Skip to main content

MKTG 4721: Advertising and Marketing Communications: Home

Fall 2015 -John Kratz

Other Useful Websites

Course Guide


MKTG 4721  Advertising and Marketing Communications SBI, Fall 2015


For John Kratz
Advertising and Marketing Communications SBI -- MKTG 4721
Fall 2015


Finding Books
Business Periodical Databases
Other Periodical Databases
Financial Databases
Marketing Databases
Statistical Databases
Other Databases
Search Engines

LSBE indoors

topFinding Books

umd catalog
UMD Catalog (Advanced)
Search for books, government documents, reference books, videos and periodicals by title using the Advanced Search of the UMD Online Catalog.
Find over 300 MILLION books, government documents, videos found in thousands of libraries. THIS IS OUR BEST SOURCE FOR FINDING AND ORDERING MATERIALS THROUGH OUR FREE INTERLIBRARY LOAN SERVICE. Interlibrary Loans often require 1-3 weeks or more to fulfill.
google book search

Google Book Search
With this exciting and very new service, search for any keywords and discover which books are highly ranked for them. You may be able to find and read a few pages of the the scanned book in context.

MNCAT All Campus Catalog

All-University Catalog Book Search
and search all U of MN campuses just as you would our campus. You can mark "Get-It" for any circulating book held at any campus, including UMD, and it will be pulled and held for you at our Circulation desk. You will be notified by e-mail. UMD requests are usually filled within one day and requests from other campuses can take 2 to 4 working days. This is faster than Inter Library Loan as there is no intermediary processing your request. This is available for faculty, staff and students. FREE! All University of Minnesota book resources are now at your finger tips!!

topBusiness Periodical Databases

Business and Company Resource Center

Business Insights: Essentials
Company & industry news linked to electronic reference books. Contains histories, market shares, rankings, industry surveys, and investment reports.


Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier
Full text of over 3,400 business periodicals. This is our largest business database. It provides our best access to scholarly journals. It also has special reports, including "SWOT" analysis. Note the green "company profiles" tab, which will allow you to access over 5,000 MarketLine Company Profiles.
google scholar

Google Scholar
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to UMD Library electronic holdings via "Find It."

This is a Key Source.  Use it to find industry information, trends, case studies, and examples of problems and solutions.


Contains the full text of newspaper articles from over 350 titles going back over 30 years.  NewsStand provides our only source of electronic access to the Wall Street Journal.  This is a Key Source of newspaper information.  This is a Key Source.  Use it to find industry information, trends, case studies, and examples of problems and solutions.


Regional Business News 
Regional Business News 
Regional Business News is a collection of full text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world. Often news about regional business events, companies, products, and services are found here.  Included in this database are A&G Information, Africa News Service, Inter Press Service, Resource News International, South American Business, M2 Communications, PR Newswire, Business Newswire, Canadian Corporate News, News Bytes News Network and Phillips Business Information Highlights. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events. In order to maintain the most current collection of news, this database contains the most recent 30 days of information from each of these wire sources. Several hundred articles are added to Business Wire News database each day. 
Wall Street Journal

Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)
Contains the full-text Wall Street Journal which has extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments and business-oriented news. This database version from Proquest NewsStand includes business news and analysis, company news, regular columns, special reports, articles on the national and world economy, editorials and opinion, interviews, and Reuters news stories. Excludes charts and free standing tabular data, such as stock tables and other exchange listings.  
Full text coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - current

Lexis Nexis  

Offers searching of court rules, statutes, regulations, administrative decisions, and U.S. Supreme Court briefs, among others. Search by keywords or browse by content, materials or topic.

WestlawNext also contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications. This is a Key Source of news and trade publication information. 

This is a Key Source.  Use it to find industry information, trends, case studies, and examples of problems and solutions.

top Other Periodical Databases

Duluth News Tribune

Duluth News Tribune
A searchable archive of the Duluth News-Tribune, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local businesses, business people, state industries, and economic issues.  You must have a Duluth Public Library user card to access this source.  Consult the Business Librarian if you need access.

Covers 11/1995 - present.

