Skip to main content
University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark
KATHRYN A. MARTIN LIBRARY

HLTH 3115: Consumer Health Education: Web Resources

Alternative Health

List of some alternative health web sites.

  • Dr.Weil.com
    Questions and answers from "Ask Dr. Weil." http://www.drweil.com/drw/ecs/index.html
  • Quackwatch
    Provides information on health fraud, quackery, and help in making health decisions, especially dealing with chiropractic, dental, homeopathic, multilevel marketing and nutrition. http://www.quackwatch.org/

Drug Information

Link to web sites regarding drugs and herbs.

  • Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER)
    FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and Research site which provides links to drug data, new drug approvals, safety issues, public health alerts, regulatory news, and information fact sheets.
  • Drug Information Portal
    The National Library of Medicine (NLM) Drug Information Portal give the public, health care professionals, and researchers a gateway to current, accurate and understandable drug information.
  • HerbMed
    Information about herbs developed by the Alternative Medicine Foundation, Inc. The public site allows you to look at the 20 most popular herbs. http://www.herbmed.org/

  • HealthSquare: PDR® Family Guide To Prescription Drug
    Comprehensive information about more than 1,000 prescription medications, including side effects and possible food and drug interactions. Data supplied by the "PDR Family Guide To Prescription Drugs". This resource also has "PDR Family Guide Encyclopedia of Medicine" and "PDR Family Guide Women's Health". http://www.healthsquare.com/drugmain.htm
  • RxList.com
    Provides information on prescription drugs. http://www.rxlist.com/

Evaluation of Medical Web Sites

Information on how to evaluate medical information on the Internet.

General Medical/Health

Some of the many large web sites that collect information on medicine and health.

  • HealthScout
    Provides information on consumer health, news and health tools. http://www.healthscout.com/nav/home/1/main.html
  • InteliHealth
    Harvard Medical School's consumer health information. http://www.intelihealth.com
  • ipl2 - Health
    This site merged resources from the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII). It is hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology and a consortium of colleges and universities.  http://www.ipl.org/IPLBrowse/GetSubject?vid=13&tid=6840&parent=0
  • MayoClinic.Com
    Health information developed by the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research. http://www.MayoClinic.com/
  • NOAH: New York Online Acces to Health
    "Librarians and health professionals in New York and beyond find, select, and organize full-text consumer health information." http://www.noah-health.org/
  • WebMD
    Provides health information, health tools on health, drugs, eating, and healthy living. http://www.webmd.com/

Government Web Sites

List of government web sites related to health.

  • HealthFinder
    Health information provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. http://www.healthfinder.gov/
  • Health Information
    Developed by the National Institutes of Health. http://health.nih.gov/
  • MEDLINEplus Health Information
    Developed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health. Provides access to health topics, drug information, a medical encyclopedia, dictionaries, medical news and directories. http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/
  • Nutrition.gov
    "A guide to nutrition and health information on Federal Government websites." http://www.nutrition.gov/
  • PubMed
    PubMed is the medline index developed by the National Library of Medicine. It is the major index used by doctors, health professionals and consumers to locate professional journal citations. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/

Health Care Providers

Resources regarding doctors, hospitals and nursing homes.

  • AHA guide to the health care field by the American Hospital Association. REF RA977 .A44 2011
    List of the hospitals in the United States and brief information about them.
  • ahd.com
    The American Hospital directory provides for free limited information about hospitals. More detailed information is available if a subscriber. http://www.ahd.com/
  • Doctor.com
    Search for a doctor by location, medical specialty, health insurance and more. http://www.doctor.com/Find-A-Doctor.php
  • Nursing Home Compare
    Medicare provides information on nursing homes. http://www.medicare.gov/NHCompare/home.asp
  • Official ABMS directory of board certified medical specialists by the American Board of Medical Specialties. REF R712.A1 O335
    Use to locate doctors that have been certified by the American Board of Medical Specialties.

 

Medical Associations/Organizations

Web sites from medical associations and organizations.

  • American Cancer Society
    The American Cancer Society (ACS) is a "nationwide, community- based voluntary health organization. http://www.cancer.org/docroot/home/index.asp
  • American Diabetes Association
    The American Diabetes Association is a " nonprofit health organization providing diabetes research, information and advocacy." http://www.diabetes.org
  • American Heart Association
    The American Heart Association main goal is to "reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke." A Heart & Stroke Encyclopedia is part of the site as well as other tools. http://americanheart.org
  • American Lung Association
    The American Lung Association's mission is to "prevent lung disease and promote lung health". http://www.lungusa.org/
  • Healthy Women
    Provides information health centers, conditions & treatments, healthy living and all aspects of interest to women. http://www.healthywomen.org/
  • KidsHealth
    KidsHealth is unique in that it provides information for parents, kids and teens. http://www.kidshealth.org/

Society for Women's Health Research

Research

Information on clinical trials and research.

  • Cancer.gov
    Information on cancer information, trials and statistics. http://www.cancer.gov/
  • ClinicalTrials.gov
    This resources is developed ty the National Library of Medicine to "provide patients, family members and members of the public current information about clinical research studies." http://www.clinicaltrials.gov/
  • Lab Tests Online
    Developed by a collaboration among professional societies representing the clinical laboratory community to provide information on lab tests. http://www.labtestsonline.org/

Health/Medicine

Health & Medicine on the Web - a health & medicine database developed by Jim Vileta (UMD Business Librarian.

Reference Librarian

Kayleen Jones's picture
Kayleen Jones

Chat Offline

Contact:
Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library 264
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812
Schedule an appointment
218-726-8733