Minnesota Volunteer Teaching Activities
The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources provides activies that can be downloaded and used in the classroom. Areas covered are: foreests; geology, soil, mining; plants; prairies; wildfire; field trip ideas; outdoor classrooms; and school forests.
This website by the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources provides pictures and facts about nature; animals; ecological classification system; plants; native plant communities; rocks and minerals; endangered species; invasive species; climate; forests; prairies; and water.
The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources provides information on safety for hunters; recreational vehicle; boat and water, and ice as well as natural resources education.
Minnesota Sea Grant Extension Program Lacustrine Lessons
This collection contains issues of Lacustrine Lessons, published five times during the school year as an educational service of the Minnesota Sea Grant Extension Program. It was published with funds provided by the Office of Sea Grant, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, U.S. Dept. of Commerce, and the University of Minnesota through Continuing Education and Extension and the Agricultural Extension Service.
Classroom Resources: Young Naturalists stories with teachers guides
Minnesota Conservation Volunteer magazine's Young Naturalists series is designed to engage elementary and middle school students with a wide variety of nonfiction topics on natural science and outdoor life. Each Young Naturalists teachers guide includes ready-made classroom activities and how those activities connect to current Minnesota Academic Standards. Current and past Young Naturalists stories and guides can be downloaded at Young Naturalists stories with teachers guides.
The library received 15 booklets and the teacher's guide from Nov/Dec 2003 - Mar/April 2023. They are put into a kit to be used by educators. Those kits can be found on the third floor of the library in the Teaching Materials and Kits collection. Here is a floor map of the third floor showing where to find the collection.The call number for the kits is TKS 636.