Skip to main content
University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark
KATHRYN A. MARTIN LIBRARY

Communication Sciences and Disorders: Locating Materials

Using UMD Find It

UMD FindIt icon in Citation

View Online Tab

  1. If citation has a  icon below the citation, click on UMD FindIt.
  2. Under the View Online tab, click the database which has the year you need.
  3. This will normally take you directly to the article.

Find or Request Tab with Library Holding

  1. If Library holding appears, check to see which library owns the volume/year you need.
  2. You can use Get It to request the item.
  3. You will receive an email within two business days and you can pick up the journal at the Circulation Check Out desk.

Find or Request Tab with Interlibrary Loan

  1. If the item is not available, click on Interlibrary Loan.
  2. At the Logon, sign in using your UMD Internet ID and password.
  3. Your Photocopy/Article Request will populate. Click on Submit Request.
  4. Journal articles usually arrive between 1 to 5 days.

How Do I Find an Article when I Know its Citation

UMD Find It Not Available

View Online

  1. Click on the All Campuses Library Catalog
  2. Click on Sign in (upper right corner). Sign in using your UMD Internet ID (username) and password. This will provide more options.
  3. At Material Type, change to Journals and type in the journal title.
  4. Click on the journal title. If multiple version, you need to look at both records.
  5. Click on View Online tab, this shows you the databases that have this title full-text. Check the dates and click on the database that has the correct dates. 
  6. In the Publication Information, click on the year, locate the correct volume and issue.
  7. Click on the volume/issue and arrow down to your article.

Find or Request

  1. If not available through View Online, click on the Find or Request tab. If it shows libraries, check to see if the issue you need is available. 
  2. Click on the library that carries the volume/year you need. Click on the Get It icon to request the volume/year you need. Instructions for Get It
  3. If not available through Get It, click on Interlibrary Loan. Log in with your UMD Internet ID and password.
  4. At the top, choose Article, Book, or Other.
  5. Fill out the form and click on Submit Request.

Books, Media, Government Documents and Special Collectons

Location of Library Materials

  • American Indian Learning Resource Center - 315 Kirby Plaza
  • Archives & Special Collections - Annex second floor
  • Audiobooks - located at end of bestsellers on the 1st floor
  • Bestsellers - back of first floor
  • Books A-L - regular loan on the 3rd floor.
  • Books M-Z - regular loan on the 4th floor.
  • Children's Books - 3rd floor
  • DVD - 1st floor Circulation Desk
  • Folio - books with folio before the call number are located behind the Z's on 4th floor.
  • GLBT Collection - 247 Kirby Student Center
  • Government Documents - 3rd floor (print & microfiche).
  • Indexes (Print) - Annex second floor
  • Journals (Microfiche/microfilm) - 3rd floor
  • Journals (Print) - Annex both 1st & 2nd floors
  • Microfilm/Microfiche - 3rd floor in cabinets
  • Reference - on the 2nd floor.
  • Teaching Materials - 3rd floor
  • Video Cassette - 1st floor Circulation Desk

Collections - use to search a material type (e.q., DVD/Video, E-Books, etc.) or a collection (Children's Literature, Teaching Materials, Government Documents, etc.)

Reserves - books and media placed on reserve by faculty. You must be enrolled in the course to see what is on reserve.