Skip to main content

MGTS 4472: Entrepreneurship: Home

Spring 2016 - Raymond Jones

Other Useful Websites

Course Guide

 

MGTS 4472: Entrepreneurship

 

For Raymond Jones
Entrepreneurship -- MGTS 4472
Spring 2016

 

Suggested Sources for Company and Industrial Analysis 

 

 

Finding Books
Business Periodical Databases
Other Periodical Databases
Financial Databases
Marketing Databases
Statistical Databases
Other Databases
Search Engines

Other Suggested Websites
ref iconKey Business Reference Books

LSBE indoors

topFinding Books

umd catelog

 

Library Catalog


Search for books, government documents, reference books, videos and periodicals available in our Duluth campus library using MNCAT Discovery Duluth.

 

worldcat

 

WorldCat


Find over 330 MILLION books, government documents, videos found in thousands of libraries. THIS IS OUR BEST SOURCE FOR FINDING AND ORDERING MATERIALS THROUGH OUR FREE INTERLIBRARY LOAN SERVICE. Interlibrary Loans often require 1-3 weeks or more to fulfill.

 

google book search

 

Google Book Search
With this exciting and very useful service, search for any keywords and discover which books are highly ranked for them. You may be able to find and read a few pages of the the scanned book in context.

 

amazon.com

 

Amazon Books
Find new and used books available for sale, often with brief reviews and ratings.

 

Proquest

 

Dissertations & Theses
Indexes all American doctoral dissertations since 1861 covering all subjects. Full-text of "Big Ten" University dissertations, from about 1997 to present, are available to UMD students, faculty, and staff.

 

umd catalog

 

All-University Catalog Book Search


Search all U of MN campuses just as you would our campus. You can mark "Get-It" for any circulating book held at any campus, including UMD, and it will be pulled and held for you at our Circulation desk. You will be notified by e-mail. UMD requests are usually filled within one day and requests from other campuses can take 2 to 4 working days. This is faster than Inter Library Loan as there is no intermediary processing your request. This is available for faculty, staff and students. FREE! All University of Minnesota book resources are now at your finger tips!!

 

topBusiness Periodical Databases

Business and Company Resource Center

 

Business Insights: Essentials


Company & industry news linked to electronic reference books. Contains histories, market shares, rankings, industry surveys, SWOT analysis and investment reports. This is an important database for this course.

 

Business Source Premier

 

Business Source Premier


Full text of over 3,400 business periodicals. This is our largest business database. It provides our best access to scholarly journals. It also has special reports, including "SWOT" analysis. Note the  "company profiles" tab, which will allow you to access over 5,000 MarketLine Company Profiles.  This database also contains thousands of MarketLine Industry Overviews.  These reports are insightful and often contain a "five forces" analysis. (MarketLine)   These reports should not be overlooked.  This is a very important database for this course.

 

EconLit

 

EconLit


Our most comprehensive index for Economics, EconLit includes bibliographic references and abstracts of articles in journals, books, higher degree theses, conference proceedings, research papers, book reviews and economic working papers. Mostly English language sources. 1969 to present

 

Emerald Online
Emerald Online
A smaller business database with full text of scholarly journals in English, many of which are based in Europe.
google scholar

 

Google Scholar


Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to Library electronic holdings via "Find It."   This is your first best place to search for scholarly journal articles.

 

NewsStand

 

NewsStand


Contains the full text of newspaper articles from over 350 titles, many titles going back thirty years.  NewsStand provides our only source of electronic access to the Wall Street Journal. This is an excellent database for company information, product information, market share, sales, mergers and etc.

 

Regional Business News 

 

Regional Business News 
Regional Business News is a collection of full text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world. Often news about regional business events, companies, products, and services are found here.  Included in this database are A&G Information, Africa News Service, Inter Press Service, Resource News International, South American Business, M2 Communications, PR Newswire, Business Newswire, Canadian Corporate News, News Bytes News Network and Phillips Business Information Highlights. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events. In order to maintain the most current collection of news, this database contains the most recent 30 days of information from each of these wire sources. Several hundred articles are added to Business Wire News database each day. 

 

Wall Street Journal

 

Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)
Contains the full-text Wall Street Journal which has extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments and business-oriented news. This database version from Proquest includes business news and analysis, company news, regular columns, special reports, articles on the national and world economy, editorials and opinion, interviews, and Reuters news stories. Excludes charts and free standing tabular data, such as stock tables and other exchange listings.  
Full text coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - current

 

Lexis Nexis  

WestLawNext

Offers searching of court rules, statutes, regulations, administrative decisions, and U.S. Supreme Court briefs, among others. Search by keywords or browse by content, materials or topic.

