Skip to main content
University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark
KATHRYN A. MARTIN LIBRARY

EDUC 8021: Assessment in Organizational Systems: Locate

eJournal Locator

eJournal Locator

Starts WithContains
University of Minnesota Duluth Library
 

Finding Resources

Books and government documents are located:

  • A-L books - regular loan on the 3rd floor.
  • M-Z  books - regular loan on the 4th floor.
  • Government Documents (both print & microfiche) - on the 3rd floor.
  • Reference - on the 2nd floor 
  • Multimedia - request at the Circulation Desk.
  • Journals (Print) - Library Annex 1st & 2nd floors
  • Journals (Microfilm) - on the 3rd floor.
  • Journals - majority of journals are available online.

Locating Journal Articles

Some of the databases have full-text and you click on a HTML or PDF link to retrieve the full text.

If the article is not full-text within the citation, click  icon available in many of the database to help you retrieve the full-text article.

1. Click on UMD Find It icon. Another window will open and click on "Get full text from database name" (often more than one database). 
2. Another window will open, usually directly to the aricle. You may have a choice of HTML or PDF versions.

If the full-text is not available through UMD Find It, you will see "Sorry, we don't have an online copy, but...."

Look for a print copy in the Library Catalog. Click on the link and search the library catalog for the journal title to see if the library carries the title in print or microfilm. Click on the availablilty field to see what years and volumes the library carries.

Request a copy through Interlibrary Loan. Click on the link and the ILLiad window will open. Logon using your UMD email username and password. Your citation will automatically be filled in. You can change the "Not Wanted After Date" and add any notes. Press the Submit Request. You will be notified by UMD email when your request comes in.

If the "Find It" icon is not available in a database.

1. Go to the Libary homepage (http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/) and click on the Library Catalog tab. Wh
2 Type in the journal name and click Search. Under Refine My Results (left column), click on Journals.
3. Once you have found the title:

  • View It - will show you the databases which have this journal available full-text. Click on the database which has the years of coverage needed.
  • Get It - this journal is available in print or microfilm. Print journals are located in the Library Annex and Microfilm is located on the third floor. It helps to write down the peridical number (e.q. PER1345.0000).

If the journal is not located in the library, use Interlibrary Loan to get item from another library.

Reference Librarian

Kayleen Jones's picture
Kayleen Jones

Chat Offline

Contact:
Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library 264
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812
Schedule an appointment
218-726-8733