Skip to main content
University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark
KATHRYN A. MARTIN LIBRARY

PSY 3021: Experimental Design and Methodology: Additional Sources

Tests and Measurments Resources

Hersen, Michel. (1988). Dictionary of behavioral assessment techniques. New York : Pergamon Press. BF176.5 .D53 1988

Provides a guide to assessment devices used to evaluate clients, patients and subjects. The table of contents lists the techniques in alphabetical order including the source for the technique. Each test includes a description, purpose, development, psychometric characteristics, clinical use, future directions and references. An author index is in the back.

Ostrow, Andrew C. (1996). Directory of psychological tests in the sport and exercise sciences. (2nd ed). Morgantown, WV : Fitness Information Technology. REF GV706.4 .D57 1996

Covers 175 questionnaires or inventories located in selected journals and conference proceedings but does not review or evaluate them. Each test includes the test title, author, source, purpose, description, construction, reliability, validity, norms, availability and references. Aspects covered are achievement orientation, aggression, anxiety, attention, attitudes toward exercise and physical activity, attitudes/values toward sport, attributions, body image, cognitive strategies, cohesion, confidence, imagery, leadership, life adjustment, locus of control, motivation (exercise), motivation (sport), and sex roles. A Code of Fair Testing Practices in Education is listed in the back of the book. Indexes include: subject, test author, test title, and test acronym indexes referring to the test number.

Test Collection, Educational Testing Service. (1986-1993). The ETS test collection catalog. Phoenix, AR : Oryx Press. LB3051 .E79 Vols. 1 - 6 and (2nd ed.). Vols. 1-2

Vol. 1: Achievement tests and measurement devices (1st & 2nd ed).
Vol. 2: Vocational tests and measurement devices (1st & 2nd ed).
Vol. 3: Tests for special populations
Vol. 4: Cognitive aptitude and intelligence tests
Vol. 5: Attitude tests
Vol. 6: Affective measures and personality tests

Tests cover all age and grade levels from elementary school through adults. Each entry includes the test title, author, descriptors and/or identifiers, availability source, and an abstracts. When available, publication or copyright date, number of test items, and the time required for an individual to complete the test is included. The tests are arranged by abstract number in the front of the book with access to the tests through the subject, author and test title indexes in the back.

Touliatos, John. (2001). Handbook of family measurement techniques. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications. REF HQ728 .H267 2001 V. 1-3

This book covers 976 instruments which deal with family related measurement. Volume 1 has abstracts from 1929 to 1986 and volume 2 covers the years from 1987 to 1996. Test abstracts include title, variables measured, type of instrument, description, sample items, comments, references, and availability. Broad subject classifications are arranged by: dimensions of marital and family interaction, intimacy and family values, parenthood, roles and power, and adjustment. Codes above the test number provide further information regarding categories, participants and focus of study. Indexes include author, title and subject. All unpublished tests listed in this source are available from the National Auxiliary Publications Service. Selected tests in volume 3 have the full test available.

Davis, Clive M. (1998). Handbook of sexuality-related measures. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications. REF HQ60 .H34 1998

This book covers over 197 instruments are reproduced with information regarding their use and measure sexuality-related states, traits, behaviors, and outcomes. Topics cover abortion, aging, general and specific attitudes and behavior, contraception, dysfunctions, education, gender identity, homosexuality, ideology, jealousy, rape, and sexually transmitted diseases.

Bringle, Robert G. (2004). The measure of service learning : research scales to assess student experiences. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. REF LC220.5 .B75 2004

This book covers scales the measure key constructs associated with the experiences of students in service learning classes. Some of the types of research scales covered are motives and values; moral development; self and self-concept; student development; attitudes; and critical thinking. Each scale provides information regarding the source, construct, description, estimated time to administer, reliability, validity, gender differences,comments, references and the scale.

Robinson, John P. (1991). Measures of personality and social psychological attitudes. San Diego : Academic Press. REF BF698.4 .M38 1990

This volume covers measures of social psychological attitudes. A chapter covers the criteria for scale selection and evaluation and the second chapter covers response bias. Each chapter covers background and a bibliography. Some of the types of measures included are: subjective well-being; self-esteem; social anxiety, shyness and related constructs; depression and loneliness; alienation and anomie; interpersonal trust and attitudes toward human nature; authoritarianism and related constructs; sex roles; and values. Experts in the field evaluated and selected the top 10 -20 measures in their fields. The measures included the title, description, sample used to determine reliability and validity, reliability, validity, location, and results and comments.

