "empirical." So, you should also substitute other words for empirical. Use words like “Case Study” or just "Study" or "Observation" or "Experiment" or "Survey" or "Questionnaire" or "Interview." These terms could also help you to find articles containing empirical research.

Also, remember, your search results will contain a full range of publication dates.   After viewing your initial search, you may want to limit that search to more recent dates, with the options on the right column.

If you have questions or comments, please contact me here:
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/ref/jimvileta/index.htm