WestlawNext also contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications. This is a key source for news and trade publications.

top Other Periodical Databases

MasterFile Premier

MasterFile Premier
Contains popular and general interest magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Many business topics can be researched here as well. Over 2600 titles are indexed, with over 1950 titles available in full text.

top Financial Databases

google finance

 

Google Finance
Google Finance is an early beta product that offers a broad range of information about North American stocks, mutual funds and public and private companies along with charts, news, and fundamental financial data. FAQ

 

Image result for hoover's Hoover's Company Profiles
Hoover's delivers concise and current information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, strategy, and more. This database covers more than 40,000 public and non-public companies, as well as 225,000 key executives.
Mergent Online

 

Mergent Online


Provides business and financial information for 23,000 U.S. and international companies. Financials for 15 years, balance sheets, income statements "as reported" and can be downloaded to spreadsheet. Includes company overviews, histories financial ratios, and much more. Mergent Online IS OUR BEST SOURCE FOR COMPANY ANNUAL REPORTS.

 

Mergent/Moody's Manual Collection

 

Mergent/Moody's Manual Collection
Mergent / Moody's Online Manuals Collection provides extensive historical and current information for public companies worldwide, including history, chronology, acquisitions, mergers, spinoffs, properties, joint ventures, subsidiaries, officers and directors, consolidated income and balance sheets, long term debit, options, and other financial data. Includes the following manuals:

* Industrial Manual since 1920
* OTC Industrial Manual since 1970
* OTC Unlisted Manual since 1986
* Bank & Finance Manual since 1928
* Public Utility Manual since 1914
* Transportation Manual since 1909

 

MorningStar

 

MorningStar


Provides independent investment analysis of 1500 stocks and 2000 mutual funds. Includes current analyst reports for both particular companies and funds with an eye to what is happening in the industry. This is a highly regarded and unique source of financial information.
 

NetAdvantage

 

NetAdvantage


Contains large Industry Surveys (and overviews of markets) for leading companies in 52 industries. Search by company or industry. Standard & Poor’s stock analysis is available for public companies.

 

Value Line

 

Value Line


Provides the current relative rating for performance and safety together with estimated yields, the latest earnings, dividends and p/e data, guidance on current investment policy, analysis and forecasts of the national economy and the stock market. Value Line offers views on the economy and the stock market as well as on stocks of special interest. This is a highly regarded and unique source of financial information.   NOW ONLINE.     (HOW TO READ A VALUE LINE REPORT)

 

yahoo finance

 

Yahoo! Finance
Yahoo! Finance provides users with a broad range of comprehensive online financial services and information. It has access to up-to-date, international market data, real-time stock quotes, portfolio management resources, and community tools such as message boards. Yahoo! Finance Help

 


top Marketing Databases

Business Analyst Online

 



Business Analyst Online (BAO) is a Web-based solution that makes custom site evaluation and market analysis fast and easy. Utilizing extensive demographic, consumer spending, and business data, BAO provides detailed information and insights about consumers, their lifestyles and buying behavior, and businesses in your market area(USA). With BAO, you can:
 
  • Analyze trade areas, competition, supply and demand
  • Evaluate sites
  • Determine population within a specific drive-time or distance
  • Identify and segment customers
  • Reach your customers more effectively
  • Explore markets in the US
  • Click here to create an account and start using
Global Marketing Information Database

 

Passport GMID


An integrated on-line information system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets, and consumers. The Passport contains over a million demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. To access thousands of international company profiles in the GMID, click on "Browse Reports," and then click on "Company Profiles."  Provides competitive analysis, industry size, market share, brands, lifestyles, retailing structure, for United States and International. This is a very important database for this course.

 

Global Marketing Information Database

 

Local Market Audience Analyst

Local Market Audience Analyst is a consumer market research tool that delivers sophisticated demographic, segmentation, and targeting data for media planners and consumer marketers. 

  • Quickly learn about new markets
  • Better understand target audiences, their behaviors, and lifestyles
  • Access detailed reports and maps

Click a report to the left to get started, or click here to view video tutorials. 
Market Profile Reports
– explore by market, gaining insight into the demographic makeup and high-indexing behaviors of individual DMAs or counties.
Lifestyle Analysis Reports
– explore by lifestyle behavior, gaining insight into related behaviors, cross-sell/synergy opportunities, and market potential.
Demographics Reports
– explore by demographic variable, gaining market-by-market insight into where to find your key audiences.
PRIZM Reports
– explore using industry-standard PRIZM groupings, gaining unique insight into the household makeup and lifestyle traits of your target audiences.
The reports in the Local Market Audience Analyst are great sources of information for demographic market research for Metro areas in the United States. What do they look like?   Click here for an example.

