Skip to main content

MGTS 4481: Strategic Management: Home

Spring 2016 - Geoffrey Bell

Other Useful Websites

Course Guide

 

MGTS 4481: Strategic Management

 

For Geoffrey Bell
Strategic Management -- MGTS 4481
Spring 2016

 

Suggested Sources for Company and Industrial Analysis 


Business Insights: Essentials
This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews.  Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews.  Be sure to search  by company name in the upper right  search box.  Locate and read: http://bi.galegroup.com/essentials/article/GALE|RN2501400632/bcccc2f1948621488a9608bb0c19cadd?u=mnauduluth " and  "  http://bi.galegroup.com/essentials/article/GALE|RN2501400627/bcccc2f1948621488a9608bb0c19cadd?u=mnauduluth "

 

Business Source Premier
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
In our various business periodical indexes, search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful MarketLine reports by company name.  Be sure to find the industry overview:
"Utilities Industry Profile: United States. Jan2015, p1-36. 36p. "  and "Energy Overview, in,U.S. Industry Quarterly Review: Energy. 2015, p1-7. 7p." and "Electricity Industry Profile: United States. Feb2014, p1-42. 43p. "

Hoover's Company Profiles
Hoover's delivers concise and current information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, strategy, and more. This database covers more than 40,000 public and non-public companies, as well as 225,000 key executives. Search by company name.

Passport (GMID) from Euromonitor
This is our best source for international marketing information. Here are narrative reports and statistics on consumer products, consumer lifestyles, and retailing structures of 50-60 major nations, including the United States. 4,000 international company reports can be found here too. Use the keyword “Text” search option located on the upper left corner of the screen.  Make sure you find the report: "Production, Collection and Distribution of Electricity in USA: ISIC 401."

 

Mergent Online
Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data. Search by company name.

 

Mintel Reports
Database containing over 600 consumer product and service marketing reports. Most are US and UK based. They are full of amazing detail and analysis. 


MorningStar
More excellent financial data, and make sure to look at current and archived Analyst Research. Search by company name.


NetAdvantage
Good company information, and make sure to look at the broad industry overviews. These are excellent. Search by company namd, and also, be Sure to find the industry overview:  "Electric Utilities."


NewsStand
Browse:
http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=317&SQ=*&vDBID=1906

Search:
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=558
NewsStand is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 30 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.


Economist

New York Times


Wall Street Journal

 

 

Reference USA
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination.

 

WestLawNext
Offers searching of court rules, statutes, regulations, administrative decisions, and U.S. Supreme Court briefs, among others. Search by keywords or browse by content, materials or topic.  WestlawNext also contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications. This is a Key Source of newspaper and trade publication information.  Look up recent articles on trends and developments in the Utilities industry.

 

Other Suggested Websites

Companies and Financials
This is an annotated list of major sources that can provide information on companies in periodicals, books, special databases, or on the internet, by using search engines like Google. Company websites can be an excellent source of information.

Industry Links
Hundreds of useful free websites categorized by industry.

 

Company Information

Company Annual Reports

Company Histories

Company Overview Reports

 

How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another:

 Comparing Companies

 

And, note these Business Reference FAQ's:

Industry Information

Industry Overviews (Reports)

 

NAICS Classification and NAICS Search

What is NAICS?

How to search for NAICS Numbers?

 

SWOT Analysis

How to find SWOT Analysis

 

Comparing Companies -- Financial Ratios

Sources of Ratios

 

Our featured Financial Ratio Database:

BizMinerBizMiner

 

BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Bizminer is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry. Types of reports:

  • Industry Financial Profiles
  • U.S.  & Local Market Research Reports (includes business failure rates)
  • Area Demographic Profiles
  • Sole Proprietor/Startup Profit & Loss
  • Local Market Vitality Profile
 
BizMiner Video Tutorials

 

 

   

If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:

Presentation Skills


If you are writing a marketing Plans Report, you will need to cite your sources.  Note that you will find useful information in:

Citing Your Sources

Business Librarian

Jim Vileta
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
e-mail jvileta@d.umn.edu
phone 218.726.6157
fax 218.726.7481

L272 Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
218.726.6157
Website / Blog Page






Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library