Skip to main content
University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark
KATHRYN A. MARTIN LIBRARY

Political Science: Find Scholarly Articles and Journals

eJournal Locator

eJournal Locator

Starts WithContains
University of Minnesota Duluth Library
 

Search Tips

Selecting Key Words

  • Formulate your research question, then break it into key concepts
  • Identify terms
  • Consider synonyms. For example, you could use global warming, climate change, or greenhouse effect

Narrowing and Expanding

Too Many Results? Try Narrowing Your Search by:

  • Time period
  • Location
  • Specific aspect or event

  Not Enough Results? Try Expanding Your Search by:

  • Search for related issues or industries
  • Try additional keywords 

Additional Tips

  • Are there any databases or indexes you haven’t searched yet?
  • Keep in mind, some topics are so new (especially current events), you may not be able to find many books, so you might want to look at newspapers or periodicals.

Google Scholar Integration

UMD Library users can link their UMD  X.500 User Accounts with Google Scholar which allows for quicker access to scholarly articles. Take advantage of database and subscriptions through our FindIt! link resolver!

  1. Go to scholar.google.com
  2. Sign in with your UMD Credentials in upper right hand corner
  3. In the upper right hand corner, click on the three parallel lines, then on the gear/sprocket
  4. Click on the Library Links Tab. Search UMD Library, and check the box for "University of Minnesota Dulut - Findit@UMD.  (You can also add "World Cat" & "University of Minnesota Duluth - ProQuest Full text")

Using Find It

If the article is not available in full-text within the database click the icon (available in many of the database) to help you retrieve the full-text article. Another window will open to MNCAT Discovery.

After clicking the UMD Find It icon, if the article is not available online or in the library, MNCAT Discovery will say "Check availability":

  • If you are not already logged into your library account, click Sign in to request
  • Click Interlibrary Loan and log in using your UMD credentials.
  • Choose "date needed by" and your department.
  • Submit your request. If you need assistance contact a librarian.

For more information, Watch the Find It Tutorial.

UMD Political Science Databases