MasterFile Premier

MasterFile Premier
Contains popular and general interest magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Many business topics can be researched here as well. Over 2600 titles are indexed, with over 1950 titles available in full text.


top Financial Databases


BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Bizminer is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry. Types of reports:

-Industry Financial Profiles
- U.S.  & Local Market Research Reports (includes business failure rates)
- Area Demographic Profiles
- Sole Proprietor/Startup Profit & Loss
- Local Market Vitality Profiles

BizMiner Video Tutorials
Mergent Online


Mergent Online
Provides business and financial information for 23,000 U.S. and international companies. Financials for 15 years, balance sheets, income statements "as reported" and can be downloaded to spreadsheet. Includes company overviews, histories financial ratios, and much more. Mergent Online IS OUR BEST SOURCE FOR COMPANY ANNUAL REPORTS.

MorningStar MorningStar
Provides independent investment analysis of 1500 stocks and 2000 mutual funds. Includes current analyst reports for both particular companies and funds with an eye to what is happening in the industry. This is a highly regarded and unique source of financial information.
NetAdvantage NetAdvantage
Contains large Industry Surveys (and overviews of markets) for leading companies in 52 industries. Search by company or industry. Standard & Poor’s stock analysis is available for public companies.
Value Line

Value Line
Provides the current relative rating for performance and safety together with estimated yields, the latest earnings, dividends and p/e data, guidance on current investment policy, analysis and forecasts of the national economy and the stock market. Value Line offers views on the economy and the stock market as well as on stocks of special interest. This is a highly regarded and unique source of financial information.   NOW ONLINE.     (HOW TO READ A VALUE LINE REPORT)


top Marketing Databases

Business Analyst Online 

This is a VERY Key Source.

Business Analyst Online (BAO) Utilizing extensive demographic, consumer spending, and business data, BAO provides detailed information and insights about consumers, their lifestyles and buying behavior, and businesses in your market area. With BAO, you can:
  • Analyze trade areas, competition, supply and demand
  • Evaluate sites
  • Determine population within a specific drive-time or distance
  • Identify and segment customers
  • Reach your customers more effectively
  • Explore markets in the US
  • Click here to create an account and start using.
To start using this database, I recommend viewing this  short video:
FAQ's are here:


More videos on how to use:
If you create an account properly, reports are generated at no charge...if you see a request for payment, you did not created your account properly.




Local Market Audience Analyst ™


 This is a Key Source.

Local Market Audience Analyst ™

Local Market Audience Analyst is the next generation consumer market research tool that delivers sophisticated demographic, segmentation, and targeting data for media planners and consumer marketers.

  • Quickly learn about new markets
  • Better understand target audiences, their behaviors, and lifestyles
  • Access detailed reports and maps
Click a report to the left to get started, or click here to view video tutorials.

Market Profile Reports
    • – explore by market, gaining insight into the demographic makeup and high-indexing behaviors of individual DMAs or counties
Lifestyle Analysis Reports
    • – explore by lifestyle behavior, gaining insight into related behaviors, cross-sell/synergy opportunities, and market potential
Demographics Reports
    • – explore by demographic variable, gaining market-by-market insight into where to find your key audiences.
PRIZM Reports
      • – explore using industry-standard PRIZM groupings, gaining unique insight into the household makeup and lifestyle traits of your target audiences.
Watch this video to better understand this database.

NOTE: Local Market Analyst works in Internet Explorer ONLY.


NOTE: This database  requires the use of the Internet Explorer web browser. Instructions for specific versions of Internet Explorer: 
IE 7, 8, 9, 
IE 10, 
IE 11

SRDS Service Guides
SRDS PRIZM Groups Definitions
SRDS Claritas Prizm

DMA Profile & Maps  
Great demographic data on all the large DMA metro areas.



Global Marketing Information Database
Passport Database from Euromonitor (formerly GMID)
An integrated on-line information system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets, and consumers. The PassportGMID contains over a million demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. To access thousands of international company profiles in the Passport GMID, click on "Browse Reports," and then click on "Company Profiles."
  This could be a Key Source, providing insight into product lines.
Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports
Database containing over 600 consumer product and service marketing reports. Most are US and UK based. They are full of amazing detail and analysis. This is one of our better sources of consumer psychographic information. Note that first time users will have to create a free account. See also our New Strategist Publications collection.  This is a Key Source.

Reference USA

Reference USA
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination.

