Locate Library MaterialsResearch FAQEvaluating InformationPopular vs. ScholarlyVirtual Tour
Preventing PlagiarismWriting Workshop
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "WRIT 1120: College Writing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

WRIT 1120: College Writing  

Resources, tools and research strategies for students enrolled in WRIT 1120
Last Updated: Feb 4, 2013 URL: http://libguides.d.umn.edu/WRIT1120 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to Use the Guide

This research guide provides resources and tips for students enrolled in WRIT1120: College Writing. Use this guide to find out how to: select key terms for searching on a research topic, locate and access library materials using the catalog and databases, and distinguish between types of sources (academic/scholarly, popular, news).

Use the tabs above to access the guide.

 

Using Reference Materials

How will reference materials help you with your research?

  • Reference resources typically give you background or factual information.
  • They help you become familiar with the terminology related to your topic, which is a great way to develop search terms.
  • Often, reference sources will lead you to other relevant sources of information. Consult the bibliography, if available.

Our print reference collection is on the 2nd floor of the library, near the reference desk. We also have a collection of online reference materials.

Online Reference Sources

  • CQ Researcher
    CQ Research report offers in-depth non-biased coverage of political and social issues.
  • Points of View Reference Center
    Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.
  • Reference Universe
    A database that searches articles in subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Provides links to articles available online and library location information for those in print.
 

Ask Us!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.






Site Coordinator: UMD Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip