Skip to main content

MKTG 3781: International Marketing: Home

Fall 2015 - Ahmed Maamoun

Other Useful Websites

Course Guide

 

MKTG 3781: International Marketing

For Ahmed Maamoun
International Marketing --MKTG 3781

Spring 2015

 

Suggested Sources for Company and Country Analysis 


Business Insights: Essentials
This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews.  Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews.


Business Source Premier
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
In our various business periodical indexes, search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful MarketLine reports by company name.

Global Edge
Your source for statistical data for 201 countries around the world. Find out more about their history, economy and political conditions.


Passport Database (formerly GMID)  (This is your most important source)
This is our best source for international marketing information. Here are narrative reports and statistics on consumer products, consumer lifestyles, and retailing structures of 50-60 major nations, including the United States. 4,000 international company reports can be found here too. Use the keyword “Text” search option located on the upper left corner of the screen.

 

Market Research Library
Access the U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library containing more than 100,000 industry and country-specific market reports, authored by our specialists working in overseas posts.

The Library Includes:

  • Country Commercial Guides (free without registering)
  • Industry Overviews*
  • Market Updates*
  • Multilateral Development Bank Reports*
  • Best Markets*
  • Industry/Regional Reports*

* These market research reports are available only to U.S. companies and students/researchers that are registered with Export.gov. Register here to get access:

 

Mergent Online
Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data. 


MorningStar
More excellent financial data, and make sure to look at current and archived Analyst Research. 

 

NationMaster
Is a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Using their form , you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.


NetAdvantage

Good company information, and make sure to look at the broad industry overviews. These are excellent. 


NewsStand
Browse:
http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=317&SQ=*&vDBID=1906
Search:
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=558
NewsStand is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 30 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.

 

WestLawNext
Offers searching of court rules, statutes, regulations, administrative decisions, and U.S. Supreme Court briefs, among others. Search by keywords or browse by content, materials or topic.  WestlawNext also contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications.  This is a key source for newspaper and trade publication information.


Other Suggested Websites
 

Country Overview Reports in EBSCO
Find excellent country overview reports from five different analyst sources.

Industry Links
Hundreds of useful free websites categorized by industry.

International Regional Reports
Excellent monthly reports for 18 regions of the world, from Business Monitor International.

Country Links A-Z
Over 10,000 country specific links.

World Factbook Online
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

OCED Factbook Online
“…statistical annual with more than 100 indicators covering: • Economy • Agriculture • Education • Energy • Environment • Foreign Aid • Health and Quality of Life • Industry • Information and Communications • Population / Labor Force • Trade and Investment • Taxation, Public Expenditure, and R& D…."

World Development Indicators Online
"Provides data and information on the people, economy, environment, and markets of 152 economies including over 800 indicators. Emphasis is on statistics relating to major development issues. Data is organized into six thematic areas: World View, People, Environment, Economy, Markets, and Global Links. "

How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another

Comparing Companies

 

 

Key Reference Books

 

Countries and Their Cultures: REF GN 307 .C68 2001 (4 vols.)
(see also electronic)

 

 

Craighead's International Business, Travel, and Relocation Guide to 90 Countries: REF HF 5549.5 .E45 D56 2004/2005 (2 vols.)

 

Cross Cultural Issues: Various Call Numbers

 

OECD Factbook: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics: REF HC 10 .O34 2008

 

Political Handbook of the World Political Handbook of the World: REF JF 37 .P61X 2013

 

Political Risk Yearbook: REF HG4538 .P65 2010 (8 vols.)

 

world development indicators World Development Indicators: REF HC 59.69 .W656X 2013
Available also on on EDD Machines Near the Research & Information Desk

 

The World Factbook 2006 The World Factbook 2006: REF G 122 .U56A 2013

 

Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies: REF HC 15 .W675 2002 (4 vols.)

 

 

 

 

 

Business Librarian

Jim Vileta
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
e-mail jvileta@d.umn.edu
phone 218.726.6157
fax 218.726.7481

L272 Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
218.726.6157
Website / Blog Page






Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library