Robinson, John P. (1999). Measures of political attitudes. San Diego : Academic Press. JA 74.5 .R6 1999

This book looks at the reliability and validity of major political measures, as well as discussing issues of scale construction and interpretation. The actual scale items or complete measures are included. The following areas are covered: embracing public opinion polls: racial, ethnic, international and religious attitudes; responses to advertising campaigns; and alienation from politics, party identification, and participation.

McDowell, I. (2006). Measuring health : a guide to rating scales and questionnaires. (3rd ed.). Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press. RA408.5 .M38 2005

This book cover the theoretical and technical foundations of health measurement as well, as samples of scales and questionnaires. Each test covers the purpose, conceptual basis, reliability, validity, commentary and references for each test. Scales and questionnaires cover the areas of: physical disability and handicap; social health; psychological well-being; depression; mental status testing; pain measurements; and general health status and quality of life.

Lake, Dale G. (1973). Measuring human behavior; tools for the assessment of social functioning. New York : Teachers College Press. REF BF698.5 .L34

The first section covers reviews of instruments in the social functioning areas. Each instrument includes the following items: test title, authors, availability, variables, description, administration and scoring, development, critique, general comment, references and key words. The second section includes reviews of published collections of instruments in the social sciences. Instruments are arranged alphabetically by title. Key words and author indexes are provided.

Lopez, Shane J.  (2003). Positive psychological assessment : a handbook of models and measures. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. REF BF176 .P67 2003

This book provides scales dealing with a positive perspective on explaining things. Models and measures cover cognitive; emotional, interpersonal; religious and philosophical; and positive processes, outcomes and environments. Each chapter covers the research on the topic covered, as well as the test and references.

Shaw, Marvin E. (1967). Scales for the measurement of attitudes. New York : McGraw-Hill. REF BF378.A75 S45 1967

This book provides attitude scales toward social practices; social issues and problems; international issues; political and religious attitudes; ethnic and national groups; significant others; and social institutions. The scale and test is shown in many instances.

Beere, Carole A. (1990). Sex and gender issues: A handbook of tests and measures. New York : Greenwood Press. REF BF692 .B38 1990

This book describes 197 measures covering heterosexual relations; sexuality; contraception and abortion; pregnancy and childbirth; somatic issues; homosexuality; rape and coercion; family violence; body image and appearance; eating disorders; and other scales. Each measure includes the title of the test, authors, date (of publication), variables, type of instrument, description, sample items; previous subjects; appropriate for; administration; scoring; development; reliability; validity; notes and comments; available from; used in; and a bibliography. Measures can be located using the scale title; scale authors; variables measured by scales and scale users indexes.

Manusov, Valerie Lynn. (2005). The sourcebook of nonverbal measures : going beyond words. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum. REF P99.5 .S58 2005 and Online.

This book provides information on nonverbal measures. The measures cover participant/observer reports; coding and rating; physiological measures; and paradigms and practices for nonverbal communication.

Fields, Dail L. (2002). Taking the measure of work : a guide to validated scales for organizational research and diagnosis. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage. HM786 .F54 2002

This books identifies measurements in how employees view their work and organization. It discusses measurements for job satisfaction; organizational commitment; job characteristics; job stress; job roles; organizational justice; work-family conflict; person-organization fit; workplace behaviors; and workplace values.

Beere, Carole A. (1979). Women and women's issues: a handbook of tests and measures. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass. HQ1180 .B43

This index covers 220 English language instruments used to measure the study of women's issues. Information includes the number and title, authors, date, variables, type of instrument, description, previously administered to, appropriate for (sex and age), administration, sample items, scoring, development, reliability, validity, notes and comments, source, and bibliography. Instruments were organized in the following categories: sex roles, sex stereotypes, sex role prescriptions, children's sex roles, gender knowledge,marital and parental roles, employee roles, multiple roles, attitudes toward women's issues, somatic and sexual issues, and unclassified. Indexes included: Index of instrument titles, index of names, and index of variables measured.