Skip to main content

MGTS 4481: Strategic Management, Spring 2015, Allen Harmon: Home

Other Useful Websites

Course Guide


MGTS 4481: Strategic Management


For Allen Harmon
Strategic Management -- MGTS 4481
Fall 2015


Suggested Sources for Company and Industrial Analysis 

Business Insights: Essentials
This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews.  Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews. Be sure to search by company name in the upper right search box.

Business Source Premier
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
In our various business periodical indexes, search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful MarketLine reports by company name.  Be sure to find the industry overview for you topic in this database. They will include the Porter's Five Forces.


Passport (GMID) from Euromonitor
This is our best source for international marketing information. Here are narrative reports and statistics on consumer products, consumer lifestyles, and retailing structures of 50-60 major nations, including the United States. 4,000 international company reports can be found here too. Use the keyword “Text” search option located on the upper left corner of the screen.  Search for companies, products, and industries.


Mergent Online
Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data.  Be sure to local company annual reports and download the "Mergent Report" for your company.


Mintel Reports
Database containing over 600 consumer product and service marketing reports. Most are US and UK based. They are full of amazing detail and analysis. 

More excellent financial data, and make sure to look at current and archived Analyst Research. 

Good company information, and be sure to look at the broad industry overviews. These are excellent. 




NewsStand is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 20 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York TimesUse NewsStand to update the information you will find in your industry overviews.


New York Times

Wall Street Journal



Reference USA
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination.



Offers searching of court rules, statutes, regulations, administrative decisions, and U.S. Supreme Court briefs, among others. Search by keywords or browse by content, materials or topic.  WestlawNext also contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications.  This is a key source for news and trade publications. Also, be sure to look at the Hoover's Company Profiles, in the news section of WestlawNext.

Other Suggested Websites

Companies and Financials
This is an annotated list of major sources that can provide information on companies in periodicals, books, special databases, or on the internet, by using search engines like Google. Company websites can be an excellent source of information.

Industry Links
Hundreds of useful free websites categorized by industry.


Company Information

Company Annual Reports

Company Histories

Company Information

Company Overview Reports


How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another:

 Comparing Companies


And, note these Business Reference FAQ's:

Industry Information

Industry Overviews (Reports)


NAICS Classification and NAICS Search

What is NAICS?

How to search for NAICS Numbers?


SWOT Analysis

How to find SWOT Analysis


Comparing Companies -- Financial Ratios

Sources of Ratios

Our featured Financial Ratio Database:



BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. BizMiner is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry. Types of reports:

  • Industry Financial Profiles
  • U.S.  & Local Market Research Reports (includes business failure rates)
  • Area Demographic Profiles
  • Sole Proprietor/Startup Profit & Loss
  • Local Market Vitality Profile
BizMiner Video Tutorials


And, consult books in our Reference Collection like these:


Manufacturing and Distribution USA Manufacturing and Distribution USA: REF HD 9721 .M364 2006 (3 vols.)
[Electronic Versions:  (2009(2011) (2013)  (2015)

Search Manufacturing & Distribution USA most recent year (and older issues, if you need historical data).  Search by keywords of your industry to find four page snapshots of each industry.  This is a great source!

If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:

Presentation Skills




Business Librarian

Jim Vileta
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
phone 218.726.6157
fax 218.726.7481

L272 Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
Website / Blog Page

Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library