Skip to main content
University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark
KATHRYN A. MARTIN LIBRARY

ACCT 3701: SBI Accounting Project: Home

Fall 2017, Loren Erickson

Business Librarian

Jim Vileta's picture
Jim Vileta

Chat Offline


Ask Jim a Question (form)
Schedule Library Instruction
Contact:
email jvileta@d.umn.edu
phone 218.726.6157
fax 218.726.7481

L272 Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
218.726.6157
Website / Blog Page

Other Useful Websites

Course Guide

ACCT 3701  Accounting SBI Project, Fall 2017

For Loren Erickson
Accounting SBI Project -- ACCT 3701
Fall 2017


Suggested Sources for Company and Industrial Analysis

Business Insights: Essentials

This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews. Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews.

Business Source Premier

Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
In our various business periodical indexes, search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful MarketLine reports by company name.

Google Scholar

Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to UMD Library electronic holdings via "Find It." This is a Key Source.  Use it to find industry information, trends, case studies, and examples of problems and solutions.

Mergent Online

Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data. 

Proquest News

Proquest News is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back almost 30 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and hundreds of national and regional newspapers.

Passport (GMID) from Euromonitor

This is our best source for international marketing information. Here are narrative reports and statistics on consumer products, consumer lifestyles, and retailing structures of 50-60 major nations, including the United States. 4,000 international company reports can be found here too. Use the keyword “Text” search option located on the upper right corner of the screen.

Reference USA

Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination.

ReferenceUSA FAQ and Tutorials
 

S&P Capital Capital IQ

Good company information, and make sure to look at the broad industry overviews. These are excellent.

WestLaw News

Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications.  This is a key source for news and trade publications information.


 

 

Other Suggested Websites

Business Reference FAQs:

Industry Information

Industry Overviews (Reports)

 

NAICS Classification and NAICS Search:

What is NAICS?

How to search for NAICS Numbers?

 

Comparing Companies -- Financial Ratios:

Sources of Ratios


Our featured Financial Ratio Database:

BizMiner (this is a KEY source)   BizMiner

BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. BizMiner is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry. Types of reports:

  • Industry Financial Profiles
  • U.S.  & Local Market Research Reports (includes business failure rates)
  • Area Demographic Profiles
  • Sole Proprietor/Startup Profit & Loss
  • Local Market Vitality Profile



And, consult books in our reference collection like these:

Manufacturing and Distribution USA
Manufacturing and Distribution USA
REF HD 9721 .M364 2006 (3 volumes)
Electronic Versions:  (2009(2011) (2013) (2015) (2017)
A guide to economic activity in 458 manufacturing industries, providing analysis and synthesis of federal statistics. Up to 75 leading companies in each industry are ranked by sales, with addresses, number of employees, and other information. Selected business ratios are given for each industry.

 

If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:

Presentation Skills