Skip to main content
University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark
KATHRYN A. MARTIN LIBRARY

WRIT 1120: College Writing: Find Articles

Resources, tools and research strategies for students enrolled in WRIT 1120

Getting Started

Start your research with our general databases: they cover most topics, and include articles from academic journals, magazines, and news sources.   For more help, see the library's Find Articles tutorial.

To find more resources, try a subject database related to your research topic!

Searching Databases

Use this handout to help you get started searching the general databases.

Using Find It

If the article is not available in full-text within the database click the icon (available in many of the database) to help you retrieve the full-text article. Another window will open to MNCAT Discovery.

After clicking the UMD Find It icon, if the article is not available online or in the library, MNCAT Discovery will say "Check availability":

  • If you are not already logged into your library account, click Sign in to request
  • Click Interlibrary Loan and log in using your UMD credentials.
  • Choose "date needed by" and your department.
  • Submit your request. If you need assistance contact a librarian.

For more information, Watch the Find It Tutorial.

Find It Video

What is a Scholarly Article?

Many of your professors may ask you to primarily use scholarly or peer-reviewed sources in your research. To find out what this means, watch the video below.

For more information about evaluating sources, see the library's Evaluating Sources tutorial.

How do I find an article when I know its citation?