Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: NEMHC Collections

Using the Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections

The UMD Archives & Special Collections at the Kathryn A. Martin Library, University of Minnesota Duluth documents regional history. The Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections document St. Louis, Lake, Cook and Carlton counties. The majority of holdings date between the 1890s and 1930s. Area history is represented in categories of social history, development of Duluth, notable Duluthians, and Duluth-Superior port development. The collecions are available to meet the research needs of UMD faculty and students and also the general public. Our materials are not well suited to the needs of family history research or K-12 students.

The Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections include maps and photographs, architectural records, manuscript collections, family papers, business and organizational records, oral histories, serials, books, and pamphlets. These collections include the paper-based archives of the St. Louis County Historical Society.

Collections are housed in closed stacks. Materials are not available for browsing or borrowing and must be used in the archives' reading room. For your convenience, please contact archives' staff in advance of a visit to determine if there are resources pertinent to your research. Prior contact will allow us to identify and retrieve materials for you.

Please contact us by email or telephone to begin your research; or use this guide for links to a variety of information resources including online access to our photograph collections.

Use and Permissions

Donating Records

We are happy to consider donations at any time. If you are interested in donating records to the Archives' local history collection please see our contact information at the top of this page. Staff can indicate whether this is the appropriate repository for records and the best steps for their placement. Donations become the property of the Kathryn A. Martin Library and copyrights are transferred to the Library through a signed donor form.

Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library