MGTS 4474: International Management
For Sanjay Goel
International Management -- MGTS 4474
Suggested Sources for Company and Industrial Analysis
Business Insights: Essentials
http://libguides.d.umn.edu/go.php?c=12150737 This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews. Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews.
Business Source Premier
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
In our various business periodical indexes, search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful DataMonitor reports by company name.
Your source for statistical data for 201 countries around the world. Find out more about their history, economy and political conditions.
Global Marketing Information Database (GMID)
http://libguides.d.umn.edu/go.php?c=1215064359 This is our best source for international marketing information. Here are narrative reports and statistics on consumer products, consumer lifestyles, and retailing structures of 50-60 major nations, including the United States. 4,000 international company reports can be found here too. Use the keyword “Text” search option located on the upper left corner of the screen.
Lexis Nexis Academic
http://www.d.umn.edu/lib/lurl/LibGo.php?TiPrimaryID=14 Search for periodicals on topics, and make sure to find a Hoovers In-Depth Company Reports in the “Business” section of the database.
Market Research Library
Access the U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library containing more than 100,000 industry and country-specific market reports, authored by our specialists working in overseas posts.
The Library Includes:
* These market research reports are available only to U.S. companies and students/researchers that are registered with Export.gov. Register here to get access:
http://libguides.d.umn.edu/go.php?c=121506511 Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data.
http://library.morningstar.com/Default.html More excellent financial data, and make sure to look at current and archived Analyst Research.
http://www.nationmaster.com/index.php a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Using their form , you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
http://libguides.d.umn.edu/go.php?c=1215064356 Good company information, and make sure to look at the broad industry overviews. These are excellent.
Our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 20 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.
New York Times
Wall Street Journal
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination.
Other Suggested Websites
Companies and Financials
This is an annotated list of major sources that can provide information on companies in periodicals, books, special databases, or on the internet, by using search engines like Google. Company websites can be an excellent source of information.
Country Overview Reports in EBSCO
Find excellent country overview reports from six different analyst sources.
Hundreds of useful free websites categorized by industry.
International Regional Reports
Excellent monthy reports for 18 regions of the world, from Business Monitor International.
Country Links A-Z
Over 10,000 country specific links.
How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another
Craighead's International Business, Travel, and Relocation Guide to 90 Countries: REF HF 5549.5 .E45 D56 2004/2005 (2 vols.)
Cross Cultural Issues: Various Call Numbers
OECD Factbook: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics: REF HC 10 .O34 2008
Political Handbook of the World: REF JF 37 .P61X 2013
Political Risk Yearbook: REF HG4538 .P65 2010 (8 vols.)
World Development Indicators: REF HC 59.69 .W656X 2013
Available also on on EDD Machines Near the Research & Information Desk
The World Factbook 2006: REF G 122 .U56A 2013
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies: REF HC 15 .W675 2002 (4 vols.)