Watch this video to better understand this database.
Beware!! NOTE: This database  requires the use of the Internet Explorer web browser. Instructions for specific versions of Internet Explorer: 
IE 7, 8, 9, 
IE 10, 
IE 11

SRDS Service Guides
SRDS PRIZM Groups Definitions
SRDS Claritas Prizm
DMA Profile & Maps   

Mintel Reports

 

Mintel Reports

Database containing over 600 consumer product and service marketing reports. Most are US and UK based. They are full of amazing detail and analysis. This is one of our better sources of consumer psychographic information. Contains "How to market to..." reports.  Gives great insight into both products and target market groups. Note that first time users will have to create a free account. See also our New Strategist Publications collection.  This is a very important marketing resource.

 

Reference USA

 

Reference USA


Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination. Over 24 million United States businesses listed and it is our best source  of information for small private companies.  This is an important database for this course.

 

SBRnet


SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) provides resources related to the business of sports including industry-developed market research, government statistics, facility reports and news, international market publications, customized research, and directories.

 

topStatistical Databases

American FactFinder

 

American FactFinder
The U.S. Census Bureau's source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data drawn from the official United States Census.

 


International Financial Statistics
International Financial Statistics (Online)
International financial data provided by the International Monetary Fund from 1948 to the present.  Includes thousands of economic comparisons.

World Development Indicators

World Development Indicators (Online)
"Provides data and information on the people, economy, environment, and markets of 152 countries, including over 800 indicators.

 

topOther Databases

NBER

 

NBER: National Bureau of Economic Research
Contains the full-text of working papers from the National Bureau of Economics Research. The NBER covers four areas of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals. Many of its publications, including its working papers, NBER reporter, and NBER digest, are available for download. NBER is updated frequently.

See also these three other sources of working papers:
Economics Research Network (ERN)
Research Papers in Economics
EconPapers

 

Oxford English Dictionary

 

Oxford English Dictionary Online
Considered to be the authority on the evolution of the English language. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over 500,000 words, both present and past.

 

OECD iLibrary

 

OECD iLibrary
Contains full-text articles, books and monographs and statistics produced by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Full-text from 1998 forward; statistical data from 2000 forward . Subjects: Agriculture and food, education and skills, employment, emerging economies, energy, enterprise and trade, environment and sustainable development, finance and investment, general economy. Great for international business and economics topics. Updated quarterly.

 

top Search Engines

google
Google
The first place to go to search the web.
msn
Bing
Another fine search engine with its own database.
ref iconKey Business Reference Books in our Library

 


Other Suggested Websites
 

Companies and Financials
This is an annotated list of major sources that can provide information on companies in periodicals, books, special databases, or on the internet, by using search engines like Google. Company websites can be an excellent source of information.

Industry Links
Hundreds of useful free websites categorized by industry.

 

Company Information

Company Annual Reports

Company Histories

Company Information

Company Overview Reports

 

How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another:

 Comparing Companies

 

And, note these Business Reference FAQ's:

Industry Information

Industry Overviews (Reports)

 

NAICS Classification and NAICS Search

What is NAICS?

How to search for NAICS Numbers?

 

SWOT Analysis

How to find SWOT Analysis

 

Comparing Companies -- Financial Ratios

Sources of Ratios


Our featured Financial Ratio Database:

 

BizMinerBizMiner

BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Bizminer is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry. Types of reports:

  • Industry Financial Profiles
  • U.S.  & Local Market Research Reports (includes business failure rates)
  • Area Demographic Profiles
  • Sole Proprietor/Startup Profit & Loss
  • Local Market Vitality Profile
 
 
 
 
BizMiner Video Tutorials

 

And, consult books in our Reference Collection like these:

 

Manufacturing and Distribution USA Manufacturing and Distribution USA: REF HD 9721 .M364 2009 (3 vols.)
[Electronic Versions:  (2009(2011) (2013)  (2015)

This resources does a fine job of showing data over time, and provides important industry analysis.

 

If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:

Presentation Skills

 

 

 

Business Librarian

Jim Vileta
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
e-mail jvileta@d.umn.edu
phone 218.726.6157
fax 218.726.7481

L272 Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
218.726.6157
Website / Blog Page






Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library