ReferenceUSA FAQ and Tutorials

How to Use ReferenceUSA
  This is a Key Source.

SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) provides resources related to the business of sports including industry-developed market research, government statistics, facility reports and news, international market publications, customized research, and directories.
SRDS Media Solutions

SRDS Media Solutions
Find advertising rates and circulation information for more than 100,000 U.S. and international media properties including magazines, newspapers, radio, tv/cable, and more.  This can help in building a print, radio, TV ad campaign.



NOTE: Local Market Audience Analyst works in Internet Explorer ONLY.  This is a Key Source.

SRDS Service Guides
SRDS PRIZM Groups Definitions
SRDS Claritas Prizm

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Ulrichsweb, formerly known as Ulrichs Periodical Directory,  now contains nearly a quarter-million serial records, including: academic and scholarly publications, consumer magazines, electronic publications, monographic series, newsletters, newspapers, trade publications, 'zines, and many other types of serial publications. Contact information and advertising rates are also provided. This source can help in building a print ad campaign.

Experian Simmons OneView Database

Marketing students and faculty in LSBE now have access to the Experian Simmons OneView Database. You can learn more about this useful and important database here:

This database cannot be accessed through our library nor through our Business Research Launch Pad. To access this database, consult a LSBE Marketing faculty member.
This is a Very Key Source.

topStatistical Databases

American FactFinder

American FactFinder
The U.S. Census Bureau's source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data drawn from the official United States CensusIt is a source of demographics for states, cities, metro areas, and zip codes.


topOther Databases

Oxford English Dictionary Oxford English Dictionary Online
Considered to be the authority on the evolution of the English language. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over 500,000 words, both present and past.

A multilingual encyclopedia that is collaboratively edited and maintained by thousands of users via wiki software, and is hosted and supported by the non-profit Wikimedia Foundation. In addition to typical encyclopedia entries, Wikipedia includes information more often associated with almanacs, gazetteers, and specialist magazines, as well as coverage of current events. It has over 4 million entries, and is constantly growing. Many articles are long, detailed, with sources and related links. Wikipedia has been controversial because of its open collaborative nature, however it has received good marks in recent scholarly journals. This may be a good place to get an overview of business related definitions, topics or issues.

This is a good place to get an overview of business related definitions, topics or issues. The Wikipedia can help you to find and understand the “keywords” you will need to search our library’s many databases . You may not want to cite the Wikipedia as a source, but it may lead you to sources you can cite. Learn how to make the best use of this wonderful resource.

top Search Engines

The first place to go to search the web.
Another major unique search engines
ref iconKey Business Reference Books in the UMD Library


Other Suggested Websites

Business Reference FAQ's:
This webpage points to sources to answer dozens of common business research questions.

Industry Overviews (Reports):
This webpage reviews where industry overviews can be found in our UMD Library electronic resources.

NAICS Classification and NAICS Search

What is NAICS?

How to search for NAICS Numbers?


Social Media Marketing:
This webpage has links to sites and books that can help you to develop your Social Media Marketing campaign.  This is a Key Source.


Guerrilla Marketing:
This webpage has a comprehensive list of Guerrilla Marketing books available in our UMD Library.  They can provide you with many creative ideas for your marketing plans.  This is a Key Source.


Questionnaires, Surveys, and Focus Groups:
Students may want to consider doing primary research on a given business topic. Primary research allows you to discover and create current information on a specific or localized topic.  We have many books in our Library that can help you better understand how to do this work.  This could be a Key Source.


New Strategist Publications:
Lists and describes our comprehensive collection of New Strategist Publications available in our UMD Library. These books provide valuable statistics and psychographics for consumers in the United States by age, sex, and ethnic group.  This is a Key Sources.


Marketing Books:
This webpage lists hundreds of recent books available in our UMD Library on 28 marketing topics.  This is a Key Source.


Presentation Skills:
If you are giving classroom presentations, this webpage will help you find books and sources to make them the best possible.  This is a Key Source.

Citing Your Sources:
If you are writing a Marketing Plans Report, you will need to cite your sources.  This webpage provides examples in APA Style.  This is a Key Source.


Business Librarian

Jim Vileta
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
phone 218.726.6157
fax 218.726.7481

L272 Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
Website / Blog Page

Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library