Skip to main content
University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark
KATHRYN A. MARTIN LIBRARY

HLTH 3301: Foundations of Health Education: Part I & II - Find Citations for...

Spring 2018

Databases

Parts I & II

I. Use a database to locate and give a bibliographic cite for a recent article related to each of these topics: 

a.  HIV/AIDS prevention 

b.  ethical practice in public health education and promotion

II. Use a database to locate and give a bibliographic cite for recent  articles written by these health education leaders: 

a.  Cheryl L. Perry 

b.  Marc A. Zimmerman

Choose from databases in the left hand column of this guide to help you find articles and specific authors.  This is a limited listing of databases provided by the UMD Library; you can see a full list at http://libguides.d.umn.edu/az.php

For each search, be aware that you can limited by type of Publication, Article, Author, Year, Language and file type.  You'll want to be especially aware of the ability to limit by year.

Locating Full-Text Article

Within Databases with

  • Click on  , and another window will open.
  • If the  View Online tab shows that an article is full-text, click on the database link. Normally, it will take you directly to the article.
  • If the View Online tab is not available, click on the Find or Request tab.
    • This tab will first show if the journal is available in print or microfiche. If available, it will show which library carries the journal. You need to check to see if the year or volume is available. You can use Get It to have the item pulled and sent to you. You will be notified by email when the item is ready to be picked up at the Circulation Check Out desk.
    • If not available, click on Interlibrary Loan. We can request the article from another library. Log on the ILLiad using your UMD Internet ID (x.500 username) and password. Articles usually arrive within 1 to 5 days.

Databases with No UMD Find It

  • Check the E-Journal (eJournals) tab on the Library homepage. Type in the title of the journal and it will show you which resources carry the journal full-text online. You will need to search for the article, typically by year, volume and then issue.
  • If not available through the E-Journal tab, search the Library Catalog to see if available in print or microform. You might want to change the Search Scope (under Advanced Search) to All Campuses Catalog. If the journal is in print at another institution, you could request the print through Get It.
  • Articles can be requested through Interlibrary Loan for items not available at the Kathryn A. Martin Library or cannot be borrowed from another University of Minnesota library through Get It. Books usually arrive within 3 to 10 days. You are notified by email when the item is available. Journal articles arrive as a PDF.